Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Trial 2 v Warriors

The unknown

LL is a better edge forward than Matterson. Aloiai and Musgrove were great in the middle. Reynolds didn't make a mistake and scored our only try. Joey, Benji and LL on that right edge are dangerous. We need the left edge to fire as well.

I want to see AD out there as well. Nofo could be in trouble. He made a terrible read in defence.

All our forwards were actually pretty decent. Even Lawrence and ET I thought played some pretty good minutes

AD looked pretty lost at fullback but I’ll give him the benefit of the doubt because he’s literally only been here 2 mins. He looks like a natural footy player though

BJ is a freak, sure he has the odd brain fart but he does more good than bad

Few good selection headaches for Maguire

A good hit out and no major injuries so mission accomplished.

There were some promising signs. The only time we looked troubled on our own line was Nofo's brain snap.

I'm not sure what to think of the 9 conundrum. Walters gives good service and has a bit of sleight of hand which Reynolds doesn't have. I would have liked to have seen Walters have a crack from dummy half in his first stint. As soon as Reynolds came on the tempo lifted and he does add that spark.

AD looked good under the only high ball directed at him. We dominated the second half and they didn't kick to him much so it's hard to get read on him yet. Thommo gave a Thommo performance in his stint.

Like you guys I'm not sure what to do on our left side. Jennings actually looked like he was interested and wanted to have a go today. I'm judging that on last years performances so it's not saying much. Momo or Mybe? Where does Talau fit in?

The only negative was that until Benji left the field Brooks was rubbish. Benji did look extra sharp though.

Mostly its just good to have some options and players fighting over spots for a change.

Bring on round 1.

Well, we came, we absorbed and we conquered.
Much better 2nd half, can't believe the raiders let BJ go, he is going to give us some good times.
I thought Douiehi looked a bit lost at FB and Thommo just played his game, not sure what Madge will do here?

I thought Jennings went well and Nofo stuffed up defensively. Douiehi didn't look great but I'd go with him and drop Nofo. Thompson has to be in the team.

I can't believe we got both Leilua's. They are quality players.

We were dominant the whole game as well. We had outside backs and forwards who looked dangerous. If our spine gets it together and we have some luck we could go a little better than 9th.

Tigers4ever

Afters today trial my round 1 team will be
1. Thompson
2. Nofo
3. BJ
4. AD
5. Jennings
6. Marshal
7. Brooks
8. Mikaele
9. Walters
10. Twal
11. Garner
12. Luciano
13. Aloiai

14. Reynolds
15. Musgrove
16. Clark
17. Taylor

players unlucky to miss out but provide good depth
1. MCK
2. Mbye
3. Talau
4. Sayfarth can’t spell his name lol
5. Eisenhuth
And more players I can’t think off at the moment that might surprise

JB04

Think after today Taylor played himself into the 13 jersey. He was great. Also noticed as good as Aloiai is, he does get gassed pretty easily. Think he’s also best suited on the bench for impact
Think I’d go:
13. Taylor
15. Aloiai

gordynz

Taylor did play well but I wouldn't be changing that starting pack unless Madge all of a sudden decides Aloiai cant play lock. I think Taylor misses out altogether.

The backline is still a toss up. Mbye the cat is going to be in there somewhere which I dont agree with and it looks as though Madge is pretty happy with Jennings over Momo. I dont think that starting 13 will change a hell of a lot as those players fighting for positions didnt really have standout performances. Below is my wishlist for round 1 but it wont happen by the looks of the combinations today.

1. Doueihi
2. Nofoaluma
3. B. Leilua
4. Momirovski
5. Thompson
6. Marshall
7. Brooks
8. Mikaele
9. Walters
10. Twal
11. Garner
12. L. Leilua
13. Aloiai

14. Reynolds
15. Musgrove
16. Clark
17. Chee-Kam

WA Tiger

A good hit out and no major injuries so mission accomplished.

There were some promising signs. The only time we looked troubled on our own line was Nofo's brain snap.

I'm not sure what to think of the 9 conundrum. Walters gives good service and has a bit of sleight of hand which Reynolds doesn't have. I would have liked to have seen Walters have a crack from dummy half in his first stint. As soon as Reynolds came on the tempo lifted and he does add that spark.

AD looked good under the only high ball directed at him. We dominated the second half and they didn't kick to him much so it's hard to get read on him yet. Thommo gave a Thommo performance in his stint.

Like you guys I'm not sure what to do on our left side. Jennings actually looked like he was interested and wanted to have a go today. I'm judging that on last years performances so it's not saying much. Momo or Mybe? Where does Talau fit in?

The only negative was that until Benji left the field Brooks was rubbish. Benji did look extra sharp though.

Mostly its just good to have some options and players fighting over spots for a change.

Bring on round 1.
Spot on ..Walters had a slick pass but was a non event and so was Talau again..Towards the start of the game I saw nothing much to get excited about so a bit concerned but then after that I felt a lot better..Both Leilua’s added where we expected but wow in the first game hopefully they inspire each other on the field. I can see what you mean by AD is a ball player ...that holding up the pass twice then firing a sharp playmakers backward angled pass to start an attack..I really hope Madge has got him on weights tho he is close to scrawny. I didn’t notice Nofo’s mistake at all sorry, I must have rationalised it haha..Nofo is fast unless Peter Hiku is slow. Reynolds scored a try I will find no fault with ..see him take over the rev up session mid game ..Garners just warming up. Him and Brooke’s see to have the the link pass down. The forwards looked great. Oliver clerk put on one particular carry with the ball that showed attitude, he seems to have the size. Aloiai hasn’t changed. The big boppers were great although I think McKaele has far better opportunity’s to pass and doesnt than the one today I would call that a blunder with no room for error the ball went to ground. I thought Nofo was great today some strong carries through heavy traffic.

