Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Todd Greenberg Appointed NRL CEO

Who Should Be The Next NRL CEO

• Todd Greenberg

Votes: 6 7.4%
  • Shane Richardson

Votes: 5 6.2%
  • Phil Gould

Votes: 7 8.6%
  • John Grant

Votes: 2 2.5%
  • Andrew Demetriou

Votes: 5 6.2%
  • John Quayle

Votes: 10 12.3%
  • Somebody Else.....Post Who

Votes: 46 56.8%

elbusto

For the good of the game we need a new ceo who does understand our game and focus on the game. Smith is a good man but his approach no longer applies. We need a person focussed on football. That includes international and also minor states like mine. good things are happening in places like victoria and wa but so much more is possible.

POPEYE

Yeh, people really overstate this link between the junior nursery and the NRL side.

How many Parramatta juniors that are any good actually make it to the NRL team let alone stay in it. NRL clubs have only been a mailing address for years, players are interested in playing first grade . . . they want to be recognised and don't care by whom

POPEYE

On subject, Quayle if we can't get Doyle to live in the Sydney sewer, he may be an old Eel but who would deny them a leg up

betcats

You don't see people lining up outside red phone boxes any more either ol' mate. To attract anyone to anything these days you have to rule out easy alternatives, such is the nature of the social media beast as it brainwashes new generations. Stay at home and watch the footy, before and after there are too many other things to do

In places where the old fashioned day out with the kids, such as in satellite areas, it seems is still sacrosanct. Getting people to actually sacrifice time in motion is the problem, Sydney is too busy to delve into time wasting . . . and forget about how well a team is doing, the Roosters would have easily as many supporters as the Broncos

If Penrith were gone other clubs would pick up the slack and the best kids would still get to the nrl but how many from the area would give it away at 14/15/16?(the ages we typically start seeing a dropoff) or focus on anothersport because there was no clear pathway to the nrl to aspire to now? Where would the funding shortfall come from for the local leagues? How many parents would even show up without Penrith providing security guards at games?

The ten years prior to Gould and Wilson joining the club we were being run into the ground(shoddy management and piss poor results), things are changing now and Penrith could quite easily be one of the strongest clubs in the league in ten years time. A lot of clubs can claim to be a 'heartland' of RL but Penrith can make that claim more than most, to move them would be insanity.

Lockyer4President!

If Penrith were gone other clubs would pick up the slack and the best kids would still get to the nrl but how many from the are would give it away at 14/15/16?(the ages we typically start seeing a dropoff) or focus on anothersport because there was no clear pathway to the nrl to aspire to now?

I've never understood this argument. Saying kids will give away RL because Penrith are no longer in the NRL but they'll take up another sport where Penrith also doesn't have a team in the national comp?

That's just fear-mongering because the point is weak.

Ipswich, Logan, etc all do fine developing talent without NRL teams playing out of their areas.

The game wouldn't notice a difference if the Penrith Panthers were taken out of the NRL and only competed in the NSW Cup. In fact the game would be better off in almost every way.

ABC News this morning reporting that Benny wants to throw his hat into the ring, lol

Cue Toni Carroll coming out of retirement.

betcats

I've never understood this argument. Saying kids will give away RL because Penrith are no longer in the NRL but they'll take up another sport where Penrith also doesn't have a team in the national comp?

That's just fear-mongering because the point is weak.

Ipswich, Logan, etc all do fine developing talent without NRL teams playing out of their areas.

The game wouldn't notice a difference if the Penrith Panthers were taken out of the NRL and only competed in the NSW Cup. In fact the game would be better off in almost every way.

So if it works in Logan it will work everywhere yeah? Logan or Ipswich might be producing a lot more talent if they had their own NRL team.

The game wouldn't notice a difference if the Brisbane Broncos were taken out of the NRL and only competed in the QLD cup. In fact the game would be better off in almost every way. See I can make dumb claims without qualifying them as well.

Lockyer4President!

So if it works in Logan it will work everywhere yeah? Logan or Ipswich might be producing a lot more talent if they had their own NRL team.

The game wouldn't notice a difference if the Brisbane Broncos were taken out of the NRL and only competed in the QLD cup. In fact the game would be better off in almost every way. See I can make dumb claims without qualifying them as well.

