Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Trial 1: Panthers vs Newcastle

Munky

Kilkenny said:
We missed Brett Firman's kicking game.

f**k are we in trouble.

If we miss 30 metre kicks going straight down the fullbacks throat what are we going to get from Gower, Trindall and Wallace?

mxlegend99

macavity said:
[/LIST]If your "very strong" "top 8" squad was outmuscled by our JF pack, you have major issues.
Actually, it was our juniors with Craig Gower that were outmuscled. With 15 minutes to go, the scores were locked at 18 a piece.

Knights like winning feeling

February 24, 2007

NEWCASTLE Knights emerged 30-18 victors over Penrith Panthers in an NRL trial in water-logged Darwin.

Newcastle opened strongly when Kurt Gidley converted his own try inside five minutes.

Brad Tighe also crossed for the Knights, but it was Penrith who led 12-10 at the half through tries to Paul Aiton and Trent Waterhouse.

Then the heavens opened, but the standard didn't drop after the break, both sides displaying good ball control in monsoonal conditions.

Newcastle, hampered by the absence of stars Andrew Johns and Danny Buderus, scored first again in the second half when Cory Paterson went over.

Penrith hit back through Geoff Daniela and the score was 18-18 with 15 minutes left on the clock.

Then Newcastle's rising star, 19-year-old five-eighth Jarrod Mullen, showed both athleticism and leadership to steer the Knights home.

The youngster led from the front, alongside Terrence Seu Seu, who scored a double.

Panthers coach Mathew Elliot said the loss allowed him to pinpoint gaps in their game that he could fill before the season proper begins.

"We just need to work on a few things so it was good for us in that respect," Elliot said.

"A large part of the result was Newcastle's superior kicking game and our inability to hang onto the pill."

Knights coach Brian Smith welcomed back that winning feeling.

"We can't help ourselves, everyone likes to win, it feels better," Smith said.
Knights played a great game, and the Panthers youngsters were no match for them. Even with Craig Gower steering them around the field. While it worries me we lost, trials are meant for a bit of experimenting... and the fact we gave as many young fellas a run as we did, really makes me happy. It would have been great if they hadn't gotten owned though. :p

I'm looking forward to our team making the top 8 this year. We still have Michael Jennings, Peewee Moke, Brett Firman, Shane Rodney, Frank Pritchard to come back. We aren't going to be running our team around with 10+ youngsters on the field during the season. The trial was to see how these guys handled a bit of first grade footy. Goeff Daniela done a pretty good job in scoring a try. SO until Michael Jennings or Peewee Moke stepup, he could find himself on the wing for our first grade team.

Panthagrey

Trials are just that ...A game to pinpoint the mistakes and rectify them in coming games and to blood younger players and let them show of their talent my god if we look at the past coupla years where we have won trials only to finish outside the 10 well this could be a good omen for a change...:D :cool:

choc_soldier

A good little hit out by the sounds of it. The fact that we lost doesn't concern me at all.

The Titans on Friday will be a good gauge, though. They've had two solid hit outs, and over ran the Eels in the last 20 last night.

Big Mick

Titan you are a serial pest and I do wish you'd piss off.

We were 18-14 ahead at 3 quarter time. The youngesters then took the stage with hardly any first graders aside from Gower there.

Lets wait till we play the Titans with a reduced squad before we past judgement

Panthagrey

It was reported like this by Rob Weaver on PI....

Penrith 18-14 after 60 mins. Horrific rain - like watee polo,

I havent as yet read that in any article but if Rob is wrong well then so be it....:sarcasm:

Fibroman

I'm still in Darwin and just ducked into an old mate's place to jump on the internet.

I tell you, it is bloody hot up here!

I was on the p155 with Gowie a couple of Saturday's ago. Luckily I didn't tag along with him and the boys into the Cross, but the pig seem's all fired up for a few Darwin stubbies tonight.

I am very confident that the Pennies will be top four this year.

Kilkenny

Caged Panther said:
I think alot of people seem to have completely misread the tone of kilkenny's post.

