Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Tim Smith Situation

benoir91

This whole situation has me confused. Will Tim play a game in 2008? If so roughly what round can we expect him to return? Will he be sacked when he returns from rehab?

If he gets through rehab successfully then he should be back playing at Parramatta. As to when that will be depends on his rehabilitation, its success and how long he needs to get up to speed as it could be unlikely that he is receiving any rehab on his shoulder reconstruction.

I wouldn't expect him back before Round 5 and maybe not even as early as round 10.

Hages said on the BSB yesterday that he spoke to Tim on sunday and he was doing it tough, he's not completely out of the woods even when he completes the re-hab program, as Hages put it he still needs to tick a few boxes relating to our club before he's allowed back.

at very best I won't be expecting him back before round 10.

No real idea but I would assume that the club would have checked and not just relied on his manager to confirm it. Why the doubt?

benoir91 said:
This whole situation has me confused. Will Tim play a game in 2008? If so roughly what round can we expect him to return? Will he be sacked when he returns from rehab?

I think he should have 2008 off totally
I think 12months to get himself spot on will be perfect

He will also be real hungry and itching to be back RD 1 2009

instead of thinking when, if, he will be back at a time in 2008

well thats my theory on the matter

thanks for listening

cheers

Bigfella

If we are in contention still at Round 18 he would struggle to get back in the side at all.

I believe that for his rehab he should commence the training with Joey ASAP. Partly to adjust to what the team is doing. Partly to improve himself as a player, which he definitely needs to do. ANd just as much because of the lesson that Johns can provide him.

Mind you a lot of his problems are mental obviously and if he doesn't have treatment he will struggle to deal with them.

So no one really knows the answer to your question.

lewiscook

heres my 2 cents,

parra will struggle in the first few rounds with grinding games an not alot of formation.
mark riddell will ring timmy smith one night an say "mate you been watching our games?"
an timmy will be like, yeh mate im itching to get back!"
in round 10 on monday; tim smith will randomly pop up at training with all his gear, an be a new man!
from that time on parra will only lose a few grinding matches an timmy will steer us to a premiership. timmy will then sign a life time contract with parra an be a future captain!

what you think guys???

cheers!

lewiscook said:
heres my 2 cents,

parra will struggle in the first few rounds with grinding games an not alot of formation.
mark riddell will ring timmy smith one night an say "mate you been watching our games?"
an timmy will be like, yeh mate im itching to get back!"
in round 10 on monday; tim smith will randomly pop up at training with all his gear, an be a new man!
from that time on parra will only lose a few grinding matches an timmy will steer us to a premiership. timmy will then sign a life time contract with parra an be a future captain!

what you think guys???

cheers!

it's a nice Disney script...problem is this is reality and he has a problem that no one should he'll be right by any particular time.

I've said it before, I don't give a sh*t if he plays footy again or not, he just needs to get his life back in order.

Talk of coming back less than a week in re-hab is ridiculous imo, and we're all guilty of it.

Tim will come back when he is ready. If that is 2008 or 2009 or ever no one knows. Depending on how he acts and what he wants to do after completing rehab will determine if he is sacked or what ever.

I can tell you the club have checked to ensure the Tim is in Rehab but the details of where will not be made public for the reason of privacy. But the club has checked and it has happened.

lewiscook

eelavation said:
it's a nice Disney script...problem is this is reality and he has a problem that no one should he'll be right by any particular time.

I've said it before, I don't give a sh*t if he plays footy again or not, he just needs to get his life back in order.

Talk of coming back less than a week in re-hab is ridiculous imo, and we're all guilty of it.

eela, im just thinking positive...i really couldnt care less if he plays footy either...
trust me i no very well what its like to have someone close to you have a drinking problem...
just chill brother!
its a forum for discusiing ones wishful thinking an having a say....nothing wrong with a bright outlook, atleast im being positive....

goodluck timmy!

lewiscook said:
heres my 2 cents,

we always struggle in the first few rounds , tim smith or not :lol:

lewiscook said:
eela, im just thinking positive...i really couldnt care less if he plays footy either...
trust me i no very well what its like to have someone close to you have a drinking problem...
just chill brother!
its a forum for discusiing ones wishful thinking an having a say....nothing wrong with a bright outlook, atleast im being positive....

goodluck timmy!

it's a forum discussing one's opinion...you've got yours I got mine.

lewiscook

eela thats what i just said,
but it seems we have many different opinions as im 16 an your probably as old as my great grandfather...but yeh i repsect your aopinion an learn a lot from you....

TheParraboy said:
I think he should have 2008 off totally
I think 12months to get himself spot on will be perfect

He will also be real hungry and itching to be back RD 1 2009

instead of thinking when, if, he will be back at a time in 2008

well thats my theory on the matter

thanks for listening

cheers

I totally agree, mate. And it is a very impressive and sensitive way to deal with it.

I cant see him back in the short term. When you hit rock bottom you need to deal with all the sh!t that's caused it. Then the next hurdle is heading back home to face your friends and family. Having to face media, team mates and fans is even harder. He's got a high mountain to climb mentally that's for sure.

Then of course there is his physical fitness etc. He'll have to steer Wenty around to hone his skills for a while as well.

After all this, will he still have the hunger ?

lewiscook said:
eela thats what i just said,
but it seems we have many different opinions as im 16 an your probably as old as my great grandfather..

lol.

You're getting eela mixed up with Twiz.

lewiscook

Gronk said:
I cant see him back in the short term. When you hit rock bottom you need to deal with all the sh!t that's caused it. Then the next hurdle is heading back home to face your friends and family. Having to face media, team mates and fans is even harder. He's got a high mountain to climb mentally that's for sure.

Then of course there is his physical fitness etc. He'll have to steer Wenty around to hone his skills for a while as well.

After all this, will he still have the hunger ?

gronk, i wouldnt be surprised if tim decides to forget bout footy all together an move on with life....
its a waste of talent, but in these types of situations its surprising what people decide...
an one thing is...maybe they should continue to pay his contract to him, but why dont they give him enough to live with an put the rest into a locked bank account until hes 30 or so. i reckon they shuld do this for footballers....??

what are your thoughts??