What's new
The Front Row Forums

Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

To Any Lawyers Using This Forum

Jux

Juniors
I know there are a few of you out there, so I was wondering if you could explain something to a lay person.

If Roy Bell is used as a fullback, and Shane Tronc busts the line and has only him to beat, can Arthur Katinas be charged with negligent homicide ?

Alternatively, if Arthur asks Roy to play hooker and to mark up against Paul Rahihi, could Katinas be guilty of attempted murder ?

macavity

Referee
:lol: :lol: :lol:

Im only a student but the answer is no..... but it IS an interesting point. It might be a breach of his (Kitinas') duty of care, or willful endangerment though.... cant think of any cases dealing with even remotely similar content off the top of my head. I am sure that there would be some sort of indemnity clause in NRL contracts though...

That would have to be the skinniest dude I have ever seen in grade football. I thought he was going to get broken in half. Must be a pretty gutsy guy! :clap:

RICHO

Juniors
NRL players must be responsible for their own actions. Therefore, it is not the fault of the coach if someone hurts themself playing out of position.

In junior league it's a different story.
The coach is responsible for a lot more in this case (i.e. tall skinny fella's shouldn't be packing into a scrum).

Fibroman

First Grade
Playing sport is a statutory defence to assault, although there does not necessarily have to be an assault to be a murder. An inaction can lead to the charge of murder. Eg. By the Penrith team not tackling,and John Lang having a heart attack and dying, any one or all of the Penrith players may be guilty of at least Manslaughter. :oops:

_Johnsy

Referee