Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

vs North Queensland Cowboys

BeeeeeRad

Hahaha, didn't take much notice of it tbh, but he is a liability in defence and offers little in attack. Foley should come in! I was dissapointed about Shack not playing, happy that Jaubs was a late inclusion would have preffered he came in for Brown though.

sass

bahah well these are kind of vitally important football things I notice :oops:

I was a bit infuriated by grose last night and bursting out with PERRETT CAN'T DO YOUR JOB FOR YOU.

as a whole though the boys just didn't have the intensity in defence ... I think the aubs were the exception. is it all mental? I don't like it.

we really need to get rid of the complacency

i said before somewhere that its better for us to be behind at half-time

that way we will stay awake.. looks like im sort of right :D

BeeeeeRad

Yer that is definantly the case. If we are ahead I don't think the players take what Freddy is saying to heart. They need to really stay focused and process what Freddy is saying to them.

sass

YES they keep doing that! it makes me crazy. I love you roosters but you are a bitch of a team to follow this season.

BeeeeeRad

I like the compressed defence, as long as our outside men are aware of whats going on outside them. If they get 2 guys outside them then I think its fairly obvious they are trying something and should let the rest of the team know. At the moment I've seen SKD and Grose stuff this up a few times luckily SKD was fast enough to haul them in before anything serious eventuated out of it.

STSAE

Hahaha, didn't take much notice of it tbh, but he is a liability in defence and offers little in attack. Foley should come in! I was dissapointed about Shack not playing, happy that Jaubs was a late inclusion would have preffered he came in for Brown though.

Isnt Foley injured and has been for the majority of the year??? Hes also a fullback from what ive seen, we need wingers, Grose and Perrett are better from fulback as it is.

Also it would be a little reckless to basically debut a bloke (I know he played a few games but that was 2yrs ago and 2 coaches ago) with 5 rnds to go when we have 4 blokes who have played in the position all year.

I dont know if Jaubs and Friend would work well together, as yet at least. Both are very similar in style, and offer more spark when they come on. Im sure Freddy likes Brown to handle the tough early exchanges and be there to slot into the backrow if needed thru the match. Then Jaubs to offer zip later in the 1st 1/2, and cover for the 1/2s if needed. Its the balance I guess Freddy would be looking for, but Friend is the future definatley a very good young player.

:sarcasm::sarcasm:

malabar

Isnt Foley injured and has been for the majority of the year??? Hes also a fullback from what ive seen, we need wingers, Grose and Perrett are better from fulback as it is.

Also it would be a little reckless to basically debut a bloke (I know he played a few games but that was 2yrs ago and 2 coaches ago) with 5 rnds to go when we have 4 blokes who have played in the position all year.

I dont know if Jaubs and Friend would work well together, as yet at least. Both are very similar in style, and offer more spark when they come on. Im sure Freddy likes Brown to handle the tough early exchanges and be there to slot into the backrow if needed thru the match. Then Jaubs to offer zip later in the 1st 1/2, and cover for the 1/2s if needed. Its the balance I guess Freddy would be looking for, but Friend is the future definatley a very good young player.

Yeah Foley played 2 years ago, he played 8 games when our team was sh*t, yet he scored 6 tries. Axle played 5/8 for the jets in Auckland so not injured any more. We need a little more flair that Foley can give, like Amos and Mitchell showed, more natural footy flair to take advantage of broken plays etc.Broken plays that end in tries!

BeeeeeRad

Ok so would you rather have bloody Brent Grose on the wing than Foley who is very capable on the wing? Grose is absolutely crap his attack offers little and his defence is abysmal, Foley is a real attacking option who has proven it at NRL level not the ESL.

I dont mind if they are similar players tbh. Brown offers very little attacking flair, sure he is a great defender but so are the other 2 especially Jaubs (see last nights performance) plus they have a kicking game and more spark.

Very very poor effort and it was lucky they were playing the last placed team who run out of puff in the second half. They have done nothing this year to suggest they can play a full 80 minutes let alone string 2 or 3 good games together which they will have to if they want to win the comp.

They seem to be so disjointed in attack and defence and have only one game plan which if it fails they have no hope.

They should give roberts/skd/mini when he comes back a roving game
to run off pearce/anasta and mason- mason made a break and there was no support- they don't support the ball carrier and seemingly they think they can only score of kicks. The compressed defence doesn;t work and will be well and trully found out by the better teams who will run amok against it.

