Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

"They Scored 3 Tries off Kicks"

The Doc

objective is a wanker. he is waiting for a loss
Lol that much iv figured out already.
No disputing the fact that the last 5 years have been to the poorest standard.
But how can a so called fan not at least enjoy the ride we are on so far this year?
For f#cks sake we are coming first.
We have had 6 wins and 1 loss... thats 6 weeks of smiling (for most fans) and only one week of being pissed off.
Yes we will lose games, every team does.
Heck, melbourne were kept tryless last week, it happens in football.
I really dont get some fans. Sook when we lose, and sook when we win.
Iv noticed alot on here that are negative about the clubs running (CEO and Board) but they at least give credit where credit is due with the way the teams going.
Others, well, its like they want the board gone as the only way of being happy.
I say f#ck the back office shit... i want to support a team thats winning... and my team is winning.
Go the mighty mighty st george!!!! Thats all im gunna say.

Saint or sinner

We are first and where tested and came out on top ..t
2 of the tries from kicks where lucky..we had no help off refs hammered us second half.. They where constantly offside ..we could win the gf and mary will always have his haters. Looks like the players are happy and playing to his game plans that's all you want from a coach isn't it

Life's Good

As an armchair expert I have been critical of Mary for game plans, team selections, style of play etc. In fairness he is making me eat humble pie(it tastes as good as our ladder position-trust me). To hammer the bloke for a comment from a press conference from a game we just won is pretty unfair. Add the fact his context was disappointment in tries from kicks as opposed to shrugging his shoulders tells me he is demanding higher standards. Something I reckon we all want.

dragon64

Lol that much iv figured out already.
No disputing the fact that the last 5 years have been to the poorest standard.
But how can a so called fan not at least enjoy the ride we are on so far this year?
For f#cks sake we are coming first.
We have had 6 wins and 1 loss... thats 6 weeks of smiling (for most fans) and only one week of being pissed off.
Yes we will lose games, every team does.
Heck, melbourne were kept tryless last week, it happens in football.
I really dont get some fans. Sook when we lose, and sook when we win.
Iv noticed alot on here that are negative about the clubs running (CEO and Board) but they at least give credit where credit is due with the way the teams going.
Others, well, its like they want the board gone as the only way of being happy.
I say f#ck the back office shit... i want to support a team thats winning... and my team is winning.
Go the mighty mighty st george!!!! Thats all im gunna say.
I watched the game last night & impressed how the dragons came out firing from the start. Yes they relaxed just a bit in the second half but did enough to get the points. No team is perfect, we just have to fix our silly mistakes and play the second half like the first. A top game to watch with hopefully more to come for the boys and the fans. Go dragons

BalmainBoy_1969

I'll shed some light: Mary is a f#*kwit.

Straight Shooter

Personally, I think OV is far more likely to shed his own skin than shed any light.

BTW...

It's still early, but your Dragons team sure look the goods this year. That last match will serve them well on so many levels.

In the first half, they showed just how good they can be, but the second half should then tell them that they can't afford to drop off in intensity, or to abandon the game plan. At least now I don't think that they'll be complacent next week against the Rorters.

The Dragons are going to be a top 4 team this year no risk. Enjoy.

watatank

Not sure of the context in this case but last year the coach seemed to use the tries off kicks as an excuse, as if to imply other teams got lucky and we werent going that bad

BlackDuckSaint

I agree with most that I hate hearing him say "they scored # tries off kicks".

But this time he he was saying it as if that is a weakness he needs to address. The full quote was "They scored 3 tries off kicks, and it's not good enough" And he sounded genuinely frustrated about it. Like he believes that kick pressure and/or kick defence is something the team needs to work on.

It just sounded different this time around. Not as if they don't count, but that he believes they shouldn't even be allowed to be in a position to be able to score a try off a kick.

thebigredv

I agree with most that I hate hearing him say "they scored # tries off kicks".

But this time he he was saying it as if that is a weakness he needs to address. The full quote was "They scored 3 tries off kicks, and it's not good enough" And he sounded genuinely frustrated about it. Like he believes that kick pressure and/or kick defence is something the team needs to work on.

It just sounded different this time around. Not as if they don't count, but that he believes they shouldn't even be allowed to be in a position to be able to score a try off a kick.

I like your read on it. Let's hope so.

Unsure whether to laugh or cry at the contents of this thread.

Imagine what the commentary would be like if we had lost 6 from 7.

The guy simply said conceding 3 tries off kicks isn't good enough.

Safe to assume the issue will be addressed in training this week.

If the trend continues we will have cause to complain.

In the meantime lets enjoy the ride.

Crush

Unsure whether to laugh or cry at the contents of this thread.

Imagine what the commentary would be like if we had lost 6 from 7.

The guy simply said conceding 3 tries off kicks isn't good enough.

Safe to assume the issue will be addressed in training this week.

If the trend continues we will have cause to complain.

In the meantime lets enjoy the ride.
It is frustrating when people look for any excuse to validate their own opinion.
There are people on here that will not accept that McGregor is our coach and they will never support him.
Their only hope is that he fails and gets fired. Nothing else will do.
Maybe if he is re-signed the forum will calm down a bit and get back to normal instead of finding any possible opportunity to attack the coach of the team we all supposedly support....

The calm one

I think what Mary was trying to say is that three tries off kicks at the top level is unacceptable. If Bellamy or Bennett's side let in three tries off kicks they would not be happy either. It is a low point in any teams defence to allow it to happen and you loose more games then you will win unless you correct it.

Dragonsteve2

Those who have misunderstood Mary's reference to the 3 tries off kicks have missed a key clue in the unveiling of the "New Improved Mary". The subtle difference in the way he spoke about those tries reveals so much about his new attitude. He was not making lame excuses for yet another loss but pointing to an aspect of play in which his team must improve.

I was very disgruntled when Mary was confirmed coach for 2017. I make no apology for the views I held in 2016. But to ease my conscience I have to admit my error was being so judgmental that I could not foresee Mary's potential to review 2016 and re-evaluate his approach so dramatically. I did not think he had the necessary personality to carry out such a self-examination. Clearly I was wrong on this score. Just as I was critical of his efforts in 2016 I must now assign him praise. I am beginning to respect the "New Improved Mary"!

j0nesy

We're going great this year - tackling hard, good line speed, very direct in attack, cohesion in the halves, good support play. However, we don't put enough pressure on the opposition kicker and our kicking game (in general play) is not great. I think Mary was alluding to our poor defence against kicks. We failed to catch a lot of kicks against the Cows, including most kick offs.

giboz71

Not sure of the context in this case but last year the coach seemed to use the tries off kicks as an excuse, as if to imply other teams got lucky and we werent going that bad

He clearly says in the presser that conceding tries off kicks isn't good enough and that they should be more easily defended. He was challenging us to do better. He was not making excuses like he was last year.

I wish people would get this straight and not continue to push their anti Mary agenda.