People will play RL or whatever sport they want regardless of whether there's a national team in their suburb or only one in their city.

As long as the pathway structures are working and the best juniors filter up then the game is strong.

Saying kids will leave RL because Penrith aren't in the NRL and that they'll go to RU or AFL or cricket, despite none of those sports having Penrith teams, is a ridiculous argument and you know it.

POPEYE

If Penrith were gone other clubs would pick up the slack and the best kids would still get to the nrl but how many from the area would give it away at 14/15/16?(the ages we typically start seeing a dropoff) or focus on anothersport because there was no clear pathway to the nrl to aspire to now? Where would the funding shortfall come from for the local leagues? How many parents would even show up without Penrith providing security guards at games?

The ten years prior to Gould and Wilson joining the club we were being run into the ground(shoddy management and piss poor results), things are changing now and Penrith could quite easily be one of the strongest clubs in the league in ten years time. A lot of clubs can claim to be a 'heartland' of RL but Penrith can make that claim more than most, to move them would be insanity.

Moving the Panthers would be ludicrous, merging the Eels with them would be common sense, the newest generations are moving towards the mountains and Parra is obsolete as a breeding ground. Gould will never replace Richardson as a 'smarts' man but he will get the job done if he is associated with a distinctly separate area where he can establish 'us against them' compared to 'next train stop'

The next NRL club is 30km away! It's not like they would need to move to the other side of the country like our kids are doing to get a shot. But I do agree, if Penrith can sustain recent financial growth when Gould is gone then they are def heading in the right direction.

I'd hate to see someone internal appointed, for Smith's faults his fresh eyes were invaluable in setting the strategic plan. The fact not much of it was carried out was the main problem with him, or the very people some want appointed.

elbusto

I still remember sitting in a room with jim doyle for an hour discussing tassie rugby league. Resulted in absolutely nothing. Now we have an administrator and no game. Go figure?

insert.pause

Last thing we need right now is a club appeasing CEO. If anything, we need the opposite. One who wants to focus our funds and resources into junior footy and expansion. Plus more of the same work David Smith was doing with the clubs admin.

I'm not suggesting they choose the CEO, I am saying they should be included in the process of narrowing down a list of candidates that would then go to the commission to interview & pick from. It's a small thing, but the ARLC has to start bridging the disconnect between them & the clubs, they won't always agree but at least they will feel like they have been listened to. Part of the commissions role was to bring everyone under the one tent and create some sense of unity, they have probably been more divisive to this point, and while some clubs never gave them a chance, they probably didn't do much to create a relationship either. Poor communication has repeatedily been brought up as an issue at all levels, between the clubs & NRL, the grassroots & NRL, the media & NRL, the players & NRL, and it all stems from the the commission. Thy should use this opportunity to change it.

DiegoNT

It amazes me how often I see someone write something along the lines of 'the people involved in the nrl are to self centred and only worry about themselves. If only they cut a few off the sydney teams out and put a team in my area...'
If you started the nrl today maybe you would only have 5-6 sydney team, but that's not the way things unfolded, we have to deal with what we've got
Yes there are too many teams in Sydney, but it's not as simple as just cutting teams. Most teams have huge fan bases, junior systems and/or good funding. Roosters don't necessarily have the juniors or wide spread appeal but they have the funding . Ditto sharks at the moment. The 2 current sydney clubs that are having financial problems have big fan appeal and junior bases (wests sydney /campbelltown area and st george/ illawarra area). People say the nrl shouldn't prop up these clubs, but the nrl makes its most of its money from people watching these clubs on tv, so of course some of that money should go back to these clubs. The nrl as a whole is strong because of the mixture of current clubs. I don't want a comp without sharks or tigers or manly or even clubs that i hate like broncos, roosters and storm. The clubs and their rivalries is what have made the nrl what it is. When we do grow I want new clubs added to this.
The whole 'sydney clubs don't sell out their stadiums' argument doesn't work. No nrl club consistently sells outs it's stadiums. Not even a powerhouse like the broncos, with a huge city to themselves, sell out their stadiums.
My area is screaming out for a club, we have the supporters, we will work better than the current sydney clubs, etc, all these things were said about the Titans and it's shown that the reality is quite different to expectations when it comes to expansion clubs. Next time we expand we have to make sure we do it right