If they do make the top4 they will last only the 2 weeks - beaten both times unless they change their game and attitude.

not good enough

BeeeeeRad

Mate have you watched any games of ours lately? We have scored about 25% of out tries off kicks in the last 4 games. Our compressed defence since using it against Parramatta we have gone 8-3 or 72%, imagine how good we could be if we had a defence that worked!

WE watch all the games and we have season tickets too - tell me when they have put together a good 80 minute game this year let alone 40 minutes. To win the comp they have to play 80 minutes as well as stringing several of these type of matches together during the year and especially during the finals which as of this stage they haven't.

Tell me recently how they play like headless chooks v gold coast and raiders then beat manly???- too inconsistant- unfortunately you will be as i won't be watching a replay of last years grandfinal - storm v manly- the only other team with a chance of making the g/f is brisbane - the other 5 including the roosters will be making up the numbers.

sad but true

STSAE

Ok so would you rather have bloody Brent Grose on the wing than Foley who is very capable on the wing? Grose is absolutely crap his attack offers little and his defence is abysmal, Foley is a real attacking option who has proven it at NRL level not the ESL.

I dont mind if they are similar players tbh. Brown offers very little attacking flair, sure he is a great defender but so are the other 2 especially Jaubs (see last nights performance) plus they have a kicking game and more spark.

Grose isnt flash but he can be relied on, we know he can do a job. You cant risk playing a bloke with basically zero expierence in 1st grade this late in the season, out of position, when there are blokes who have done the job all year.

We arent going to win a comp on the back of Grose, hes there to offer expierence and back up when needed.

Also this late in the season you may find we cant afford to debut another bloke for the year salary cap wise??? I know thats been a problem in past seasons, Soli was one that happened with in 04 I think.

Balance off the bench is what the coach would be looking for. Having a bloke who is big enough to play in the backrow and hooker and a bloke who is skillful enough to play in the 1/2s and hooker is probably the balance. Still in the future I could see Jaubs and Friend in the same team, I just reckon Freddy will run with Brown as the starter for the rest of the year.

Im not saying Foley or Friend are bad players or worse than the replacements we are using, im just trying to show why they will probably stick with the combos that have had us in the top 4 basically the whole season.

STSAE

WE watch all the games and we have season tickets too - tell me when they have put together a good 80 minute game this year let alone 40 minutes. To win the comp they have to play 80 minutes as well as stringing several of these type of matches together during the year and especially during the finals which as of this stage they haven't.

Tell me recently how they play like headless chooks v gold coast and raiders then beat manly???- too inconsistant- unfortunately you will be as i won't be watching a replay of last years grandfinal - storm v manly- the only other team with a chance of making the g/f is brisbane - the other 5 including the roosters will be making up the numbers.

sad but true

Still mate we are in the top 4.

ANYTHING can happen from now to the end.

I dont look at it as all doom and gloom. I have memories of the last 3 seasons. Im glad we are talking semis again instead of talking spoon.

I see plenty left in the tank. Sa, Minni, SKD, FPN and Myles to comeback.

To be down 20-10 at 1/2 time against a team throwing the ball around cos they had nothing to lose, posession and penalties flowing the way of the home team and some very lucky tries against us, I actually thought we stood up, especially the kids, and WON that game well 22-0 the 2nd 1/2.

Thats one wed have let slip earlier in the year. I reckon it shows we can play from behind and still get it done. Only "good" teams do that, or so we are told when Melba or woManly or the Wankos do it.:sarcasm:

BeeeeeRad

Gee Marshall just relax and enjoy your footy at least we'll give it a good shot.

Exactly, why be a f*ckin pessimist when we still have a great chance at winning it. After the last 3 years i'm just bloody rapt to be in the finals even better with a legit chance at a home final. Make the most of it and enjoy it.

I'm rapt, and I mean, really, after the last three seasons I'm just excited to see us winning more games then we are losing. And with players coming back, damn I'm so excited for the finals.

I would never write the boys off, although even though some teams had big losses over the weekend there are still so many teams you can't write off.

It's five weeks until the finals, how the hell can anyone judge how a team will go in the finals now?

BeeeeeRad

Yup agree 100% with that whole statement Sa Mini and Myles returning improves us on both sides of the ball. I have a feeling our biggest obstacle will be ourselves and out poor attitude and complacency I just hope they don't fully let us down in the finals with a poor showing.

Majorily, especially last year, every team who didn't completely show amazing attitude and complacency came away the same;without a premiership.

It's not far until we get Myles back, and everyone returning at similar times will hopefully get us enough time to work out who our strongest seventeen are and surge them through.