Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Tonga Robbed!

Clarkent

Do you want to think about this and try again? It seemed to start with a point but just ended up as a rant.
I've said what I needed to say... Calling island players playing for there heritage "foreigners" is an insult... What makes them less tongan or samoan then the ones living back in there homeland?? There are basically more Tongans and samoans living in nz then there are in there homeland... So there will always be a high chance there'll be nz born islanders playing for there home nation

Pommy

I've said what I needed to say... Calling island players playing for there heritage "foreigners" is an insult... What makes them less tongan or samoan then the ones living back in there homeland?? There are basically more Tongans and samoans living in nz then there are in there homeland... So there will always be a high chance there'll be nz born islanders playing for there home nation

What makes them less Tongan or Samoan? Being Australian or Kiwi makes them less Tongan or Samoan.
I hazard a guess that your not likely to label the vast majority of Australians as being British or Irish. It’s a weird distinction people make. Can GB just claim the World Cup now? The vast majority of the Australian team will have British blood.
We could go around the world and I’m sure you would find more than 50 odd million people of English decent living abroad it’s not something that only happens in the pacific.
I’m not against the eligibility rules as such but this hasn’t been some big uprising of the pacific islands like some claim.

Vee

All in all the Pacific nation just proved to the world with there best players playing they can support there team better then any other nation! They need to continue giving islanders more games after this world cup... If Tonga and Samoa at full strength have origin like series this is the type of atmosphere you'll be expecting every game
Pacific Origin?

Munted

Correct call.
Was not playing at the ball with a 'stripping' motion.
Which i believe is the dribble the NRL has handed out in the past, so at least they are consistent.

Vee

FWIW, drunk af but unfortunately the calls in the 1st half were correct. The turning point came at 55m when the Tongans should have got a strip penalty and then tuilolo gave away a penalty following. Too much dumb Island footy.

Oh, and that's after Tupou dropped a sitter with the line open so put the blame where it lies.

Wizardman

The final call was definitely the right call. We cannot read Whitehead's mind nor definitively tell what his intent in his defensive play was. Therefore, the onus is on Fafita to hold onto the ball.....would have been shambolic if he scored from that.

haniran

The Kiwi try in 2008 was ridiculous. Should never have been a try. Just like today's try would have been if it had been given.

Robbed?! ROBBED?!! You want to talk about robbed?! I recorded the match and finished watching it about 30 minutes ago, without knowing the result. The recording stopped with literally a minute left to play. In the match. Tonga was robbed?!! TONGA?!!!
I was waiting ( like some kind of moron ) for the game to be played tonight.

Then
Whilst watching the last boring overs of ashes I saw a post on Facebook!

Why the f**k was it played on a Saturday arvo?

anyway
Anyone questioning blokes decisions to play for the country of their parents ...need a punch in the face.
I feel embarrassed every time some islander lines up against his own country.

Pommy

I was waiting ( like some kind of moron ) for the game to be played tonight.

Then
Whilst watching the last boring overs of ashes I saw a post on Facebook!

Why the f**k was it played on a Saturday arvo?

anyway
Anyone questioning blokes decisions to play for the country of their parents ...need a punch in the face.
I feel embarrassed every time some islander lines up against his own country.

That’s kind of the point though. My grandads Scottish I’m not Scottish.

RoosTah

How you can call not played at, I do not know.
That was a try any day of the week and at least an absolute disgrace that they didn't check on it.
Probably because it’s a dive tackle from behind... generally not your classic one on one strip scenario. Definite loose carry and if it had been called that way at any other point in almost any other game no one would have bat an eyelid because the refs rarely give the attacking player the benefit of the doubt unless there are multiple tacklers and there’s a genuine wrestle going on

RoosTah

What makes them less Tongan or Samoan? Being Australian or Kiwi makes them less Tongan or Samoan.
I hazard a guess that your not likely to label the vast majority of Australians as being British or Irish. It’s a weird distinction people make. Can GB just claim the World Cup now? The vast majority of the Australian team will have British blood.
We could go around the world and I’m sure you would find more than 50 odd million people of English decent living abroad it’s not something that only happens in the pacific.
I’m not against the eligibility rules as such but this hasn’t been some big uprising of the pacific islands like some claim.
It’s hardly all one way mate... watch the odd game of international union these days and it’s hilarious how many freshy Pacific Islanders are representing the big countries via the 3 year rule.

Heck, just look at England lately - forget for a moment that their entire coaching set up is as Aussie as it gets - they had a bloody former Kangaroo in Ben Te’o (even if a reject one) playing centre for them and the bloody lions earlier this year because he has a pommy grandmother or something along with super freshy Tuilagi. Meanwhile in the League Australia selected Semi Radradra earlier in the year despite him being about as Aussie as Wayne Bennett is British

Nerd

Cecchin is a dud but he got this call right. Loose carry by Fafita. Tonga blew it in the first half with too many unforced errors. I thought Cecchin did the poms a big favour by letting them get away with slowing Tonga down in the ruck for most of the game but as I said the guys a dud.