Afters today trial my round 1 team will be
1. Thompson
2. Nofo
3. BJ
4. AD
5. Jennings
6. Marshal
7. Brooks
8. Mikaele
9. Walters
10. Twal
11. Garner
12. Luciano
13. Aloiai

14. Reynolds
15. Musgrove
16. Clark
17. Taylor

players unlucky to miss out but provide good depth
1. MCK
2. Mbye
3. Talau
4. Sayfarth can’t spell his name lol
5. Eisenhuth
And more players I can’t think off at the moment that might surprise
Good side, only thought would be if Momo's fit, I think he will be in the side, IMO for Jennings, with AD to wing and Momo to centre.

Think after today Taylor played himself into the 13 jersey. He was great. Also noticed as good as Aloiai is, he does get gassed pretty easily. Think he’s also best suited on the bench for impact
Think I’d go:
13. Taylor
15. Aloiai

I reckon Aloiai was great but I've always preferred him off the bench. He is one of our gun forwards but we have a few now. Madge seems to be going for forwards who can dent the line and have impact. ET was great though.

It was a good solid training run for both sides in terms of fitness and showcasing some skills.

El grub should be on a high after the timely end of his personal issues and i get the sense he’s eager to make his mark despite being shopped around in dark alleys. I don’t think anyone would be unhappy if he can regain his form. You can see glimpses every now and again. He’s not quite right, but thankfully, the good periods are getting longer in duration. At his peak, he has reached heights most players will never reach, so if he keep on this upwards trajectory, he will the first player selected at the back end of the year. No one would begrudge him that, but he needs to want it more than anyone has wanted anything.

Bj wasn’t getting along with Ricky and the Raiders recruitment has done too good a job to keep him and their core current and next big thing players. One of the things I’ve liked about their recruitment in the last few years is that they have taken calculated risks with unknowns and youth and it’s paid off handsomely.

Just imagine if we had chanze nicoll klockstad as a fullback option.

I might add, that I saw the beginnings of a quality backline in the trial. As soft and feeble as it was at times, Nofo seemed to have stuck a hand up from the grave and into the fresh air.

A bit of size and vigour in the backline is a cheery sight.

Long live destination tigers, lets give the nay sayers and the dickheads in the media who have written us off this year a solid smack around the footy chops!

Off- topic, but shout out to old mate’s family who passed away from the virus on the ship. Could be me or you lads...better call off the olympics etc.

I reckon Aloiai was great but I've always preferred him off the bench. He is one of our gun forwards but we have a few now. Madge seems to be going for forwards who can dent the line and have impact. ET was great though.

One of my favourite tigers. One of the few players we have, who can be anything he wants.

It’s going to be up to Madge and the staff to help him reach his amazing potential and consistently too.

Good side, only thought would be if Momo's fit, I think he will be in the side, IMO for Jennings, with AD to wing and Momo to centre.
That’s what I’d do Tigerm.

Mybe was hurt today
With 12 players rested from last week's trial against the Penrith Panthers, Wests Tigers were forced to dig in to their reserves early in the contest with captain Moses Mbye forced off with an HIA and knee injury that will require further assessment when back in Australia.
so hopefully Madge ‘rests’ :wink: him for Round 1.

macnaz

OK Josh doesnt look like your typical 9 in the way he offloads the ball from dummy half ...BUT I will say looking at today's game his years of experience definately demonstrated he knew exactly where the ball needed to go , even if it was sloppy getting there it got there ! Also he has the ability to drop back into the halves if needed. Walter's played well and looks to be a future prospect but in comparison to Reynolds his overall game isnt quite there yet.

HM
Zane Musgrove

10 runs for 122m
40 post contact metres (team high)
18 tackles (0 missed)

For a bloke that’s been out of it for 2 years he has had 2 pretty impressive trials

I didn’t realize how big he was, guy is a monster! Very happy with him, will come off the bench round 1 but wouldn’t surprise if he forces his way into the starting side before long.

I can’t believe opposition supporters don’t rate our pack, sure we don’t have an out and out star but as a whole it’s definetly one of the better ones in the comp.

I didn’t realize how big he was, guy is a monster! Very happy with him, will come off the bench round 1 but wouldn’t surprise if he forces his way into the starting side before long.

I can’t believe opposition supporters don’t rate our pack, sure we don’t have an out and out star but as a whole it’s definetly one of the better ones in the comp.
Probably good that others don't rate them, gives them something to prove.
Agree with Musgrove, he is going to become a real good one.

Wily Ole Dog

Zane is a good player as Maguire is aware from his past

WA Tiger

Brooke’s did his old run and grubber at the same time trick that He thinks is cute but he always fks it up, too long this time he needs to just stop and kick and forget that one, he can’t afford to do that on game day,