Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

WA BEARS

Red&BlackBear

Cummins had stated both HM & SG were set to go for the summer of 25/26 but they are not cheap to run.

I'd hope worst case that will just be pushed back 1 year .... considering Tony Archer was happy to shut Pirates down when he was the GM of Pathways and Performance I'm not confident that a NRL run side will run those programs without government support.
Cumins Consortium said a lot of things that they didn’t actually have a strategic plan of how it would be properly funded long term. However in that regard (juniors) their heart was somewhat in the right place.

If BESIX Watpac (a construction company) are costing stuff, than an Architectural firm must have produced concept plans.

Sounds like a lot of money has been expended already.

Shouldn't be far off than
It’s purely ECI engagement. It’s only to gauge realistic budget costs. Design, conceptual or otherwise, is under the principal contractors discretion to get a ball-park estimation figure over to the client (in this case WA Gov). Nothing more.

SirPies&Beers

Not much WA election news on the Today Show or in the Telegraph this morning ….i assume Cookie Monster is going to be over the line?
he went from $1.01 to $1.002 fav.

to recap.
* Cookie isnt paying a $120m license fee
* But $120m was never a license fee.
* $120m always been investment to pathways, footy programs and facility upgrades.
* He has said they'd fund kids sports in that regard.
* Been stated they'd fund HBF upgrade.
* HBF upgrade was originally $300m then went up to $350m and now sits around $200m.
* So costs have been reduced. A win for Cookie.
* Cookie said NRL needs to zip-it and NRL said theyd tools down until after election.
* since then Cookie has made 3 or 4 public statements and maybe he needs to zip-it?

All going swimmingly according to posters. What @Red&BlackBear said months ago is transpiring.

Perthwrongs wasnt a believer and kept posting his own theories courtesy of his talking microwave until an anonymous call from Julian Assange to him on the weekend flagged what Bears was saying was actually true along.

Now perthwrongs is posting new stuff and claiming its inside info courtesy of his phone call from julian assange but all he is doing is copying months old info from redblackbears and has not once credited redblackbears or even acknowledged him. because perthwrongs is a liar and a coward. ding dong.

here we are 3 days out from west aussie election and the battle for west aussie rugby leagues soul is on the line.

Not much WA election news on the Today Show or in the Telegraph this morning ….i assume Cookie Monster is going to be over the line?
Hi majority will be lessened but he'll still walk it going by all polls.

Only controversial announcement, not surprisingly, was the racetrack in the city one. He made up for it by calling Vance a nob though lol.

One area I think Vlandys could have been much much better in is talking up what they were willing to invest in WA.
At this side of the country it looks like a very one way street of NRL demanding from the WA public, and that has caused ill feeling over here and put Cook in the difficult position of going from super enthusiastic to having to convince the WA public he will get us a good deal or walk away.

Why we cant be smart like AFL I dont know. They announced Tassie with a big funding package of their own to show it was a partnership between Govt and the sport. In this all we have heard from NRL is what they demand, we they dont want (local club ownership), how valuable NRL is to WA (public not buying it) and you have to take on a Sydney club (going a far as to make it sound like this all about getting Bears back in NRL not WA). Its been a very one way scene setting by NRL.

In reality when you consider the club grant, travel and accommodation costs and hopefully NRL increasing NRLWA funding they will be putting in over $200million over 10 years to WA. They should have been shouting that from the roof tops every time they got asked about Perth.
Vlandys might drive a hard bargain but he really doesnt read a room well.

BuffaloRules

In reality when you consider the club grant, travel and accommodation costs and hopefully NRL increasing NRLWA funding they will be putting in over $200million over 10 years to WA. They should have been shouting that from the roof tops every time they got asked about Perth.
Vlandys might drive a hard bargain but he really doesnt read a room well.

Well…I dont know what PVL should be saying , but it is obvious that Cook doesn’t want to be saying anything positive about the new NRL team in the lead up to the election , less he upset his electorate

No doubt you will reply that he is saying one thing prior to the election and will act in the opposite way after …but the Perth Bears are being treated over there a bit similar to how Julia Gillard introduced the Carbon tax …hope they prove a bit more popular than that did ..lol

Well…I dont know what PVL should be saying , but it is obvious that Cook doesn’t want to be saying anything positive about the new NRL team in the lead up to the election , less he upset his electorate

No doubt you will reply that he is saying one thing prior to the election and will act in the opposite way after …but the Perth Bears are being treated over there a bit similar to how Julia Gillard introduced the Carbon tax …hope they prove a bit more popular than that did ..lol
Hi got backed into a corner and did what all pollies do.
His presso at the business breakfast this week was pretty clear. They are still committed to funding the support infrastructure for RL and the club in WA but wont be funding the club or the NRL. Thats been their stance since day 1.

BuffaloRules

Hi got backed into a corner and did what all pollies do.
His presso at the business breakfast this week was pretty clear. They are still committed to funding the support infrastructure for RL and the club in WA but wont be funding the club or the NRL. Thats been their stance since day 1.

I don’t have a link to those comments… only these ones posted above which don’t seem very supportive to me of a team …

Its posted a page back. He's still talking it up but is being very careful to challenge the perception that was created by the Sydney media that they would be paying the NRL a huge sum of tax payer money.

'Pushed on whether spending money to lure a team west was appropriate during WA’s prolonged cost-of-living crisis, the Premier making his pitch, insisted a deal would be good for the State’s economy.
“Sport and indeed, national sport franchises are big business, and it’s a great opportunity for our economy
, but not a single dollar of taxpayers’ dollars will go to the NRL,” he said.
“We want to make sure that if Western Australia is to participate in another national competition, and I think we should, and I made that very clear all along, but it has to be good value for money for WA taxpayers, and it has to be a benefit to the WA economy.”

Wb1234

Its posted a page back. He's still talking it up but is being very careful to challenge the perception that was created by the Sydney media that they would be paying the NRL a huge sum of tax payer money.

'Pushed on whether spending money to lure a team west was appropriate during WA’s prolonged cost-of-living crisis, the Premier making his pitch, insisted a deal would be good for the State’s economy.
“Sport and indeed, national sport franchises are big business, and it’s a great opportunity for our economy
“We want to make sure that if Western Australia is to participate in another national competition, and I think we should, and I made that very clear all along, but it has to be good value for money for WA taxpayers, and it has to be a benefit to the WA economy.”
It’s funny how when it’s a team you support you can read a quote and pick out the bits that favour your argument vs every other bid where you just ignore and go for the jugular

BuffaloRules

is that the one headlined “Cook claps back at NRL in last minute funding row”…?

Red&BlackBear

It’s a great choice of words because it’s true, none of the cash is going directly to the NRL.

$120m for the pathways programs & upgrades to facilities etc will instead be budgeted for in conjunction with the ARLC’s assistance to who gets what within the state.

$200m stadium upgrade costs will be handled within the government department that manages that sort of thing.

Furthermore, it’s also true that the WA Gov aren’t funding any part of the NRL club. As mentioned ad nauseam here - it’s the NRL who will be directly funding the proposed club.

In election campaigns, sometimes the wording and explanation (or lack) of things is everything. Cook’s words in that article are all 100% true but had the journalist asked more in depth questions or poked a little deeper for information than it would have been harder for him to mince things.