Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The scourge of retro band t-shirts....discuss.

CC_Eagle

LESStar58 said:
CC_Eagle said:
As does Supre selling Che Guvera t-shirts.

I'm the first to admit I know sweet FA about that guy but yeah the Che shirt is practically the new Motorhead/Ramones t-shirt...all because they made a movie about him that all the wanna be film critiques have been rushing out to see...

Well the mass selling of a persons image based on profit not passion is pretty much what Che was against.

If there's anyone rolling in their graves, its Che.

Knightmare

I for one hope that Mr Bungle shirts never become the attire of posers. But I think it'll be fine- even I can't seem to find one!

brook

Munky said:
A bit off track, buy anyway...

Does anyone know where I can get a Guns N' Roses T-Shirt? Either with the cross tatoo, emblem or an Axl with Slash one?

Utopia records in the city (the george st cinema complex) has the best collection of band t-shirts I know (at least they used to)

you should be able to find a good one there

aphelion

Utopia is obscenely overpriced, plus the staff are wankers and/or teenyboppers. Avoid that ripoff emporium like the plague.

Not that I'm helping much by saying that of course...

Erm, there used to be a pretty good t-shirt shop in Blacktown that sold metal shirts. I can't remember its name though, all I remember is that it was near the station. Maybe a local here can help out with the details.

frank

CC_Eagle said:
Which he should be stoned for.

He is the prick who tried to turn AC/DC into commercial 80's hair metal. He is responsible for the production of the tripe they released in the 80's.

Oh for f**k's sake, pull your head in will ya?

Robert John "Mutt" Lange produced these 3 AC/DC albums -

Highway To Hell (1979)
Back In Black (1980)
For Those About To Rock (1981)

Have you even heard those albums?

80s hair metal?

Tripe?

And you reckon Mutt Lange's a prick........

Trollhammaren

aphelion said:
Utopia is obscenely overpriced, plus the staff are wankers and/or teenyboppers. Avoid that ripoff emporium like the plague.

Erm, there used to be a pretty good t-shirt shop in Blacktown that sold metal shirts. I can't remember its name though, all I remember is that it was near the station. Maybe a local here can help out with the details.

Yep. Boycott Utopia. Better off buying shirts off the net. Revolution Records in Newtown has the cheapest metal t-shirts ($25-35), but I doubt they'd have G'n'R.

CC_Eagle

aphelion said:

Agree totally. Utopia is the biggest rort in the city.

Try this little store in Paddies (if you're in the area). They have a great range of shirts and I'm sure I've seen several different GNR designs.

$20-$40

SpaceMonkey

tiger pride said:
aphelion said:

Yep. Boycott Utopia. Better off buying shirts off the net. Revolution Records in Newtown has the cheapest metal t-shirts ($25-35), but I doubt they'd have G'n'R.
Anywhere better for metal CDs? I buys tuff I know I want from Relapse nortmally but it's good to go and browse sometimes.

Dani

im gonna make my own band t-shirts from now on, with those iron on things!

Trollhammaren

SpaceMonkey said:
tiger pride said:
aphelion said:

Anywhere better for metal CDs? I buys tuff I know I want from Relapse nortmally but it's good to go and browse sometimes.
Revolution in Newtown is the best in Sydney for metal cds. They've had about 3 sales in almost as many months recently as well. I recommend it! And I don't have stocks in it or anything, it's just a hell of a lot better than Utopia :p

aphelion

King Street, almost directly across the road from the station. when you exit the station, turn right and cross the road at the lights, you can't miss it.

It's easily the best store in Sydney for metal CDs. JB HiFi at Town Hall station is pretty good as well.

SpaceMonkey

Thanks guys. I'll be visiting tomorrow I think. I agree about the Utopia staff being wankers, I won't miss going there....

the fact that ramones shirts can be bought at supree and other shitty clothing shops shows how pathetic it has all become.

band t shirts are great and are there to show your support for your favourite bands. much likem a footy jersey. 90% of my t shirts are band shirts. i once saw someone wearing a descendents shirt. the descendents arent the most popular band ever but one of the most important. i went over and started chattin to the said person and after about 30 secs i realised this person thought it was more a fashion label than one of the most important punk rock bands ever.

if black flag shirts ever become fashion i'll dead set lose it.
the big thing at my school is the nirvana shirts., 90% of wearers only know one song.have a guess what that is.
the ramones shirts at supre brings me to tears. i dont wear ramones stuff as i never saw the band live (i have a policy of only buying band shirts i have seen live)
but i own 5 of there albums and the anthology.
meenwhile theres this stupid blonde chick in the shopping center wearing a ramones shirt who would never have heard one song. she said and i quote "i love this shirt, by the way who are the ramones?"
:cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry:

eastsrule

I am an obsessive AC/DC fan, absolutely love the blokes.

I saw recently on television, Eminem and D12 were playing at some awards thing. The logo that D12 used was the exact replica of the ACDC lightning logo.

And then the fat guy from D12 came out dressed as Angus Young and another was in fact wearing an ACDC shirt.

But I guess that is more of a tribute than anything? Because I don't know much about Eminem but I've been told he uses a lot of ACDC music in the background of his songs.

Balmain_Boy

CC_Eagle said:
LESStar58 said:
CC_Eagle said:
As does Supre selling Che Guvera t-shirts.

I'm the first to admit I know sweet FA about that guy but yeah the Che shirt is practically the new Motorhead/Ramones t-shirt...all because they made a movie about him that all the wanna be film critiques have been rushing out to see...

Well the mass selling of a persons image based on profit not passion is pretty much what Che was against.

If there's anyone rolling in their graves, its Che.

I'd argue he would be willing to accept it if it were to spread his message, which it undoubtedly has. How many more of have heard of him and what his beliefs were as a result. The Che T-shirts were huge far before the motorcycle diaries came out. The worst thing about it is the bloke's treated as a hero, when he's far from it IMO.

CC_Eagle

eastsrule said:
I am an obsessive AC/DC fan, absolutely love the blokes.

I saw recently on television, Eminem and D12 were playing at some awards thing. The logo that D12 used was the exact replica of the ACDC lightning logo.

And then the fat guy from D12 came out dressed as Angus Young and another was in fact wearing an ACDC shirt.

But I guess that is more of a tribute than anything? Because I don't know much about Eminem but I've been told he uses a lot of ACDC music in the background of his songs.

Nothing pisses me off more than Dashboard Confessional using the AC/DC logo.

I hate him for his music, but this has just gone too far! :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil:

skeepe

I've got an example that didn't upset me because I really can't stand the music this "band" make but nonetheless I thought it was bloody funny.

My sister kept running around in this Wu Tang shirt, so one day I asked her why she wears it if she doesn't really listen to the music.

Her reply? "Wu Tang don't make music, they're a clothing brand you idiot. God you can be dumb sometimes."

I couldn't stop laughing. The stupidity of some people.

On another note, I'm with most here and won't buy a shirt unless I've seen the band live. In fact, the only place I will ever buy a band's shirt is at the show. Although I'm lucky because the bands that I have seen just aren't popular enough world-wide.

Although I have had people come up to me for conversations about how good the Dropkick Murphys or Bodyjar or Unwritten Law are :D