Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

This rain

Ninja

I'm not too sure as I don't collect benefits, but from my understanding the government allowance gets paid at all different times of the month. I don't think there is scheduled 'weeks'. Although it is paid fortnightly, it depends on when the person signed up. So there wouldn't be a certain week where everyone is loaded from their dole payment where they could schedule a game. Thats my understanding anyway, I could be wrong...

Can we have a centrelink employee clear this up??

I thought all govt payments were processed on a given fortnightly cycle ?
Who knows... i'm telling you what a WT director at the time told me

rabbit4ever

themanonthehill said:
I thought all govt payments were processed on a given fortnightly cycle ?
Who knows... i'm telling you what a WT director at the time told me
There is definately a two week cycle on certain pension payments, I am not sure how it works these days but i worked in a Bank in the Outer Western suburbs years ago and every second Wednesday was pension day and every man and his dog was at the door at 9am. Unmarried Mothers, Elderly, Dole, Disabled Pension.

If it was at Penriff was ronld there looking for a cheap, out of work second rower ?
Funnily enough i used to live on Castlereagh st in town and the CBA there was busy as all hell on govt payment days .. queues out the door

rabbit4ever

themanonthehill said:
If it was at Penriff was ronld there looking for a cheap, out of work second rower ?
Funnily enough i used to live on Castlereagh st in town and the CBA there was busy as all hell on govt payment days .. queues out the door
You have lost me on the first question, but i worked on Relieving Staff for the same bank for a few years after that and travelled between banks ranging from Sydney CBD to Katoomba and every second Wednesday was flat out no matter where you were.

Ronald is our recruitment manager ... ronald mcdonald ... some press refer to him as Warren McDonnell .. father of junior burger aka shannon mcdonnell
He is very adept at signing over-rated penriff second rowers and his own spastic son

rabbit4ever

themanonthehill said:
Ronald is our recruitment manager ... ronald mcdonald ... some press refer to him as Warren McDonnell .. father of junior burger aka shannon mcdonnell
He is very adept at signing over-rated penriff second rowers and his own spastic son
Gotcha now.

As far as scheduling events/games to coincide with pension week, it is really just commonsense and has been used by shopping centres and Pubs/Clubs for years.

Ninja

rabbit4ever said:
Gotcha now.

As far as scheduling events/games to coincide with pension week, it is really just commonsense and has been used by shopping centres and Pubs/Clubs for years.

What I don't understand is I used to live with 3 dole bludging bums and their payments weren't on the same day nor the same week. There was always one who was broke while the other was getting their payment. This was in 2000/2001 the system could have changed by then.

How long ago were you working when you saw these 'welfare weeks'. What year was it rabbit?

rabbit4ever

Ninja said:
What I don't understand is I used to live with 3 dole bludging bums and their payments weren't on the same day nor the same week. There was always one who was broke while the other was getting their payment. This was in 2000/2001 the system could have changed by then.

How long ago were you working when you saw these 'welfare weeks'. What year was it rabbit?
I'm talking late 80's, i think dole payments have changed but i am sure Pensions are still every second Wed or Thur depending on which type you get.

Mish

I know people who have been on it in recent years and the unemployment dole is paid fortnightly on the same day each fortnight as long as they hand in their (bogey) job form the day before. The day of the week they are requested to hand in this form is different for each person but they dont get paid until its handed in, its the Pensions that are paid on the same day for everyone dependant on which bank they use.

Mish

themanonthehill said:
I bet you do. Most of you pamfa season ticket holder mates would be on it.

I know alot of Panther supporters, and EVERY single one of those friends is employed.

And just about all my friends from Tigers are employed too... how I know about the payments with the dole is because of a drop kick guy I grew up near that basically lives of the payments. Pisses me off how easy it is for people to get the dole and stay on it for 10 years by filling out made up job enquiries.

Ninja

It pisses you off Mish? I actually feel sorry for them. They live like absolute sh*t!
I used to ask the guys I lived with 'do you want to go to the pub for a few ' Nah cant afford it... 'Do you want to go to the footy?' 'Nah cant afford it.' 'Want to get some Maccas?' 'Nah cant afford it.'
They were getting $200 a week. Try having an enjoyable existance on that type of money... I say good luck to the dole bludgers- enjoy your miserable boring life and 2 minute noodles!

