Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

WA BEARS

SirPies&Beers

IMG_5265.jpeg
IMG_5266.jpeg

funny when posters here try to push agendas on social media or use info from other posters they don’t or won’t acknowledge but then make it seem like their own lol

ding dong lol

T to the T

It’s noticeable on social media how the sentiment is changing since last weeks tele story came out.
Creating conversation and discussion lol presenting articles and opinions as is everybody else on Facebook.

So just to reiterate...

Perthbedwetter: People on social media turning against an NRL team wah wah wah mama
Perthbedwetter: Just reposting the anti-NRL nonsense for Facebook likes innit lol x

You're the biggest snowflake on here moaning about public sentiment yet you're actively contributing to it. Every thing reported in the Daily Telegraph/SMH is triggering you, it's embarrassing. It's for the best that Cummins' bid failed, judging by the snowflakes associated with him.

So just to reiterate...

Perthbedwetter: People on social media turning against an NRL team wah wah wah mama
Perthbedwetter: Just reposting the anti-NRL nonsense for Facebook likes innit lol x

You're the biggest snowflake on here moaning about public sentiment yet you're actively contributing to it. Every thing reported in the Daily Telegraph/SMH is triggering you, it's embarrassing. It's for the best that Cummins' bid failed, judging by the snowflakes associated with him.
Bless. You ok mate? You seem a bit triggered. Might want to take a break from social media, it seems to be effecting you for the negative.

T to the T

giphy.gif

Pathetic.

SirPies&Beers

So just to reiterate...

it’s Perthwrongs, ding dong

Talks shit on bears here but is too coward to tell his true feeling on his group page lol. biggest reds fan ever even though he wasn’t even in Australia during their time lol. Anti Sydney, Anti Brisbane, anti heartland of rugby league, anti arlc, anti vlandys, anti abdo, anti nrl. quick to criticise everything but never acknowledges all the good things happening

coffee dates with geriatrics and secret services asio government sources and all that. almost always wrong on expansion, almost always wrong on tv rights, almost always wrong on stadiums but you’ll never know cause perthwrongs will post things like he is right all the time. Lol

is this dude even a rugby league fan? All points to no, but who knows.

anyways hopefully west Aussie bears fans celebrating in 2.5 weeks.

wb2027

I note a direct quote from Cook in the latest “ we aren’t talking about this year , next year or the year after …this is a long term plan “

So looking like they will be brought in after PNG now

Maybe he means some new facilities and investment in grassroots are probably long term, you could still field a side for 2027 without a COE

BuffaloRules

lol … the pis poor NRL ratings are an embarrassment for Perth… but of course we could point to poor ratings in Sydney for other codes which actually have teams playing …

Looks like this West Australian news site is gunna be crusading pretty hard against them ..

I note a direct quote from Cook in the latest “ we aren’t talking about this year , next year or the year after …this is a long term plan “
No … he is clearly talking about the team … read the full quote in the article

Could also be his politician`s way of pushing it off into the future and getting the media off his back.

insert.pause

There’s no local club in the competition, of course ratings aren’t big, that’s why you expand, to grow participation and ratings. The ratings have been quite strong for event games though.

Seven & the afl are really working overtime to spike any funding deal for the nrl.

PS. GET RID OF THE f**kING VIDEO POP UP THAT MAKES THIS SITE NEAR UNUSABLE!

SirPies&Beers

Does anyone have the text for this article.
ive been saying ratings were asshole for months but perthwrongs ding dong tried to refute that claim lol

this also is why budding the bears in west aussie makes 100% sense to broadcasters and nrl as a business. its a fail safe to ensure theres viewers and bums on seats in away games plus all the other stuff grass roots etc

WA election 2025: Push for WA NRL team questioned after data shows poor TV ratings​

WA’s appetite for an NRL side has been called into question, with an analysis of TV ratings showing fewer than 6000 viewers on average watched some weekend games last year in the State.

The new data comes as Premier Roger Cook continued to refuse to put a deal with the Sydney-based NRL to voters ahead of the March 8 election, raising further concerns over a big taxpayer spend after the poll.

Ratings data from 2024 revealed outside flagship games, such as the and State of Origin, West Australians switched off from regular season NRL games.
West Aussies were four times more likely to watch Thursday night AFL games than NRL, while on Fridays, the gap was more than fivefold.

While Saturday afternoon and night AFL games were viewed by as many as 70,000 West Australians, on average, fewer than 6000 tuned in to NRL games.
Sunday afternoon games in the AFL — the domain of WA’s two sides — drew as many as 86,000 viewers last year, while NRL games attracted as few as 7000.

The NRL’s big Las Vegas push last year drew slightly more viewers in WA, with ratings data showing 14,800 eyeballs on the US game between Sydney Roosters and Brisbane.
Rita Saffioti says WA taxpayers wont front cash demands for WA NRL team but won’t confirm cost Federal Ausplay statistics reveal just 6188 West Australians played rugby league, including fewer than 2000 children, in the 2023-24 financial year.

That compares to more than 124,000 participants in local footy across the State.
Speaking on Tuesday, Mr Cook again refused to seek a mandate from voters to pursue the deal with the NRL, but argued for a WA-based team.

“We’re considering a range of things in relation to the conversations with NRL,” he said.
“It represents an opportunity for WA to boost economic activity, increase our participation in a national sporting code, and obviously for more West Aussies, to be able to take advantage of the opportunities to play, spectate and be involved in sports.
57b4808cc8785cea9e8a38b39857b9ff7fa2e8a5.jpg

Roger Cook refused to seek a mandate from voters to pursue the deal with the NRL, but argued for a WA-based team. YES

“When those conversations reach a point in time where we’re able to do the modelling and able to see what those opportunities are, we’ll obviously have an opportunity then to consider them in more detail.”
Asked if there was a big enough fanbase in WA to justify an NRL team, Mr Cook repeated the line “West Aussies love their sport”.

“Any opportunity to continue to bring more Western Australian sporting opportunities to WA is one which we’d welcome,” he said.
“We’d also welcome the economic activity which comes from major sporting codes, and we need to see what those opportunities.”

Asked earlier in the day on Triple M radio about progress with the NRL, Mr Cook hit out at league boss Peter V’landys over leaks to the media.

“He’s a tough bugger and look if he could just shut up for a little while . . . you ring him up and say how are you and the next day in the Daily Mail, you get ‘The Premier asks about my health’,” Mr Cook said.

“(The NRL) are a funny mob to deal with.”
b7c1554ba1bcf53b84e4db9719deceedf6e57663.jpg

Libby Mettam.
Liberal leader Libby Mettam said Labor needed to explain what deal the Government had done with the league.
“Why is there so much secrecy — we are talking about taxpayer dollars during a cost-of-living crisis,” she said.

“It’s quite clear the Cook Labor government are willing to spend hundreds of millions of dollars on a deal with the NRL and a Sydney businessman at a time when Western Australians are struggling to make ends meet.
“It does not pass the pub test.”

Kerry Stokes and Aussie Rules wankers working overtime to try derail west aussie bears nrl club. This will only fuel V'landys more and more. each time a negative article like this comes out i reckon it makes the west aussie bears more concrete. lol

anyways the fact they'll get a team will ensure the viewership numbers increase. thats the whole purpose of tapping into untapped market. journo who wrote this doesnt understand business 101 by looks of it lol

perthwrongs, instead of talking horse shit on this forum and socials how about ya ask ya group of muppets to tune into games and improve the viewership cob.