Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Tonguey Announced As 2007 Captain!!

Chachi

My only reservation about Tongue wearing the big C on game day is the possibility it could detract from his focus. In reality this may or may not be an issue but it would be a tough gig to keep up that workload while also concentrating on keeping your players in check, making onfield decisions and questioning the referee etc. The guy is a dead set legend though, so I wouldn't put it past him as it's a much deserved honour.

Other than that, he is eloquent, intelligent and presents himself like an absolute champion so I'd be more than proud to name him alongside the likes of Giteau, Lance, Meninga and Daley as one of the outstanding captains in our history. He also seems to be 100% loyal and leads by example...and I better end my sentence there before I say something I'll regret.

At the end of the day though, I don't think it will make a big difference to our performance no matter who gets the nod.

Bay53

Mullins_y2k said:
I admit my passion for tongue to be skipper influenced my Thommo comments. I think he is an ok player but certaintly not our best and IMO is in danger of loosing his FGS if he doesnt step up next year that is all...

Perhaps someone could put up here our win loss stats over the past two years when Thommo has been playing and when he hasn't been playing.

At a guess - we won 9 of 24 in 2005 and 13 of 25 in 2006 so that is 22 of 49. I reckon he has probably missed 8 games in that time and I reckon we probably lost 6.

I do have all the Big Leagues here so I might go through it one day but I reckon those stats aren't too far away.

I think he is essential. So do the club. That's why they signed him for four years, two years before his current contract was up.

Duffman

Tongue should be captain for sure. The amount he puts in at the club, and he leads by example.

Raiders Rock

So it looks like it's unanimous!! Tonguey for captain for sure!! And I have to say that this is a great thread, who started it anyway??

Mullins_y2k

well after seeing Thommo, tongue and Link on that new billboard its looking more and more like there gonna use all 3 as captains! :(

skeepe

Surely the surest sign yet that Tonguey will be 2007 captain is the new NRL ad, where he is the one holding up the trophy ala Schif last year.

skeepe

Only seen it on Fox actually... but then again I don't watch FTA much since we've got that magic box... who'd have thought that one little insulated cable could bring so much joy?

jed

According to the official NRL 2007 handbook, Tongue has been named as co-captain with Withers and Thompson

ak47

on the foxports website at the bottom of the Tiqiri article they mentioned that the Raiders are expected to announce Tongue as 2007 captain TODAY

Never mentioned co-captain stuff

But then again - it is News.com - which is the Telegraph - so who really knows

raidersforme

http://www.foxsports.com.au/story/0,8659,21268199-23214,00.html

Tongue new Raiders captain

February 22, 2007
CANBERRA Raiders have named Alan Tongue as captain for the 2007 season.
The 26-year-old, Canberra's 2006 player of the year, was today named by coach Neil Henry as the replacement for former captain Clinton Schifcofske, who left the club to play rugby union with the Queensland Reds.
Tongue, who broke the NRL record for most tackles in a season last year, said the captaincy wouldn't change his approach to football.
"It's not going to change my role too much, I'll just keep playing footy the way I have been and try and help as much as I can with the young guys around the club and keep doing what I've been doing," he said.
"Honour is definitely the word that springs to mind when Neil asked me to take on the role.
"Out of the past captains that I've had, leading by example has been their best characteristics and something I can hopefully continue on as well," he said.
Henry said Tongue was chosen from a six-man leadership group formed at the start of the season.
AAP

Congrats to the man well deserved

woodgers

Great news.

Go on Tonguey! 5 years ago he was doing a mechanics apprenticeship at CIT with my mate, now he is captain of our beloved Raiders and reigning top tackler in the league. Well done to the man! I for one am thrilled that he got the job and is fit of the honour.

I believe him too, it won't change him at all I reckon.

Chachi

Two thumbs up.

Well deserved reward for someone who will be a great ambassador for our club and the NRL.

I'm sure he'll also have a good rapport with the refs and won't cut and run when the chips are down.

ak47

Yes well done Tongue - well deserved - was a given in my books

If you think Fatty will ignore a red headed captain - a red headed leader - think again

I can see plenty of Footy Show appearances for Tonguey - which will only educate the dumb idiots, that read Gould's articles

Tonguey has already been praised for his rednutness - from Fatty

Now with the (c) - I can see plenty more exposure from the Fat

I know it means sh*t, but for once I may have to catch the Footy Show more often.

thickos

woodgers said:
Great news.

Go on Tonguey! 5 years ago he was doing a mechanics apprenticeship at CIT with my mate, now he is captain of our beloved Raiders and reigning top tackler in the league. Well done to the man! I for one am thrilled that he got the job and is fit of the honour.

I believe him too, it won't change him at all I reckon.

It'll change him, he'll take the added responsibility and become an even more complete player. I can't see it burdening him at all, he'll love the fact he got chosen and it will make him play even harder I reckon.

Top choice.