Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Tony Williams is on Parramatta's wanted list for 2013

MrT

Where did you get the $300k figure from?

Just because he was our number 1 target doesn't mean we offered him top dollar. He might have been our number 1 target because he offered good value at a lower price than Poore and Fui.

$400k sounds right for Williams (though I reckon some club will be desperate enough to throw $500k at him, which means that will become his price) but there's no way anyone would offer $300k for a non-representative prop, especially not us. Maybe we dropped off him because his asking price got too high. That's what happens when there's a lot of clubs interested in a player.

Seeing where Kearney learnt his trade, and looking at how he's recruited so far, we'll only be throwing top dollar (overs if you prefer that idiot term) at spine players.

LUSSICK'S BONDI BOUND
But wait, there's more. Canterbury and Parramatta have both offered Darcy Lussick about $270,000 a season for his services but the smart money is on the Manly enforcer joining Sonny Bill Williams at - yep, you guessed it - the Roosters in 2013. The Chooks are adamant their first priority is re-signing another former Manly enforcer, Jared Waerea-Hargreaves, but The Inside Back understands the New Zealand international prop is causing friction with his heightened asking price for next season. Roosters recruitment officer Peter O'Sullivan conceded the club was interested in Lussick but couldn't afford he and Waerea-Hargreaves. The mail from every direction is Lussick has all but got the nod.

http://www.smh.com.au/rugby-league/...th-raiders-20120229-1u3jn.html?skin=text-only

Whatever amount the media's reporting, subtract about 20-25% - The truth is never as outrageous as the details those merkins report.

$250k is the upper limit of what Lussick is worth, at least under the current cap. With plenty of clubs chasing him he could probably get $300k but I doubt we'd be the ones giving it to him.

ParraAds

Whatever amount the media's reporting, subtract about 20-25% - The truth is never as outrageous as the details those merkins report.

$250k is the upper limit of what Lussick is worth, at least under the current cap. With plenty of clubs chasing him he could probably get $300k but I doubt we'd be the ones giving it to him.

So DCE was only on about $60k before his upgrade... poor bastard.

If we could buy back any 2 ex-eels for 2013, who would they be?

I would choose Williams and Mateo. Both Parra jnrs and both gone onto better things since leaving Parramatta. And both fill our most desperate area of need IMHO.
williams and kingston

Why should anyone believe you ? Maybe you have NFI too ?

TBH the only one around here that has any credibility is Hasman. What do you say about this Roy ?

Parra Pride

In other signing news, Manly made bold steps towards retaining Foran with an upgraded deal.

On top of securing halfback Daly Cherry-Evans until 2015 last week, Manly officials have obtained additional third-party agreements that allowed them to compete with cashed-up Canterbury. They are also making innovative moves to further develop Foran's booming game with additional training support.

International back-rower Tony Williams now appears most likely to be squeezed out, with offers from Canterbury and Parramatta upping his asking price.

http://m.dailytelegraph.com.au/spor...ng-to-the-tigers/story-e6frexnr-1226312931498

#ComeHomeTRex

1 Eyed TEZZA

Well, everyone "in the know" here says that we have no chance.

I haven't been able to get as involved with the game as I used to but I'd love to know why we seem to struggle attracting star talent as opposed to a team like the Titans.

My gut feeling is that we just aren't going for them.

The attraction of living on the Gold Coast would probably offset the fact they are as s**t a club as us on the field.

Well, everyone "in the know" here says that we have no chance.

I haven't been able to get as involved with the game as I used to but I'd love to know why we seem to struggle attracting star talent as opposed to a team like the Titans.

My gut feeling is that we just aren't going for them.

I suspect we're being very disciplined with the chequebook.

We are identifying targets, setting a value on them and making the approach. Unfortunately there are clubs more desperate for players and they are coming in with bigger offers that we are unwilling to match.

We might also have already signed a couple but keeping it dark so as not to disrupt the current squad.

The attraction of living on the Gold Coast would probably offset the fact they are as s**t a club as us on the field.

Have you ever been to the Gold Coast?

Nice place to visit but I wouldn't want to live there. Sydney is much better. And I don't like Sydney.

There's one reason people move to the Gold Coast, and that's because they can't afford to live in Sydney or Melbourne.

Have you ever been to the Gold Coast?

Nice place to visit but I wouldn't want to live there. Sydney is much better. And I don't like Sydney.

There's one reason people move to the Gold Coast, and that's because they can't afford to live in Sydney or Melbourne.

I've lived in Sydney and it's frustrating to live in too, even the west is getting worse. Perhaps it's a lot worse since you lived here. I've been to the Gold Coast many a time, I can understand why players would want to go there though. Especially guys in their mid twenties who want to live 10 minutes from the beach and enjoy the party lifestyle that is there. Or then there are family men who want their kids to grow up in a more relaxed area as opposed to the hustle and bustle of Sydney.

TheRam

Who's offering $300k for Lussick? If we didn't offer Taumalolo overs there's no way we'd be throwing it at Lussick.

Josh Massoud ran a live questions segment on the DT website today. According to him Ben Te'o was looking at coming to Parra but is now likely to stay at Brisbane and we have made a ridiculous offer to Lussick that has even made the Roosters blush.

oldmancraigy

There was no guarantee he was going to turn into a good player though, for all we knew it could have turned into a situation similar to Karl Filiga going to the sharks on big money and turning out to be a dud.

#HindsightIsWonderful

It was 150k mate.

That's an average first graders salary! The only reason we didn't match him was because we wanted to upgrade those other 3 nuffies.

It's not hindsight - at the time plenty of people were saying "what the hey?" (hay in parrapetes case)

I mean, if you have the option to upgrade a big, strong, fast, 18 year old, or keep 3 slow, weak and small 20 year olds who have already looked ordinary in first grade, what do you do???

Personally I reckon we could find an Oake anywhere (small prop who gets smashed)
Tautai's grow on trees (slow centres who can't hold the ball)
And Hauraki? (sub par first grade talent all round)

Doesn't take "hindsight" to know that at the time it was poor player retention.

[good call was made on Albert Kelly on the other hand - miniscule 5/8 who can't tackle, kick or playmake --> do NOT offer 150k]

This stuff isn't rocket science...

oldmancraigy

Josh Massoud ran a live questions segment on the DT website today. According to him Ben Te'o was looking at coming to Parra but is now likely to stay at Brisbane and we have made a ridiculous offer to Lussick that has even made the Roosters blush.

Well I'd be in for Lussick.

We'd be "saving" real money since 300k is less than Poore makes. And Lussick is going to be an excellent first grader. Size, speed and skills.

Mind you, I'd rather we spend the dough on a backrower!

TheRam

I suspect we're being very disciplined with the chequebook.

We are identifying targets, setting a value on them and making the approach. Unfortunately there are clubs more desperate for players and they are coming in with bigger offers that we are unwilling to match.

We might also have already signed a couple but keeping it dark so as not to disrupt the current squad.

Are you kidding me, more desperate then us???

Now I've heard it all.

If other teams can pay $4-500 000 for him and fit him into their roster, especially a team like the dogs, then we should be able to piss it in considering the players we have on ours.

Pou, look around mate, our roster is a joke next to at least half the other squads in the NRL.