Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Trial vs Newcastle Thread

Was good enough to get us into the top 4 last year and we have added 2 big boppers in Evans and Williams (when fit). Not sure what the concern is.

Don’t know mate, 4th was great. But I’d like to win a GF as well. You honestly think Mannah and Alavaro can win us a GF? Was reading a stat the other day, that last year our forwards finished last for post contact meters gained. I wouldn’t mind another decent front rower.

I will say our backline does look amazing with Hayne’s name there.

Don’t know mate, 4th was great. But I’d like to win a GF as well. You honestly think Mannah and Alavaro can win us a GF? Was reading a stat the other day, that last year our forwards finished last for post contact meters gained. I wouldn’t mind another decent front rower.

They might (just) be good enough to allow our backs to win one. But I'd prefer to have one more big fat tall merkin of a prop in the mix.

Don’t know mate, 4th was great. But I’d like to win a GF as well. You honestly think Mannah and Alavaro can win us a GF?
As long as they have 15 team mates on the day. You don't think worse forwards than those two have won premierships? It's a team game.
Was reading a stat the other day, that last year our forwards finished last for post contact meters gained.
Actually we were third last, and runaway premiers Melbourne were fifth last. There are other ways to win footy matches than just going up the middle. Our middle forwards were also responsible for this:
In defence though, Parramatta did concede the second-fewest post-contact metres in 2017 at 468 metres a game.
https://www.nrl.com/news/2018/02/12...amatta-eels-must-improve-post-contact-metres/
I wouldn’t mind another decent front rower.
We already have plenty of decent middle forwards, and who knows how good Evans can be. But every team could be improved, including ours.
And the rest of them. Best edges in the comp for mine.

Maybe Tepai's days on an edge are now over with him being looked at as a middle forward only.

I felt like towards the end of the season Tepai started to bust tackles and become a dangerous type of 2md rower. His body has become trimmer and more muscle and I expect a big season from him.
Taka is however a first grade player so unsure how some didnt have him in the 17.

I like the idea because I like Moreoa but I have zero respect for the concept of edge forwards.

They are the cats of rugby league in my opinion. Build your game around running at halves and centres? Real brave.

Arent they running against other 2nd rowers as well?

Manu throws rubbish passes often, Edwards crabs across field far too often and Taka is unproven as an edge forward. I do agree however that Teps is a better player than the others. This is my point.

Taka played edge at Roosters. His power game offload will be perfect to return. He love to run diagnal which gets him yards. At centre it often cramped the winger.

IMO KE is the best of the lot. I reckon this year he will prove it. My pick for best forward at club for 2018.

I like loud, aggresive and grubby forwards. Tepai and Manu are hard nuts. But KE,Taka,Scott I feel have bit more mongrel and energy to fire up the team. It gives them an edge in defense or when teams behind or needs a little pick me up.
Tepai and Manu maybe better NRL players but I dont see them getting under the skins of the other team and weakneing them mentally.

Kane Evans adds size we also have Vave and T rex if they fet fit.

Evans could be good and we’ll see what TREX brings (if he’s on) but Vave was just average in many games last year. He should be dominating but seems either lazy or not fit enough.

Gazzamatta

Some talk of Teps "finding his voice this pre season". Im expecting a huge season from Teps. I really hope Manu finds his 2016 form this season. I love KE but he is always one brain snap from being on everyones shit list.
Beau is a legend and Takas move does have me excited
All in all a very exciting group there.

Taka played edge at Roosters. His power game offload will be perfect to return. He love to run diagnal which gets him yards. At centre it often cramped the winger.

IMO KE is the best of the lot. I reckon this year he will prove it. My pick for best forward at club for 2018.
I think Edwards is probably the best attacker of the four. His defence and workrate aren't bad either.

As long as they have 15 team mates on the day. You don't think worse forwards than those two have won premierships? It's a team game.

Actually we were third last, and runaway premiers Melbourne were fifth last. There are other ways to win footy matches than just going up the middle. Our middle forwards were also responsible for this:

https://www.nrl.com/news/2018/02/12...amatta-eels-must-improve-post-contact-metres/
We already have plenty of decent middle forwards, and who knows how good Evans can be. But every team could be improved, including ours.
And the rest of them. Best edges in the comp for mine.

I just think that our starting front rowers at best would only make the bench of other teams. Not good enough, not together anyway.

Gazzamatta

It will also be interesting to see how much our condition effected last seasons poorer stats. Fingers crossed the new guy has improved the boys fitness. Generally our second halfs were less productive last year. If we replicate last seasons first half efforts into both halfs we will be unstopable this year.

I just think that our starting front rowers at best would only make the bench of other teams. Not good enough, not together anyway.
The bench doesn't mean they're worse. Nelson Asofa-Solomona comes off the bench for the Storm and he is their most damaging runner. Edwards is probably our best attacking forward and the coach prefers him off the bench too.

Edwards is one of the most underrated bench forwards in the comp, because he's a merkin and unliked he doesn't get the props he deserves.