Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

top 8

well seeing that the radiers beat bronco's we will not be in top 8 on f/a and it also looks like the knights will beat manly this could see us down to 10th

Tigerpete

add the bye that the sharks have had , makes us 11th. Either that or the table i saw was updated and had included the sharks bye.

Kid

It's going to take a massive effort for us to make the 8. F/A has hurt us really bad.

Tigerpete

yeah, 2 weeks ago we were sweet, no we really need to make sure we beat those canberra's and other teams around the 8.

hmm we could win at least 5 more games (canberra/manly/parra/souths and nth qld) anyway heres our draw for the next 10 rnds

RND 17: vs Canberra (away)
RND 18: vs Manly (away)
RND 19: vs Melbourne (home)
RND 20: vs Bulldogs (home)
RND 21: vs Parramatta (away)
RND 22: vs Souths (home)
RND 23: BYE
RND 24: vs Brisbane (away)
RND 25: vs Nth Qld (home)
RND 26: vs Newcastle (away)

Vicious

joel caine number 1 fan said:
hmm we could win at least 5 more games (canberra/manly/parra/souths and nth qld) anyway heres our draw for the next 10 rnds

That is a good draw!No excuses if we can`t win 5 of them games.30 points would just about make the 8,but we would need to start showing a big improvement or making the finals could be more embarassment than it`s worth!

westie

Canberra: Beatable

Manly: Beatable

Melb at home: Beatable. Storm have nothing away from home.

Bulldogs: Tough game we can afford to drop. Although as we have seen before; this is a game that could easily turn our way.

Parra: Beatable

Souths: Beatable

Brisbane at Suncorp: A game we can afford to drop. Brisbane's record at home is far from desirable and many lower teams have taken it to them up there.

Cowboys: Beatable

Newcastle: Beatable. Not what they were.

Say we lose to Brisbane and the Bulldogs; we end up on 32 points (i think :oops: ) This will easily get us into the 8 and allow us to drop 2 or 3 games to lower sides. Not as hard as the dark siders are predicting.

11Straight

I reckon you guys can win 7 out of the 10 remaining games if you can find some attacking options sure you have leaked quite a few points but once you guys find the right formula in attack everything will fall into place and i can see you causing quite a few upsets.

Vicious

RED_WHITE_DYNAMITE_04 said:
I reckon you guys can win 7 out of the 10 remaining games if you can find some attacking options sure you have leaked quite a few points but once you guys find the right formula in attack everything will fall into place and i can see you causing quite a few upsets.
Thanks mate,now if you can just convince the Dragons management to release a couple of your good young forwards to us,that wouldn`t be a problem! :p :p :p

westie said:

Bulldogs: Tough game we can afford to drop. Although as we have seen before; this is a game that could easily turn our way.

Brisbane at Suncorp: A game we can afford to drop. Brisbane's record at home is far from desirable and many lower teams have taken it to them up there.

Say we lose to Brisbane and the Bulldogs; we end up on 32 points (i think :oops: ) This will easily get us into the 8 and allow us to drop 2 or 3 games to lower sides. Not as hard as the dark siders are predicting.

I do agree with you to an extent, but how confident can you honestly be about those 'beatables'?

We could, quite possibly..... looking at that draw not see another win this season.

When you type it up in black n white and put a positive spin on things, you can make anything look good.

There are realists and optimists and negatists? in this world...all have a case.

Only time will tell.

westie

innsaneink said:
westie said:

I do agree with you to an extent, but how confident can you honestly be about those 'beatables'?

We could, quite possibly..... looking at that draw not see another win this season.

When you type it up in black n white and put a positive spin on things, you can make anything look good.

There are realists and optimists and negatists? in this world...all have a case.

Only time will tell.

Obviously we will drop atleast a game or two to some of the lower sides and i wouldnt be too shocked if we knocked off both both brisbane and the bulldogs. Whether or not we come out with enough wins remain to be seen. If we perform like we did in the first half of the year we will make the 8.

scotty_87

I agree that it is a favourable run home from here in and by rights we should make the finals in 7th or 8th place. But there are a number of things that could change and see us win or lose games we're not meant to.

Of course there's the form of our team as we approach each match. Then there's the present form of our opponents. There's player form, injuries and suspensions from both teams and there's also the chance that - like the past two weeks - we'll come out strong, not score and play shithouse for the rest of the night.

I think a good way to examine the games would be to look at what the other teams would think when they play us. And I'd say that no team would ever concede defeat prior to running out against us unfortunately, whilst some [ie. Bulldogs] would expect nothing less than a win. To be fair dinkum, I reckon we'll struggle to beat the Dogs and Broncs, with Melbourne and Newcastle danger games.

However, we also have turned in shit performances against teams like Souths this year so trying to predict how we'll go is virtually impossible. However, it's undoubted that if we can find a few more tries and get back the defensive strength from much of the season would should win at least 5 or 6 and that should put us in the finals.

As has been said - only time will tell.

Trollhammaren

That is probably the best run home we could have, no Roosters or Dragons games and only one against Souths :p

We play better as extreme underdogs and I think we'll probably drop 4 or 5 of those games, giving us a shot at the 8.