Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Tottenham Hotspur: "To Dare Is To Do" II

So the fact that he had been a Real Madrid fan since he was a kid had nothing to do with it ?

Jason Maher

I reckon I'd rather have Bale instead of 100 million quid or Ronaldo instead of 80 million quid. Players of that class are few and far between, and no matter how much money you get for them, they are nearly impossible to replace.

Deacon

Lol come on, scoring the winning goal in a cup final does not prove you're worth 100 million :p

Have you seen the goal. Only other player that could score that would be Ronaldo. From a Real Madrid point of view that purchase was a bargain

80M or 100M whats the difference ?

like JM said, they win you games you pay what you have to to get them to your club

I'm sure if Ronaldo was Spurs player Levy would have got half the Spanish Royal family to chip in their life savings to get him to Madrid

Helmet Man

Lol come on, scoring the winning goal in a cup final does not prove you're worth 100 million :p
if the goal wins you a cup then why not? Ronaldo won the cup with a header last year and Bale won it for the team with that sublime run. It goes to show that special players win you the special games.

saint.nick

Here's my thinking...if he won you the La Liga or Champions League, then yes, but what I'm wondering is that should the Copa Del Rey cost you 100 million to win? Relative to the current footballing landscape, Bale's intrinsic value is around 70-80 million- *arguably* even less, but i'll settle for 70-80 million.

But yeah, I see your point Twizzle, when you're Real Madrid, you can pay whatever the f*** you want I guess, it's just pocket money.

Deacon

Here's my thinking...if he won you the La Liga or Champions League, then yes, but what I'm wondering is that should the Copa Del Rey cost you 100 million to win? Relative to the current footballing landscape, Bale's intrinsic value is around 70-80 million- *arguably* even less, but i'll settle for 70-80 million.

But yeah, I see your point Twizzle, when you're Real Madrid, you can pay whatever the f*** you want I guess, it's just pocket money.

Hes been there all of 5 minutes mate and hes already showing his worth, still plenty of time for him to win those other trophies which will no doubt happen. I still think in the long term 100 million will be a drop in the ocean with what he'll make them in revenue back

saint.nick

If he keeps winning them heaps of silverware, which will be probable given that Barca is on the slide, you'll have no argument from me.