Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

thurstons "accident"

aqua_duck

You know what Ben Ross (I think) did the same thing to Ben kennedy after a high shot (grabbed him while he was on the ground) about 3 years ago, QLDers didn't seem to mind too much at the time....

Big Pete

What Ross did was dangerous.

Fortunately Kennedy took a massive dive. Shame really, you would've thought that was below a player of his calibre.

aqua_duck

What Ross did was dangerous.

Fortunately Kennedy took a massive dive. Shame really, you would've thought that was below a player of his calibre.
Dive or not what makes Ben Ross qualified to make the decision on whether Kennedy was hurt or not?
Then again I guess Ross has plenty of experience in getting KO'd

There is no excuse for Poore's actions. Absolutely disgusting.

Agree 100%, and apoligies to those who stated it happened and I doubted. I was basing my thoughts on what I had recorded directly from fox.

I also believe that his actions were on par with Hodges and thurstons, great game soured by a few abhorent actions.

beave

It's all good mate, the channel 9 footage from wednesday night didn't show it, it only started getting the light of day around midday yesterday arvo on the pay stations.

Poore has been let off, he should think himself extremely lucky, but more so in the fact that Price wasn't injured more severely from the White punch and then the fall with Waterhouse, it would have been a $hit fight if he further injured a player from a stupid action like what he did. I am sure these guys would be exposed to first aid and so forth by their employers/clubs, what he did inexcusable. Though in saying that, maybe the boys are not exposed to first aid by the clubs, maybe the NRL should look at implementing a basic course for these guys as part of their duty of care, because at the end of the day, the players need to look after themselves and have a basic understanding of what they should do, and it's protecting the players from any further legal ramifications, because as I have said earlier, if Poore put Price in a wheel chair (extreme example, but $hit happens) over something so stupid, Poore would be in a world of $hit, and no one wants to see any person have to go through that either Price or Poore.

It just blows my mind that the judiciary take the hard stance (well sometimes) on dangerous tackles and so forth, but yet are willing to let that incident go through to the keeper. This is not bagging the dragons either, if Thurston or Matt Bowen did something similar, I would want their a$$es kicked royally as well.

On the incident with the fight, I am glad White and Waterhouse got off, if Price wants to put his fists and "bork" to throw one on White's chin, then White has every right to start throwing them. Waterhouse was very unlucky at the time that Price was out cold when he grabbed, it exaggerated his involvement 10 fold and it was just bad timing on his behalf.

Who would have though glass nose had that in him?????????

It's all good mate, the channel 9 footage from wednesday night didn't show it, it only started getting the light of day around midday yesterday arvo on the pay stations.

Poore has been let off, he should think himself extremely lucky, but more so in the fact that Price wasn't injured more severely from the White punch and then the fall with Waterhouse, it would have been a $hit fight if he further injured a player from a stupid action like what he did. I am sure these guys would be exposed to first aid and so forth by their employers/clubs, what he did inexcusable. Though in saying that, maybe the boys are not exposed to first aid by the clubs, maybe the NRL should look at implementing a basic course for these guys as part of their duty of care, because at the end of the day, the players need to look after themselves and have a basic understanding of what they should do, and it's protecting the players from any further legal ramifications, because as I have said earlier, if Poore put Price in a wheel chair (extreme example, but $hit happens) over something so stupid, Poore would be in a world of $hit, and no one wants to see any person have to go through that either Price or Poore.

It just blows my mind that the judiciary take the hard stance (well sometimes) on dangerous tackles and so forth, but yet are willing to let that incident go through to the keeper. This is not bagging the dragons either, if Thurston or Matt Bowen did something similar, I would want their a$$es kicked royally as well.

On the incident with the fight, I am glad White and Waterhouse got off, if Price wants to put his fists and "bork" to throw one on White's chin, then White has every right to start throwing them. Waterhouse was very unlucky at the time that Price was out cold when he grabbed, it exaggerated his involvement 10 fold and it was just bad timing on his behalf.

Who would have though glass nose had that in him?????????

True,

I did find this article amusing, a couple of interesting points raised by Andrew Webster, albiet with a tinge of sky blue.

AH, STATE of Origin. Toughest arena in sport. Nowhere to run. Nowhere to hide. Sorts the men from the boys. Apparently.

If the bitching and moaning from the other side of the Queensland border is any indication, it has gone disturbingly soft.
Please. Pass them the tissues. Now, wipe the tears . . .

Yesterday, in the aftermath of the most dramatic Origin in years, Maroons players blubbered like never before.

It was all because of the incident everyone was talking about from the dying minutes of their 28-16 loss to NSW at Suncorp Stadium. Blues prop Brett White wasn't cited for the right-hand that sent Queensland's Steve Price to Disneyland, but Trent Waterhouse contested his contrary conduct charge last night for diving in and escaped suspension.
"They hurt one of our brothers and we wanted to hurt them back," said Maroons centre Justin Hodges - forthwith known as NSW Public Enemy No. 1. "We'll get them next year. It's going to be fiery."

