Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The weekly Darius Boyd award

Saxon

Darius gets this week's award for the Bunnies second try last night.
Boyd could have and should have dived on the bouncing ball, but he dogged it and waited for it to come to him. Instead it bounced up into Walker's hands. Boyd then made a half-hearted attempt at an arm grab which my granny would have been ashamed of.

simmo05

What are the criteria for this prestigious award? Catching a ball and falling over the line for heaps of origin tries? Being a sook and only be able to play under one particular coach? Pretending to fall over every time someone runs in your general direction? Trying too hard?? Quite a complex one to consider.

Whip Whitaker

What are the criteria for this prestigious award? Catching a ball and falling over the line for heaps of origin tries? Being a sook and only be able to play under one particular coach? Pretending to fall over every time someone runs in your general direction? Trying too hard?? Quite a complex one to consider.

Pfffft it's all about his sportsmanship and leadership....

simmo05

I would like to nominate moses mbye for the first annual darius boyd award, for outstanding achievement in the field of excellence. That pathetic attempt to catch a bomb, getting scared and letting the opposition score whilst trying to feign shitness, scores high on the DB matrix. And double points for being a club captain, and terrified of putting his body on the line. Cheers moses mboyd!!

Rooster8

I would like to nominate moses mbye for the first annual darius boyd award, for outstanding achievement in the field of excellence. That pathetic attempt to catch a bomb, getting scared and letting the opposition score whilst trying to feign shitness, scores high on the DB matrix. And double points for being a club captain, and terrified of putting his body on the line. Cheers moses mboyd!!
How does the scoring system work for the DB matrix? 5 points for a drop ball, 4 for a slip, 3 for blaming your wingers, 2 for claiming obstruction on your 1 on 1 intercept, and 1 for being a good captain?

Grapple

Every dud player needs his own song, and it seems fitting local Brisbane band Powderfinger already wrote one about him.

I would also say Matt Gillett has had a few games like his team mate this year.

simmo05

How does the scoring system work for the DB matrix? 5 points for a drop ball, 4 for a slip, 3 for blaming your wingers, 2 for claiming obstruction on your 1 on 1 intercept, and 1 for being a good captain?
Personally i would like to see top points for any act that requires someone to deliberately dog it to avoid contact with an opposing player ie 2 on 1 and going for the intercept instead of the man

Card Shark

Every dud player needs his own song, and it seems fitting local Brisbane band Powderfinger already wrote one about him.

I would also say Matt Gillett has had a few games like his team mate this year.

Hahaha, that made me laugh.

f**k there are some smart mofos on here.

Fangs

Can a whole team win this award?

Newcastle and Warriors 'battling' it out. They literally don't care today.

some11

Not when they have two of the best fullbacks in the game.

Don't besmirch them like that.

I Bleed Maroon

This turd needs to give it away. A player so obviously past it is very rarely seen. He is making Kurt Gidley's final years look Dally M worthy.

mozza91

Gidley gave everything he had in every single game he played. Was a great defender who cared about his club as much as anyone who ever wore the jersey.

Boyd is a petulant, pea hearted merkin who is afraid to put his body on the line and only cares about himself.

They could not be any more different as players.