Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Rumours Thread

Trifili13

I'm not that old but all I can think is remember when footy was about footy...those were the days.

Small suburban grounds with character and colour.
Next to no broken contracts.
No TPAs.
No salary cap trickery.
No prima donna players with egos the size of a continent.
No government agendas.

Just footy.
And a competitive Dragon's on the field regularly making the semis. Those were the days.

I'm not that old but all I can think is remember when footy was about footy...those were the days.

Small suburban grounds with character and colour.
Next to no broken contracts.
No TPAs.
No salary cap trickery.
No prima donna players with egos the size of a continent.
No government agendas.

Just footy.
Pretty sure there was still a bit of Skullduggery going on.
Local residential rules and brown paper bags

But back then, we mastered the art of bending the rules

So when it was great for the Dragons - who cares, right?

thebigredv

But back then, we mastered the art of bending the rules

So when it was great for the Dragons - who cares, right?
Care to expand?
You think St George had a hold on the inner workings of the competition anything like the Roosters, Storm, Broncos have today??

I was only a kid in the 90s so I am genuinely curious.

SnowDragon

Rabbitohs’ 11th-hour play to stave off Koloamatangi poaching raids

So _arra believed to be the front runner, Souths have many can’t by benefits? We have the longest offer.
I chatted long on this yesterday as I’m concerned about him on such a large contract ending at 33. However my mate convinced me it was worth it, but now I think it’s not about money or length, the offer is good enough if he wants to come to us. His heart needs to be in his choice, else he won’t perform long term Just for cash. Fingers crossed.

Care to expand?
You think St George had a hold on the inner workings of the competition anything like the Roosters, Storm, Broncos have today??

I was only a kid in the 90s so I am genuinely curious.
During the 11 in a row period, the New South Wales Rugby League , had designated areas from which teams could recruit players.

Basically, the Dragons were able to assist recruit players outside their area with local housing, jobs, and other benefits to help them meet the residential qualification rules to play for the Saints.

Both Johnny Raper and "Poppa" Clay were recruited by St George from Newtown.

Technically, not illegal, but like TPA's, some clubs, especially the Dragons, were masters at it. Admittedly, Dragons were also masters at identifying local talent

The practice of Brown paper bags of cash was an open secret within the NSWRL and fans. Players were often semi-professional and had regular jobs, with the extra cash helping them financially.

Financial regulations were less stringent and enforcement was more challenging. Many players admitted (years later) to receiving cash payments like the Sorenson brothers when they signed with roosters in the 80's

Can't remember the Dragons ever being named but I reckon all teams practised to varying degrees

P.S. Special thanks to AI - I had long forgotten specifics

Auntie.Gerald

So _arra believed to be the front runner, Souths have many can’t by benefits? We have the longest offer.
I chatted long on this yesterday as I’m concerned about him on such a large contract ending at 33. However my mate convinced me it was worth it, but now I think it’s not about money or length, the offer is good enough if he wants to come to us. His heart needs to be in his choice, else he won’t perform long term Just for cash. Fingers crossed.
I suspect that Ando is no idiot
Would have put the offer in and taken into account a 5 year window or who is rolling in and out for the list and key positions

let’s be honest we have serious cap right now and 2026/27 plus we can pre pay some players to modulate the below figures anyway

So we may have decided to do

ie over 5 years to make it real tricky compete with while we are in a cycle of having cash 2026/27/28/29 if 26 is even on the table

makes sense to me but hey maybe 800 and 600 doesn’t make sense in year 4 and year 5 for a 5 year x $5m contract for a serious prop ???

…….

biased obviously but big call from Hindy

Hindmarsh praised the positional switch, highlighting improvements in Koloamatangi's fitness, work rate and overall influence.

“Keaon now that he's moved from the edge to the middle, which I think was a great move from Wayne Bennett, his work rate's improved, his fitness has improved,” he said.

“He's in the top five middle players at the moment.”

thebigredv

During the 11 in a row period, the New South Wales Rugby League , had designated areas from which teams could recruit players.

Basically, the Dragons were able to assist recruit players outside their area with local housing, jobs, and other benefits to help them meet the residential qualification rules to play for the Saints.

Technically, not illegal, but like TPA's, some clubs, especially the Dragons, were masters at it. Admittedly, Dragons were also masters at identifying local talent

The practice of Brown paper bags of cash was an open secret within the NSWRL and fans. Players were often semi-professional and had regular jobs, with the extra cash helping them financially.

Financial regulations were less stringent and enforcement was more challenging. Many players admitted (years later) to receiving cash payments like the Sorenson brothers when they signed with roosters in the 80's

Can't remember the Dragons ever being named but I reckon all teams practised to varying degrees

Thanks for the history overview. That's going back some time. I was more referring to 80s and 90s when I think the game was still almost semi professional but seemed to be at it's peak in my opinion. Still, I am sure you are correct that we had some tactics back then to keep us on top.

I would say I am simultaneously envious, impressed and annoyed by watching clubs have more power and corruption than us these days. It's a game everyone is playing, just some have the powerbrokers to make things happen and others don't but no one in an official capacity ever addresses it.

It just irritates that you log into a forum and we are discussing helicopters, housing, brown paper bags just to get a better than average player to sign on. The red v has lost its lustre post merger. It just has.

denis preston

There was 4. Or more players registered by the Dragons as living in the district as the residential rule applied. Raper was living at. Revesby but listed as on a unit at Kogarah

Flinstone

Bunnies table 4 year extension for Keaon, sounds like not quite as much as Parra and Dragons money.

Chances of signing are getting slimmer.

Auntie.Gerald

Also all of the clubs will have a plan B

the price of a few very in demand players is rising and it leaves club with less ability to manage their cap

It’s putting Souths in a corner somewhat

downside is we don’t have many other seriously compelling options unless a Michael Weyman type signing occurs which is low odds