Much of their anger centred on Blues prop Justin Poore picking up Price by the collar after he was knocked out. Greg Inglis, said: "It was a dog act, it won't be forgotten." Cameron Smith added: "He (Price) could have ended up paralysed or, thinking in the worst terms, you're talking about death."
Here's a suggestion: go down to your nearest hardware store, buy two bags of cement, harden up.
When the Maroons started dishing out the threats after failing to complete a clean sweep, they clearly forgot about recent history. Specifically, they ignored halfback Johnathan Thurston kicking NSW winger David Williams in the face. Where were the wild-eyed NSW players seeking retribution then? Keeping it respectable at the other end of the field.

Some might suggest that's got more "dog" in it that than two props going toe- to-toe before another rushed in and pounced on the protagonists.
And, presumably, when Smith says he feared Price may have suffered a neck injury, he forgot about the finals last September while playing for Storm against the Broncos.

Back then, he grabbed the head of Queensland "brother" Sam Thaiday and twisted it like the top of a stubbie.

Hodges's petulant display as the minutes wound down summed up his man-child qualities. "We weren't going to win the game, so we just wanted to go up and hurt them," he said yesterday.
That's a park footy mentality. During the game, he performed the classic throat-slitting gesture on several occasions and told the Blues to "watch your back".
Sounds like someone's been watching too much Underbelly.
Smith explained it away like this: "It showed with the way the boys reacted that we're Queenslanders."
You bet.
Who else but bloody Queensland?

A good laugh indeed.

beave

yeah its quite funny reading the Couriermail version of events, the bias toward the maroon cause is sickening to be honest.

Frank_Grimes

Agree 100%, and apoligies to those who stated it happened and I doubted. I was basing my thoughts on what I had recorded directly from fox.

I also believe that his actions were on par with Hodges and thurstons, great game soured by a few abhorent actions.

Honestly I can't see what Hodges has done to be put on par with Poore and Thurston, apart from his usual niggle (niggle that was shown from both sides) and a few gestures after being quite understandably fired up.

Frank_Grimes

he didn't 'lift him 2 feet off the ground' like some idiots said

As has been said, damn near enough. How much further do you need to see him lifted?

Kiki said:
i think Trent accidentally on purpose smashed Inglis and i am totally fine with that.

No prizes for guessing your stance on Thurston's actions.

Poor form hypocrite.

Charlie124

I was at the game so i didnt see Thurstons incident until last night on the footy show and ive got to admit it looked pretty damn ordinary. I can see what he was trying to do and i dont think he was trying to anything but kick the ball out of Williams' hands but its against the rules for that very reason, you could get it wrong and kick someone in the face. Im glad he got off but i wouldnt have been surprised to see him out for a week or two.

I also hadnt see the Justin Poore incident until last night either and that has to be one of the biggest dog acts ive seen from a player in recent history, him and Hungry Hungry Soward should count themselves very lucky they're not sitting on the sidelines for extended periods.

Garts

Poore's action looks very bad. However I will give him the benefit of the doubt like Thurston. He probably thought he was faking, however when he realised he was not he dropped him. It should not have happened but I do not think it makes him a dirty player by any means, he made a mistake.

I agree, and I am typing this without any red and white bias. he isn't a dirty player.

I am hopefull it was a barin snap, albeit a stupid, stupid one.

I came across this comment on leaguehq website.
http://www.leaguehq.com.au/news/ori...-dog-act/2009/07/16/1247337218521.html?page=2

Poore declined to comment on the incident as the Blues left their Brisbane hotel yesterday morning or when they arrived at Sydney Airport. However, he is believed to have told teammates he had not realised Price was unconscious when he picked him up, and panicked when he saw he was convulsing, and dropped him.
"I'm not going to make any comment about it," Poore told the Herald. "I know myself what I did and I'm comfortable with that."
Asked if he felt insulted by the Maroons saying he wasn't a fair player, the St George Illawarra prop said: "It doesn't bother me, footy is footy. I'm glad we won, that's all I want to say about it."
NSW second-rower Ben Creagh defended his Dragons teammate. "I didn't see that but I know Poorey personally as a teammate and he's not a dirty player," Creagh said. "I think if he knew [Price] was knocked out, he wouldn't have picked him up at all. That's a pretty dangerous thing to do."

Thurston is lucky to get off. Looked ordinary. Worth a week or two. Brain snap.

JT has plenty of previous for being a dirty merkin, and its a brain snap.

Poore is a clean skin, and stated once he knew Price was convulsing he let go, dropped his head, yes shocking thing to do. It also looked ordinary, both circumstances had some possible shocking possibilites with a worse case scenario.

Look at the two players, whats the difference & why is only one a brain snap ?

sass

I'm with johnsy ... it's inevitable that you're gonna bas some of your opinion on players' past form as well as the incident.

no way I'm buying that thurston's kick was a 'reflex'

beave

so Sass, you think Thurston intentionally kicked Willams in the head for no good reason???

beave

He was going for the ball, plain and simple, but missed, and should have got a couple of weeks for it. The ball wasn't grounded when Thurston kicked at it, even on the first attempt to ground the ball, Williams realised he hadn't got it down yet and tried to get it down again, hence why Thurston has come through with the boot.