Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Rumours Thread

maestro1

Actually I think what we're starting to see are the results of having the toxic culture slowly flushed out of our system by Flanno. For me at the moment, any player who wants to leave should get their wishes and be replaced with someone who wants to be part of what Flanno is building.
Nothing wrong with our current culture and its only going to get better over the next few years.
/\ THIS

maestro1

Yes, we're not the luckiest of clubs are we. Add the Covid breach, mass suspensions (20 weeks all up) and losing Vaughan, financial penalties as well - season ruined if it wasn't already. Add pre-season injuries and our bright young star, Cody Ramsey, contracting that awful ulcerative colitis, poor bugger.
We keep defying the odds though and copping the annual Wooden Spoon candidates tag, we seem to perform above expectations. That's going to be a big ask this year if we keep heading down this road.
Our luck will change eventually I hope.
I just got an image of Gus Gould with a voodoo doll and sticking pins in it.

Jubilee

This kind of thing also happens at other clubs. Terrell May (mysteriously) at Easts, Pangai Jr the champion boxer at Canterbury. Jordan Miller currently at Balmain. Young men who have never worked a day in their lives, have loads of money, coddled, in demand from16 other clubs, will always feel they can do whatever they want and agents will not discourage them.

Harry Bath

Geez there's been a few years between Tallis and all the recent shit. Why not throw in the KFC incident for good measure? No doubt the culture has been rotten for a few years but it happens to all clubs, we're not alone in this. That's rugby league. I'm just thankful Flanagan has had enough of it and is actively seeking to change the culture.
Ok the Tallis thing was years ago, it really pissed me off at the time and it still lingers just like the 1999 Storm penalty try in the dying minutes of that GF both of which are totally irrelevant to the current culture issues.
It may happen in other clubs however it seems a lot more prevalent with the daargons in recent years

Jubilee

Ok the Tallis thing was years ago, it really pissed me off at the time and it still lingers just like the 1999 Storm penalty try in the dying minutes of that GF both of which are totally irrelevant to the current culture issues.
It may happen in other clubs however it seems a lot more prevalent with the daargons in recent years
Jason Saab. Does he belong on the list of psychologically delicate NRL players?

Divine

Molo minus his mojo would be worse than useless. Surrounded by guys chomping at the bit for the season to start and he wants rehab time? Time for Loko & Latu to step in and step up. Not ideal for the youngsters but blooding them on alternate weeks may work.

Harry Bath

Jason Saab. Does he belong on the list of psychologically delicate NRL players?
there are heaps of dragons players who have just had enough of the Daargons and have walked out in recent years, Brett Morris ,Jamie Soward, Trent Merrin (he came back but no where near as good as he was), Lomax, Hunt, McInnes, Frizzell, Saab, Fonua Blake (strictly speaking he was sacked however that was a dumb move)

verified my backside
It’s the rumour that I’m verifying to the existence of, not the assertions themselves.

This is the talk out there from people closer to the player bubble than me.

As I said, we will see who he ends up with and when. Then the rubbishy story about freak offer. We will need to read between the lines.

But flanno off the hook.

hewi

Whispers are that he was approached by third parties and they got into his head.

See where he ends up and when.

This is a verified rumour from ex nrl footy junior mate at work.

Flanno considered innocent by the loop.

I suspect you are correct and IMO the club should do a Tallis to him , no pay no play for the next 2 years PLUS the NRL should tell him they will not register any contract for him. Enough is enough.

Dragonslayer

The Molo case is interesting as far as how something can deteriorate at such a rapid rate.

All seemed rosy up until the Christmas/New Year break, then this.

So given the time line, Molo hasn't been back at training for 10 days, around the same time we announced our co-captains, and most probably the senior playing group.

Molo, or Molo's management have said there's no issue with Flanno.

He has been granted "leave" on compassionate grounds. With a meeting between him/management scheduled for next week, where it seems a release will he requested formally.

So, my 2c worth is:
1. Agree with Sugar, that Frank may have had a falling out with a player, or playing group.
2. He may have his "nose-out-of-joint" for not being selected in the senior group (or maybe he had and refer back to point 1)
3. As some have already said, he may gave an offer elsewhere, but who has a spot available in their top 30 at his salary range given the NRL won't register a ridiculously low contract.

Also, Lodge being offered a T&T, seemed to me like Flanno wants to try yo smooth the water with Molo first, and not burn the last top 30 spot, to which I believe he wants to keep open. If, and only, if, that Molo is granted a release we may then have a different approach to Lodge.

That's my take, and i might be light years away from the actual, but the Molo situation is looking untenable and, for whatever reason, he doesn't want to be here, then it's best to part ways, sooner than later.

Phantom V

I have been really disappointed by Francis Molo , I agree with many who have stated he is inconsistent, but least he has had the capability to be the alpha. If there were heaps of props on the market I’d happily say bye, but as it is lodge has been the closest we have found recently, and I Don’t want him. So lest say if he is adamant to leave, play this year like Lomax did last year and then leave if you want. otherwise he sits out. And we hope we can get thru the next 12 months and use the cash in a hopeful way. With luck the youngsters pay off early or at least arent hurt by stepping up ealry
I’m as disappointed as you are SD but we can’t let him stay knowing he doesn’t want to be here. FFS it’s dejaviu all over again

RedVDave

There is something wrong with the culture of the dragons and it goes way beyond the coach!, I don't know how many ex players race out the door citing a toxic culture, we have had 2 captains in Hunt and McIness leave, Frizzell hated the joint rushing to a Team that had even less success, the Morris twins have never stepped back into the club, Lomax dropped $200K a season for 2 years to get out and now Molo there has to be a root cause!
Well said there's no doubt in my mind, even past club legends like Matt Cooper have shafted us.