Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Withdrawn Sponsorship Issue

imasharkie

You didn't buy gutters from them because they were sponsors did you?

Reminds me of when people went mad for Hisense TVs in here.

They were and are shit!

HAHAHA
Rubbish I've got two tv's, 2 fridges and several other appliances from them and not a bit of trouble. I also know the state manager very well. Don't bad mouth them in here.

taipan

Yes but where are these therapists going to come from? What are the parents doing? Are they not seeing the signs? Not talking to the kids?

HSC time is coming and it's of grave concern.

In a lot of cases, both parents working, some out of work, some waiting to be flicked.
Correct some parents have little contact with their older teens.
There are a lot of jobs that either do not exist or will not exist post COVID.That creates a pool of people, some of whom (being retrained)could become therapists specialising in youth depression.

It's a complicated and worrying problem.I've lost a young relo from suicide and a mate lost a son.

When I was young jobs were plentiful, you could look up the Snoring Herald on a Saturday and they jumped out at you.Depression in the main for youth was rare in my experience.Sure there were worries at times.

Last line absolutely agree.The HSC is so bleeding stressful as it is, let alone waiting for the results and hoping for uni entrance or availability of a job.I mean how many jobs are waiting whilst we have this Wuhan waster around?

A couple of weeks back, for at least 2 weeks,I saw a young guy with his kit bag etc,using the Cronulla car park for his home.I've lived here for yonks ,never saw that before.That really got to me.

Don Tweddle

Didn't Dino mention one of our own brands might go on the FOJ if a sponsor doesn't step up? It could be something like Sharks Cares.

Quicksilver

You didn't buy gutters from them because they were sponsors did you?

Reminds me of when people went mad for Hisense TVs in here.

They were and are shit!

HAHAHA

Is there such a thing as a quality electronics product now anyway?

You get about 18 months out of any product, regardless of the price paid.

taipan

There are some companies who have been slaying it during the pandemic.

Some of them must have cash to burn. We could be the Bunnings Sharks.

Can we look forward to the E-Bay Sharks.?

The Bunnings Sharks sounds good, with a BBQ sausage logo.

Rubbish I've got two tv's, 2 fridges and several other appliances from them and not a bit of trouble. I also know the state manager very well. Don't bad mouth them in here.

HAHAHAHA I'll bad mouth them wherever I want.

Otherwise don't talk them up in here because you have a buddy you don't want offended. Same thing

Precious or what Uncle.

In a lot of cases, both parents working, some out of work, some waiting to be flicked.
Correct some parents have little contact with their older teens.
There are a lot of jobs that either do not exist or will not exist post COVID.

Yes, 10s of thousands just in government employees. Already in the planning. Where I work they talk about "COVID funding". There's no such thing. It's an empty cost structure designed to track the money spent. The money will be found in other ways. e.g. cancellation of the nurses wage increase. This will likely occur across NSW Gov services. Then, I predict, for the first time in I don't remember reduncies will be "offered"/"forced" to clear excess annual leave liability and throw that in Bucket Covid.

Bit of an indictor here https://www.abc.net.au/news/2020-05-27/coronavirus-nsw-government-freezes-public-sector-salaries/1229103z

That creates a pool of people, some of whom (being retrained)could become therapists specialising in youth depression.

It does but that is not short training. To be properly trained requires degree level minimum. There's also the unknown of when COVID ends. By the time the therapists are trained there will be more suicides. Sure as little green apples.

It's a complicated and worrying problem.I've lost a young relo from suicide and a mate lost a son.

It is. I have a nephew, mid 30s, who has had 3 mates commit suicide already. All job loss related.

When I was young jobs were plentiful, you could look up the Snoring Herald on a Saturday and they jumped out at you.Depression in the main for youth was rare in my experience.Sure there were worries at times.

Agree. Different weight of expectation back then. Different support structures. Although I did lose 2 school chums to depression related suicide in the early 80s'.

Last line absolutely agree.The HSC is so bleeding stressful as it is, let alone waiting for the results and hoping for uni entrance or availability of a job.I mean how many jobs are waiting whilst we have this Wuhan waster around?

Nothing new except maybe in Healthcare where I expect an influx in 2021. There will be changes. As I said, I predict reduncies across NSW Gov jobs. Especially in Health. Particularly in nursing. The old crumblies like me will be targeted. No risk. This will open the way for more undergrads to come in. There is even talk of accepting International Students into the new grad program which just doesn't happen now (rarely anyway). Old coppers, old doctors, old train drivers, old firies etc may be targeted.

A couple of weeks back, for at least 2 weeks,I saw a young guy with his kit bag etc,using the Cronulla car park for his home.I've lived here for yonks ,never saw that before.That really got to me.

Very sad. Very concerning.

taipan

Appreciate the reply.But do you write for the Chinese Global Times, the red typing was hitting my eyes like the morning sun, after a night on the hit and miss.:p
Can't argue with your points, except the retraining for therapists.Of course they have to retrain for a uni degree, but I know two uni educated pilots driving trucks.So I guess there are quite a few young guns out of work,who could hit uni for a few years if it meant long term employment.

Appreciate the reply.But do you write for the Chinese Global Times, the red typing was hitting my eyes like the morning sun, after a night on the hit and miss.:p
Can't argue with your points, except the retraining for therapists.Of course they have to retrain for a uni degree, but I know two uni educated pilots driving trucks.So I guess there are quite a few young guns out of work,who could hit uni for a few years if it meant long term employment.

Yes

Geez. Another parallel and I nearly missed it. Previously mentioned nephew had a mate here last Fridee. Moved back to Sydney from Qld. Pilot for Qantas. Got demoted to co pilot and had a $50,000 pay cut. Has had to move back to live in parents investment property.

taipan

I have one daughter with work in the health side, another on job seeker.It's hit just about every family in some shape or form.
TBH I cannot see the airline industry getting back for ages to what it was).Virgin and Qantas are going to be lean and mean, and their airline tickets are going to cost more big time.
The airlines are flicking those big Airbus 380s, too big, too fuel hungry.If people travel it'll be IMO to Pacific Islands and SE Asia..
Tell you what ,close mate was a ground engineer with Qantas ,he stated no one he knows within the organisation has time for the little Irish guy who runs the show.

Ads

I’ve got a tv and it’s a piece of shit.

Cheese sandwich

I bought an LG fridge back when they sponsored us, still going strong. No way was i buying anything hisense though.