Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Verdict ominous Cam Kings Performance

CarssDragon

Manly, Melbourne and more recently Souffs, have been fantastic over the last few seasons and what a surprise, they have 80 minute hookers. A few of you have mentioned that we can have both, but have you considered that we lose a bench spot?

f**k Mitch Rein off because he is one dimensional and small. Let's chuck another forward on the bench to compete with the go-forward of stronger opposition packs and train King up to play the 80!

This is what I'd like to see. A full-time hooker and someone else in the pack that can relieve when Rein/King is having a rest. An extra impact forward can take the vacated bench spot. N

However don't know if either could play that role. Got heaps of raps on King, but reckon he is a long way off playing 80min. Rein on the other hand, while not as dynamic, is super tough and much closer. So wouldn't be letting go of either at this stage. Never know, neither may develop into 80min hookers in the Smith/Farah mould.

bottle

King for 80 mins?
Maybe when he can stay fit four more than 4 games at a time. Let's see if he can stay on the field for a few games in a row first before we burn our bridges, eh?

I am not saying King should play 80 minutes next week, I am talking about future planning. What I do have a problem with though is the re-signing of Rein. I have no problem with him rotating with King for the remainder of the year, but looking ahead with King, Garvey, and Cook, paired with the upgrade of the Rein contract, I just don't get it and I think its a step backwards. We do not need that many hookers and we do not need another no frills footballer.

bottle

If King,Garvey and throw in Cook as well, are as are good as all that, then the money will be thrown at them by other clubs. Can we afford to keep 2/3 front line top class hookers for what that will cost us? Do we need them all? You've just identified yourself the concept and advantages of developing King into an 80 minute footballer. On that basis, would it be a sound decision in a salary cap restricted environment to try and retain a triumvirate of class hookers? The answer is probably not.

A smart move would be to keep them and see where they all are in a year or so's time, and see which is the keeper. Meantime, a sound second choice for injury/reps cover is a smart move imo. A little warehousing doesn't hurt whilst it's affordable. Players can always be let go if excess to requirements down the track. There is a dearth of quality 9's. Having a host of them on the books is a huge advantage. Looks like smart management to me.

Minh

Both King and Rein are good players, we just need to find a way to accomodate the both of them. King can go down injured at any time so having Rein in the squad makes sense.

watatank

What we would be hoping for is that Rein as a local junior stayed for way below market value, which is what I think has happened (the extra season probably drove his price down even further) which would allow us to keep one of the others. The signing gives us flexibility and allows us to see what King and Garvey can do (who are still relatively inexperienced)

Long term, there's only room for one of King or Garvey if they can play to their potential. It would be difficult to develop a King/Garvey for very long but we might be able to keep a King/Rein or a Garvey/Rein combination around for a while, because Rein would have signed very cheaply. So I think what the club will do is make a choice between them, leaving Rein as support/backup.

At least, that's what I am hoping has happened. If Rein signed for big money, is considered as the long term 9 and/or seen as a future leader (like another Dean Young or something) then we have made a huge mistake.

BennyV

I am not saying King should play 80 minutes next week, I am talking about future planning. What I do have a problem with though is the re-signing of Rein. I have no problem with him rotating with King for the remainder of the year, but looking ahead with King, Garvey, and Cook, paired with the upgrade of the Rein contract, I just don't get it and I think its a step backwards. We do not need that many hookers and we do not need another no frills footballer.

Benefits of re-signing Mitch Rein:
-It gives us a proven first-grade quality hooker rotation for next year at least at fairly low cost. Garvey is at least 2 years away from being first grade ready (there's nothing to gain from rushing him into first grade).
-It keeps a local junior in the club, and because of that there will be long-term salary cap benefits
-It shows the younger players that they will be rewarded for hard work and commitment to the club, rather than having big raps on them in the juniors.
-His attitude and work off the field is often unspoken. He is seen as a future leader/captain and there is a reason for it. He works hard and leads by example. Not sure about King but by all reports, Rein's attitude leaves Garvey for dead.
-It gives us insurance in the case that King/Garvey don't end up as the superstar world-beaters we all think they will be.

Disadvantages on re-signing Mitch Rein:
-We have to put up with clowns like Saint George of Lydda (and others) bitching and moaning on the Dragons Forum and Jubilee Ave non-stop.

It's actually a very close call, but I still think re-signing him is the right thing to do.

Louiethefly

Benefits of re-signing Mitch Rein:
-It gives us a proven first-grade quality hooker rotation for next year at least at fairly low cost. Garvey is at least 2 years away from being first grade ready (there's nothing to gain from rushing him into first grade).
-It keeps a local junior in the club, and because of that there will be long-term salary cap benefits
-It shows the younger players that they will be rewarded for hard work and commitment to the club, rather than having big raps on them in the juniors.
-His attitude and work off the field is often unspoken. He is seen as a future leader/captain and there is a reason for it. He works hard and leads by example. Not sure about King but by all reports, Rein's attitude leaves Garvey for dead.
-It gives us insurance in the case that King/Garvey don't end up as the superstar world-beaters we all think they will be.

-We have to put up with clowns like Saint George of Lydda (and others) bitching and moaning on the Dragons Forum and Jubilee Ave non-stop.

It's actually a very close call, but I still think re-signing him is the right thing to do.

I think people forget that depth is a good thing and at the very least Rein is a really quality depth signing, he's definitely first grade standard and not many clubs can boast one quality Hooker let alone two or three.

King has a lot of guts and puts in the effort like Rein does, he is always backing up in defence and putting pressure on players, first person to jump on the loose ball against parra, but he's not really as small as Rein so it doesn't seem like he's as gutsy.

We have King, Rein and Garvey next year and I'm sure they are all looking foward to building a solid combination with perhaps the next best spine in the comp in Dugan, Widdop and Stanley/who ever else it is we sign. Happy days ahead I think.

giboz71

For a team struggling to score points, King provides that extra attacking option around the ruck. Rein is a great player, but given the current situation, King just offers a little bit more.

See what a difference Dugan made to our attack?? Just added a little bit of flair and made us less predictable and less easy to defend. King provides the same.

I'm excited about next year, but really, if we managed to snag a half to partner Soward, we could even give this year a fair shake if Dugan and King continue their form.

Gazzaw

Wouldn't be too concerned abt picking up a half. Fien is solid. More important issue is getting a fit backline back on the paddock, particularly throughout SOO. Will love watching our No1 backline with Dugan chiming in. If he build a connection with Coops, Morris & Nightingale' lookout HAPPY DAYS

st.phil

Geez louise...King an attacking revolutionary and Cook now rep level? Guys it was Parra and we were well on top after 10 minutes. Chill.

bottle

Yes the petals need to settle, and I loved BennyV's post. I lol'd a little at the disadvantages.

big pat

nothing like a good bit of bitching and moaning, although it would be better from some hot babe.

+1

and over a 26 week season there will be enough opportunites for them to both get a lot of game time, especially with a few injuries along the way.
you can rotate who starts depending on the opposition each week and what their strengths/weaknesses are...

+ 2

...I think depth in the "Spine" of a club using equally high quality players is a good strategy - provided of course the players themselves can work with it and club can afford it. I think player rotation in key positions, or maybe even "job sharing" will happen more in the future, especially as injuries in footy are decimating the best laid plans of so many clubs time and time again.

I'm a big fan of both King and Rein and I'm really pleased the Doustmeister re-signed Rein.

big pat

the team would have got a lot of confidence out of last week, hopefully they can continue on