Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

TV ratings Rabbitohs vs Roosters

insert.pause

The 9 stations in southern states only recently came under ownership of 9, may change things in the future, particularly when the NRL puts 9 over a barrel in the rights negotiations now they don't have f&l rights.

elbusto

The 9 stations in southern states only recently came under ownership of 9, may change things in the future, particularly when the NRL puts 9 over a barrel in the rights negotiations now they don't have f&l rights.

The coverage we get here in Tassie is now fantastic

Diesel

Well done channel 9 merkins, you certainly do rugby league best for the sake of the other codes in non-heartland markets

insert.pause

Well done channel 9 merkins, you certainly do rugby league best for the sake of the other codes in non-heartland markets

can you imagine being a souths supporter in perth and the bunnies finally win and instead of getting to see the historic moment of them lifting the trophy they cut to some bullshit repeat. devastating.

Starkers

who knows mate, who knows.

i've said elsewhere that this TV contract is one that the NRL just has to suck up and cop. the first and last rights clause, in my view, was the biggest hindrance on the rights and to have it removed will be an enormous windfall for the game in 3 years time.

ch7 seems to have the AFL in lockdown and will continue to do so. ch10 bidding on it will mean an incremental increase in their rights value. if i was ch10, i would see ch9 as vulnerable to a losing part of the NRL rights.

ch9 is struggling financially and there is backlash to their coverage of the sport. ch10 must surely know it's an easier target to get winter sports content and will go some way to prising that out of ch9 & fox sports hands i think.

meanwhile, AFL fans seem happy with their ch7/fox dual coverage and that will likely continue. as fans it sucks now, but there is light at the end of the tunnel.

in the meantime, the NRL needs to get a few things in order. fix the reffing, look for expansion and implement changes at the junior level to see a streamlining of juniors via a draft. if they're all in place by 2016, or at least a plan for this to take place, then we're sweet.

and all the rest will take care of itself.

gallagher

Perth & Adelaide will cut from the GF as soon as the siren sounds, disgraceful.

I'm not surprised. They've been doing that all the way through the finals. Theres nothing like going from a geat game like Chooks Penriff then straight into antiques roadshow,The Sunday Footy Shpw stopped 3 weeks ago aswell. Ass wipes

Cumberland Throw

NRL once cashed up will just have to do in perth , adelaide, what AFL has done in Sydney and Brisbane media...

Ie - Pay media outlets to feature the sport...

It is so obvious, on some radio reports when a random AFL article is tacked on the end of sport report...

gallagher

As has been pointed out, the AFL gets shown on 7 mate in Perth, and somehow people are able to use their remote and change over to watch.

I have no doubt that the coverage of RL is poor, but Im questioning the fact that people are so isolated from the National TV shows that they aren't even aware the RL finals are on IF you had even the slightest interest in sports...

I caught up with some AFL mates in Perth on Sunday. Theyre somewhat interested in NRL, always come to my place for Origins and GF's, always know that my tigers are doing crap and they know most of the stars names.
On Sunday they asked me who was playing that afternoon to meet Souths next week. They had no idea the game had been played and won the night before. Having games/ sunday footy show on the main ch would surely widen the coverage to 'part ime' fans

can you imagine being a souths supporter in perth and the bunnies finally win and instead of getting to see the historic moment of them lifting the trophy they cut to some bullshit repeat. devastating.

Annoying sht is that the only people tuning in will be there for the NRL final, would an extra 15mins really hurt? NRL are as bad as Ch9 for letting them get away with this sht. If Smith really wanted to they could put a stop to it overnight but like everything else not happening with the affiliated states at the moment they dont give a sht about RL outside of east coast.

The game is growing in WA in spite of the NRL, not because of it which is really sad for our game.