Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Unthinkable?

Far Canal

I am going to do the unthinkable and barrack for the Canetoads.

Why?

1. Sticky is coach of NSW.
2. More importantly, his non-selection of Hayne in the top 17 and rationale behind it.

His justification is irrational and illogical. He says Hayne is a better 5/8 and his future is at that position yet later back tracks to say he will consider him in the series. He says Dugan is the type of player he wants to coach - WTF does that mean in respect of Hayne?

Hayne has served the state with distinction and to be treated like is speaks volumes about Sticky's integrity. Did he let Hayne about this when he was appointed coach of NSW?

Curleel

yeah, Jarryd should have been there on his past efforts at SOO (and Stick is a dick !) but you gotta support Timmy Mannah, our future captain.

I'm not going to back the Canetoads no way. But my interest in this match has diminished a lot because I don't really want to support the St George Illawarra Blues either.

Hayne was never going to be in Stuart's Origin side, not with Josh Bogan getting a phone call every week.

Stuart just doesn't like Hayne. He doesn't understand Hayne's attitude or the environment he grew up in.

Stuart's attitude reeks of typical country bumpkin white merkin bullshit. When I was in the army it was rampant there as well.

Joshuatheeel

I am doing the same, go QLD !!!!

Could handle Hindmarsh missing out over the last couple of years but the rejection of Hayne doesn't sit right with me.

jono

I'm with Eels Dude , can't bring myself to cheer for Qld , but probably only watch the game to see how Tim goes , other than that , I won't be too disappointed if Qld win.

To be honest I could care less about representative football. I have always been a staunch supporter of the notion that one should always pick the best players in terms of form. There is something to be said about sticking with incumbents, but I honestly think that you need to go on form - this should provide and incentive for players to aim high and get representative honours.

But it's just not the case. With all due respect to Daniel Wagon and Michael Vella, two blokes I respect enormously, I could never see how they were chosen for Origin, and yet Glenn Morrison never got a look. And Hayne's snub isn't the only mind-boggling issue for me - what does Luke Lewis have to do to play for NSW? He cannot honestly be seen as second best to Greg Bird? Luke Lewis is a gem of a footballer.

There's two ways of looking at it - either you reward blokes for playing well, or you pick the team you think is most likely to win.

Rarely would you pick the same team coming from these two angles.

As it is, they want to win Origin, so they've gone for the team they think will do that. To pick players just as a reward for good form turns Origin into more of an exhibition match.

Anyway, after following the Maroons from about 2000 until about 2007, I was just starting to enjoy following NSW again. I honestly don't really care this year, but I do want to see Ricky's favourites crash and burn. It's just a shame I don't want to see Queensland win either.

I don't care either - I am more worried about the Eels. QLD will win again and it will be because of the same reason each year, terrible selections from NSW.

Maroubra Eel

There's two ways of looking at it - either you reward blokes for playing well, or you pick the team you think is most likely to win.

As it is, they want to win Origin, so they've gone for the team they think will do that. To pick players just as a reward for good form turns Origin into more of an exhibition match.

Anyway, after following the Maroons from about 2000 until about 2007, I was just starting to enjoy following NSW again. I honestly don't really care this year, but I do want to see Ricky's favourites crash and burn. It's just a shame I don't want to see Queensland win either.

I followed the Maroons from 2000 to 2003, then NSW from 2004 to 2006, then QLD from 2007 to Game 2 2010, but now I am a rock solid Blues supporter. Go the Blues!

jk13

i might give the dugan drinking game a go, scull everytime he clutches something.
the creagh game though is too hard, u hav to scull everytime he time he flies backwards to safety.

i might give the dugan drinking game a go, scull everytime he clutches something.
the creagh game though is too hard, u hav to scull everytime he time he flies backwards to safety.

It sounds as though you've started early.

I followed the Maroons from 2000 to 2003, then NSW from 2004 to 2006, then QLD from 2007 to Game 2 2010, but now I am a rock solid Blues supporter. Go the Blues!

I generally just follow the underdogs in Origin. But mostly I go for the team with the least players I hate.

Kornstar

I will treat this game like i always treat rep games, i will go for the players i like and not really care about the result.....

If i had to say i supported someone it would be NSW but my care factor if they win or lose is pretty low, i just want good games and preferably the Eels players to play well.

I do specifically want this NSW team to lose though, i very much dislike Stuart and am pissed that Hayne was not selected........and because i think that way, NSW will win the series 2-1 :(

I can see both sides to the argument. But it frustrates me, as a mere fan, to know that the selectors will usually opt for who they think will win rather than who is on fire. The way I see it, it gives little incentive to a young bloke to reach for the stars knowing they won't be chosen unless the superstar who plays in that same position is injured or suspended.

I feel even if the superstars of our game - your Cameron Smiths, your Benji Marshalls, your Billy Slaters, etc. - are fit and ready, it should not necessarily give them a representative jersey unless they are playing well. If they are playing poorly and another bloke has stepped up and played consistently good football, he should get the nod.

But, alas, that is just my opinion.

There was a great quote in an article over the weekend, by Greg Bird I think? About how Sticky leaving Hayne etc out has actually made everyone hungrier - the guys in the team are hungry as they know there are good guys over their shoulder, and the guys left out of game 1 will (hopefully) be hungrier as they know they have to keep proving themselves to get a spot.

I'm amazed at the sooking that's gone on here on behalf of Hayne not being selected :lol:. I'm not a Sticky fan, but have no problems about Hayne not being gifted a jersey on the back of his suspension for a dog act. It's a chance for Hayne to learn something about on-field attitude, and for him to improve even further while playing for us during the Origin period (to force his way into origin or get his Australia spot back).

As for Wednesday's game, as they have for the past 5 years, I expect Queensland to be a class above... but maybe, just maybe, Ricky's much criticised selections will light the fire under some NSW arses that badly needed to be lit? And maybe we'll start to see a difference in the years to come as guys value the jersey more, and fight harder in their club footy to get the Orgin positions?