Clearly Kilkenny's tounge in cheek and feeble attempt at humour has alluded most if not all persons viewing this thread.

Panthagrey

I got that you tried to be humorous Killkenny just didnt respond to it but meant no offense by this post...:b: :b: :D

Dave Q

If Elliot is pulling off the talent in a close game, nobody should be the slightest bit worried about the result.

Smith didnt leave his two best players out because he an argument with his wife either.

I'd be interested to see how Franze and Polglase went.

In the meantime, the sharks send out their Grand Final side against a 'b grade' rabbitoh outfit and their form forward Gallen regrettably gets an injury. You'd rather had lost the wretched match.

Except for injuries, nobody cares about trial matches when the whistle blows in round one.

mxlegend99

Dave Q said:
If Elliot is pulling off the talent in a close game, nobody should be the slightest bit worried about the result.

Smith didnt leave his two best players out because he an argument with his wife either.

I'd be interested to see how Franze and Polglase went.

In the meantime, the sharks send out their Grand Final side against a 'b grade' rabbitoh outfit and their form forward Gallen regrettably gets an injury. You'd rather had lost the wretched match.

Except for injuries, nobody cares about trial matches when the whistle blows in round one.

All very good points.

The best news to hear is that we had no injuries. The worst news would have been to hear a key player has suffered an injury... in a match that meant nothing.

Hopefully we have the same luck next weekend, even if we have to rest our key players (Wesser, Gower, Priddis specifically)

Dave Q

TITAN1 said:
Sharks?
Grand final?

They'd like to think so!

Hey, I loved the water polo analogy. Rob sure knows his sports!

Elliot scoffed at suggestions the hero's should play on for the sakes of the fans and sponsers.

The big 'dont argue' at the less enlightened of fans and the media.

If any of the hero's should so happened to have gotten injured, that would happen then?

As for the sharks, you wait, Ricky wont be able to resist ressurecting the 10 game losing
combination of Dykes and Noddy.

Thats a record even my beloved rabbitohs would have been proud of in days gone past!

Mark my words my cheeky friend, this time, much to Stuart Rapers disgust, it will work.

It'll be the biggest call since Elliot decided to let Gowie play on. Match fitness-cant beat it. But oh so dangerous.;-)

Dave Q

mxlegend99 said:
All very good points.

The best news to hear is that we had no injuries. The worst news would have been to hear a key player has suffered an injury... in a match that meant nothing.

Hopefully we have the same luck next weekend, even if we have to rest our key players (Wesser, Gower, Priddis specifically)

Yeah, this time of year is hazardous for form.

Except for the Sharks, most of the sides selected are a dogs breakfast.

A number of players who are red-hot now will turn into cactus by Round 1 and vice versa.

The big panther forwards (now a touch slimmer) need a good rest to freshen up.

Feet up boys. Tis a long season.

Kilkenny

Kilkenny said:
Fibroman, just rang me from the Darwin Sherton Hotel, after getting back from the game and he assures me there's nothing to worry about!

There were a few issues to come out of the game which according to Fibroman included;

• The ref had a Barry Crocker.
  • Our tactics of playing dry weather football in monsoon conditions were flawed.
  • We missed Brett Firman's kicking game.
  • It was hard for the players to motivate themselves against the Knights Jersey Flegg side.
  • The late kick off time couple with the fact the casino closes at midnight effected our players concentration.
  • It will take time for the three on field captains to gel as apparently they used the papers, scissors and rock method to make crucial on field decisions.
  • The players were worn out from the intensive fitness training they have undergone in the off season.
  • We were outmuscled by the much bigger Knights pack!
There just a few of Fibroman's thoughts on the game.

His main gripe is apparently there are no licenced premises open in Darwin after midnight?

Can I have some feedback on how many supporters on this forum did NOT recognise the tounge in cheek nature of this post!

Occasionally, you just have to make light of things and just try and have a laugh!

Had a few critical personal messages which make you wonder whether it's worth trying to have a joke or two!