Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Rumours Thread

justadragon

Mate I went to Jubilee every time Sludge played for you guys. At the time Saints made him the highest paid player in the game. I still loved him, even when he played in that lost Reserves GF for you guys.
Yeah he was never the player he was at the Sharks but still wonderful to watch, injuries cruelled him with us. Dont get me wrong i love the rivalry atm, still very jealous though, but we'll get there.

Hey look, the Flanno scope is so confusing in regards to the rivalry. We love the bugger, but damn he made a big mistake last year in calling out about himself being the one who won.
The Flange's biggest weakness, sometimes it's best to keep your mouth shut. He didn't say a word the next time round.

Wayne's World

He shares the same manager as Fitzy. There is no agitation. That's how he got the gig.
DA will have a regular spot from 25 onwards. An NRL team is 1-17, the specialist "No.14" is as important as the run on 13. Now we have AFB playing big minutes we don't need another middle on the bench. Enter the professional No.14.
Think Connor Watson at Easts, he got picked in the NSW side from this very position.
I have a little inside info, not much, but he does want to stay at the Sharks, I'm not saying he will, but he definitely wants to.
Sharks would have been mad to release him as he's not costing them much for next year. Not everyone wants to be a specialist 14 though, he may want that may not. It'll be interesting to see what he does for 26.

jak

You could very well be right about that st.George tragic .

The NRL’s most wanted man (?) had the rorters hunting - pardon the pun - for his signature and now he has lost them . Damn fool , he could had been set for life with that mob - a lovely beach front apartment overlooking Bondi plus any type of luxury automobile he wanted , plus a big fat juicy salary to boot !

The Dolphins , well unfortunately were never truly in the race . 2 down , 2 remaining , what he will do now is anyones guess - Bullgrubs or Cane Toads who knows , but I wouldn’t mind betting that his price will not be as high as he believes .

If he was ever genuine in what he had been harping on about to the media about returning home to Queensland then he must sign with the Broncos .

Otherwise he would be a lying little mongrel who wanted a Kings ransom for the remaining years of his career - wouldn’t he ? ? ? 🤔
i would like hunt to go further north than Queensland

cussy

Lachlan Illias appears set to join the Dragons after completing a 2nd set of medicals today
Bunnies wont stand in his way as they pursue Matt Lodge and have pommie half Lewis Dodd on his way
Sharks havent helped matters refusing to release Daniel Atkinson from the final year of his Contract
So you reckon Dragons have signed Aitkinson and we need a stop gap for 25?

justadragon

Hey look, the Flanno scope is so confusing in regards to the rivalry. We love the bugger, but damn he made a big mistake last year in calling out about himself being the one who won.
The Flange's biggest weakness, sometimes it's best to keep your mouth shut. He didn't say a word the next time round.
Yeah agree, there were many on here that picked up on the same thing, there were a few calls that blew up. I think as the year has rolled on he has learnt a few things especially in recruiting. he's virtually in stealth mode now. I wont complain about his inner desire to beat the sharks , we all have that burning inside us, and have had it for a while :)

Crush

Flanno is arrogant, he can’t help himself sometimes and makes unnecessary comments in media. Big noting himself about being the only person to get sharks a comp, in fact regular references to winning a comp. You don’t hear Bennett talking in media about comps he’s won.
He also had little digs at Lomax which were totally unnecessary.
But that’s what you get with Flanno, the arrogance is a part of who he is and he is a very good coach. I’m glad we have him, he’s got a job to do.

BLM01

Flanno is arrogant, he can’t help himself sometimes and makes unnecessary comments in media. Big noting himself about being the only person to get sharks a comp, in fact regular references to winning a comp. You don’t hear Bennett talking in media about comps he’s won.
But that’s what you get with Flanno, the arrogance is a part of who he is and he is a very good coach. I’m glad we have him, he’s got a job to do.
Lomax dig I am OK with because it worked both ways there and the media kept on asking..
The both probably held back true feelings there.

I think re Sharks if you were in his shoes there would be sour grapes with management for sacking him they way they did right or wrong. He just needed to throw a shot across the bow as he had to go and has stayed quiet for a few years. That shot backfired... this year.

Crush

Lomax dig I am OK with because it worked both ways there and the media kept on asking..
The both probably held back true feelings there.

I think re Sharks if you were in his shoes there would be sour grapes with management for sacking him they way they did right or wrong. He just needed to throw a shot across the bow as he had to go and has stayed quiet for a few years. That shot backfired... this year.
I don’t doubt there is politics and damaged relationships in all clubs, that’s normal. But no need to play out in public. A bit of humility wouldn’t go astray with Flanno IMO but it is what it is with him, he’s arrogant, I get it.
In Flanno we trust.

Adolf_Spritzer

From memory we had just come off a really bad loss leading up to the sharks derby, although I agree with what you're saying it felt like he was trying to take some of the attention away from the playing group. He knows how to feed the chooks as they say.

Ronnie Dobbs

The Sharks have refused no such thing, it hasn't been requested by DA.
He is a very loyal person, and the fact Cronulla brought him back into the NRL after the Storm cut him loose means a lot to him. He wants to play with the Sharks. If it's only for the 2025 season then so be it, but don't be surprised if he stays with Cronulla beyond that. He truly loves the club.
Cheers Bubby.

We wouldn’t to sign an idiot like that 😂😂