On the 'welfare weeks' issue Mulli you either misheard that WT Director or he was full of sh*t... or he wanted CS full of 85 year old pensioners

Ninja said:
It pisses you off Mish? I actually feel sorry for them. They live like absolute sh*t!
I used to ask the guys I lived with 'do you want to go to the pub for a few ' Nah cant afford it... 'Do you want to go to the footy?' 'Nah cant afford it.' 'Want to get some Maccas?' 'Nah cant afford it.'
They were getting $200 a week. Try having an enjoyable existance on that type of money... I say good luck to the dole bludgers- enjoy your miserable boring life and 2 minute noodles!

On the 'welfare weeks' issue Mulli you either misheard that WT Director or he was full of sh*t... or he wanted CS full of 85 year old pensioners

It wasn't misheard. There were 3 off these forums (albeit irregular posters) who also heard it ... also a reason why the games at CS are spaced apart.

Live like sh*t ? They are guaranteed income for doing f**k all, usually live in free or subsidised housing, get everything cheaper etc etc etc. Meanwhile the rest of us have to pay market whack for everything, pay a bank or they'll take our house etc etc . All they have to worry about is whether the bloke in the public service hits the transfer button every wk and they get their money for jam to spunk on smokes, VB or smack. f**k em

Mish

its still money that is better spent elsewhere by the government.. the dole is needed for people who genuinely need a part income while they are inbetween jobs... but for someone to live off it 10 years and the government still keep paying it is an absolute joke and a waste of tax payer money. They shouldn't make it so easy for the system to be abused.

They live like sh*t cos they want to, that money is meant to be used to help them find a job, have money for travel expenses and items needed to get back into work, and of course for food/accom etc (for a short time).. not for them to spend on social activities.. If they want a more enjoyable existance how about they use the money for what its intended for.. to look for work! that way they can support themselves and enjoy life instead of not being able to afford anything.

I don't feel sorry for anyone that wont get off their arses and support themselves, the gov could be giving them $100 a week for all I care, maybe they should lessen the pay and make them want to work, but sadly I think many of these bludgers that abuse it dont care to work at all.. they would prob live off mummy or their partners, or even steal to survive instead.

lainey

Trust me, it's not enough to survive on...how do I know this....I'm now unemployed and getting a government handout. After paying my $260 per fornight rent and having to keep enough money to get to interviews, Centrelink etc I don't have enough left for essential items such as food, let alone social activites.

The system has changed Mish, that person you mentioned would have to be looking for work or his/her payments will stop. You also have to put contact phone numbers on your forms for jobs you have applied for or your payments stop, you also have to attend interviews with a job search agency that Centrelink have hooked you up with or your payments stop also. It really isn't that easy anymore....

So Mish, not all your Penrith supporter friends are employed at the moment....:(

we were talking about rain, how the f**k did we get onto this excessively useless, boring and unrelated issue?

Mish

lainey said:
Trust me, it's not enough to survive on...how do I know this....I'm now unemployed and getting a government handout. After paying my $260 per fornight rent and having to keep enough money to get to interviews, Centrelink etc I don't have enough left for essential items such as food, let alone social activites.

The system has changed Mish, that person you mentioned would have to be looking for work or his/her payments will stop. You also have to put contact phone numbers on your forms for jobs you have applied for or your payments stop, you also have to attend interviews with a job search agency that Centrelink have hooked you up with or your payments stop also. It really isn't that easy anymore....

So Mish, not all your Penrith supporter friends are employed at the moment....:(

Lainey you are one of the genuine ones that are seeking work, that is why you struggle. I know all about how the forms work, and trust me on this.. they DO NOT check them. The person I refer to used to write the name of any old company down and then make up a phone number for them making sure the area code was correct. He did this the entire time! He never applied for a single job he put on his form the whole 10 years. ANd all those interviews with job seeking agencies etc.. pfft all you need to do is say some crap excuse and reschedule another interview. I was amazed at first how much he got away with skipping appointments etc and still kept his payments! Soon I realised it was easy as piss to do, and many do it.

Everything you mentioned Lainey is the same as it was for him.. he abused the system, the same system you are using. The system has not changed at all.

This is why I hate it so much, because I know there are people like yourself who need that support as you are genuinely looking for work with that support, whereas this bloke wanted it to pay his dealer and get some beer with his. He also wrote bogey amounts of rent he paid too, as he said he lived with his parents, although he lived with (off) his girlfriend at the time.

Parasites are what people like that are.