Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Warriors Signings Thread

mean_maori_mean

Ben Hannant would be nice if we dont get price, a hard worker and wouldnt cost TOO much

Neville Costigan, food for thought

Jacob Lillyman? (he hasnt re-signed has he?)

Jason Nightingale, he would be a great replacement for kirk and crockett! also a kiwi so could lure him over here a bit easier.

Ben Te’o, same as ^^

Keith Galloway just another attacking forward.

Galloway - is average - though lots of improvement left in him.

Teo - tbh he aint much better than Fai - just a tad bit more experienced. He will be kept by tigers anyway.

I wouldnt mind picking up Rangi Chase - when he signed with the drags it was bargain bin material.
He would command a little bit more - but with Bennett weilding an axe at the dragons players might want to get out to ensure their futures.

He covers 6,7,9,14 and will help provide attacking spark the warriors seriously lack.

let go off:
swann, koopu, wiki, crockett (not really fussed)

The hardest decisions is to choose which NYC players are going to be re-signed and brought thru FG development.

Cheops

A big problem with looking to sign players, especially experienced forwards is we really need to make a decision on Price first before we can spend and decent dollars on a forward.

From what I can see, we seem to be waiting to see how he is feeling after he comes back from his injury. It will take a few weeks to really know, so we can't really make a decision until about mid year. Most of the good players would already be signed up by then, and we could end up with a ****load of cap space to spare and no players to buy if he does call it quits

To me we need to make a decision now on Pricey as he takes up so much cap space so we go from there. For mine, he needs to stay, but he would know better than anyone how he feels

Scottey

That comment about Finch and Kimmorely. Finch I think the Eels will try to wrap up now that Tim Smith has been released I'm sure. Though I have heard Kimmorely is looking to leave the Sharks, but the deal I heard on the footy show last night was that Dragons were going to swap Ryles for Kimmorely, both who are probably on quite a bit of dough.

blain

no kimmorely doesnt want to leave the sharks, the sharks are trying to get rid of him

NZ Warrior

If I were the Warriors, I'd be hell-bent on chasing Trent Barrett. We could easily give him what Wiki is on. At least his wife would be closer to Aussie.

shiznit

If I were the Warriors, I'd be hell-bent on chasing Trent Barrett. We could easily give him what Wiki is on. At least his wife would be closer to Aussie.
yeah mate... i agree... give him wiki's contract and maybe even top him up with some of the money left by swann and/or koopus departure...

blain

barrets returning because his wife is homesick isnt he? i would say a sydney club will pick him up.

Scottey

And play Barret as halfback? Because you can't get rid of Witt I don't think with his pin point goal kicking.

Scottey

Hearing the Wake-up Call (NZ Herald Website, 25/4/08 by Peter Jessup)

Wairangi Koopu admits it was something of a shock when he was dropped after the Warriors' 52-6 hiding in Manly.
Of course you can't blame one man for a horror show like that. But it rocked Koopu's confidence, he admits, and brought him a sharp reminder that he is not indispensable.
Recalled to the team this week after four playing for the Auckland Vulcans, he intends grabbing his chance against the Gold Coast and making the most of it.
"It was a big wake-up call for me. I realised after the Manly game that it might be my last, that I would not get the chance to erase that, so for me that's big motivation this weekend. It gave me some perspective. I don't want my last game for the Warriors to be like that one in Manly, I don't want to go out on a bad note."
Koopu has 154 games for the Warriors since debut in 1999, only the fourth player to top 150 at the 14-year-old club. Age 28, he's off contract at the end of this season but would love to build on the 10 years he has had with the Warriors.
"I'd love to stay here and see out my career. If I have to leave I'll be gutted. I look at Ruben [Wiki] and see carrying on to 34 or 35 as a possibility. England might be an option but really I want to stay here."
Obviously it was not great to make his return after another big away loss, Koopu said.
The team had spoken "pretty seriously" about the difference between their home and away performances. "We always know we're going to turn up at home. Away, we're always doubtful. That doubt nags at our confidence sometimes I think and we go from bad to worse. We're letting everyone down, most of all ourselves. We know we're better than that - there's not too many excuses. It's a mental thing."
Koopu said they had spoken about dealing with crowds, going from Mt Smart "where everyone is yelling for us and people are calling us by name to encourage us, to the Aussie stadiums where everyone is booing and calling us sh*tkickers". They had to harden up, make their own luck.
"We're more quiet in defence when we're away, I don't know why. Those are the sorts of things we're working on."
Koopu said he was just "hoping to bring what I can" to the team, as he shifts from centre back to the forwards as bench impact player.
It has been at the back end of the first half and the front end of the second - when Wiki is off the field via the interchange - that opponents have found the Warriors' tryline and often taken the game away from them, a la last weekend in Townsville.
Koopu is fast for a forward and should smarten their defence as an individual, as well as providing more leadership for the younger players coming off the interchange.

This article is quite interesting. I've been interested to know if it was the Warriors who just haven't resigned Koopu or it's Koopu who just doesn't want to resign with the Warriors. But I think this article makes it pretty clear where it is that he wants to stay.

NZ Warrior

barrets returning because his wife is homesick isnt he? i would say a sydney club will pick him up.

Yes, I saw that. At least NZ is closer than the UK. Obviously, a Sydney club would take preference. But if we put in a big money offer, it could be tempting. The Warriors desperately need a quality player in the halves.

Alehana

If we did sign barret, would we have witt at 6, barret at 7? or barret at 6, and witt at 7, or grant at 7. I reckon witt would be retained at 6, and barret at 7 (i think he can play there)

shiznit

they would be a couple of hours plane ride away from sydney. probably closer than townsville and not all that much further than Melbourne & Canberra.

just offer him a mega contract... a million over 2 years... it would be pretty appealing for him... to play behind one of the best packs in the game led by Steve Price and with Brent Tate & Manu Vatuvei outside of him.... he would have to give it some thought imo...

Rich102

The first thing you have to do is convince Cleary that a change is necessary!
He seems to be of the opinion that everything is on track.

Alehana

yeh hes heaps conservative on team selections, only making changes when he has to, i think he feels the team needs some continunity and consistency, whether we are consistantely good or bad as a result of this is another question

mean

Trent Barrett is returning to NRL next year. Wiki and Swann's salaries could justify his $400K -$500K per year?

blain

id prefer head, soward and paea in that order b4 kimmorley, he wont be worth the buck.

Shaun Hewitt

Could Webster be a viable option in our halves?
http://www.hullkr.co.uk/news.php?id=1045

He's out for 6 months, plenty of time to get over his op and match fit.
Captained HKR out of Division 1, and then the following season captained the side as they did survived there first season in SL which is no easy task once being promoted.

Think we should look into this.

6. Witt
7. Webster
9. Fein

out the door..Wovelli.