Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

WA BEARS

Wb1234

It varies, not sure why so low now but at one time is was nearer $9mill. Maybe the stadium deal the WAFC got meant a reduction on the license fee.

Last year WAFC revenue was $36mill (QRL $47mill). But they only got $5mill from AFL (QRL $28mill from NRL). Most is generated at a state level. Royalty income is the 2 AFL club payments and State funding is mostly the stadium deal.

View attachment 99795
Yeh the money in all the states leagues is crazy

Wb1234

The Cronulla fan from Tasmania is having a meltdown on an English league forum about wa getting an nrl team and the impact this will have an afl

FMD had a major giggle and can’t wait till the teams announcement for further salt

flippikat

Time will tell. QRL is the barrier and most of the Qlnd NRL clubs would rather their own reserve team than farm players out. When the new clubs come in and the inevitable dilution of talent happens the calls will get louder and louder.

It's going to be interesting if/when NRL Reserve Grade happens.

Questions like Do NRL teams need firsts, reserves AND state-league teams?
Should they be allowed teams in state league?
What does the relationship between State League teams and reserves/firsts look like in that scenario?

Admittedly that would be a more striking change to the NSW Cup than Qld Cup, given that could only mean Redcliffe dropping out of Qld Cup (if they weren't allowed a team in Qld Cup as well as Reserves/Firsts)... BUT it could also open the door to the NSW Cup having more regional teams outside of Sydney - or even interstate/NZ teams, making it less "Sydney Suburban" and more "State-wide", just how the Qld Cup has evolved.

The_Wookie

It varies, not sure why so low now but at one time is was nearer $9mill. Maybe the stadium deal the WAFC got meant a reduction on the license fee.

Last year WAFC revenue was $36mill (QRL $47mill). But they only got $5mill from AFL (QRL $28mill from NRL). Most is generated at a state level. Royalty income is the 2 AFL club payments and State funding is mostly the stadium deal.

View attachment 99795

The Revenue quoted above is revenue generated by the actual WAFC corporate entity. Note that consolidated Revenue for the WAFC was 198.69m last year. West Coast and Fremantle are 100% owned subsidaries of the WAFC and included in the concise report.

1742133681100.png

I read the west coast eagles pay the wafl a fee each year like five or ten million dollars

I’m guessing the dockers do too

Its dependent on the profit they make.

1742134247094.png

SirPies&Beers

It's going to be interesting if/when NRL Reserve Grade happens.

Questions like Do NRL teams need firsts, reserves AND state-league teams?
Should they be allowed teams in state league?
What does the relationship between State League teams and reserves/firsts look like in that scenario?

Admittedly that would be a more striking change to the NSW Cup than Qld Cup, given that could only mean Redcliffe dropping out of Qld Cup (if they weren't allowed a team in Qld Cup as well as Reserves/Firsts)... BUT it could also open the door to the NSW Cup having more regional teams outside of Sydney - or even interstate/NZ teams, making it less "Sydney Suburban" and more "State-wide", just how the Qld Cup has evolved.
seems like only people who think it'll happen is people who have no clue about the state game in nsw and qld.

hence why perthwrongs reckons itll happen because that drongo is absolutely clueless about the game anywhere, period. 0 idea. he reckons by standing in his patio and pointing his binoculars out east he can see how the game in queenslands is.

SirPies&Beers

WA election 2025: Premier Roger Cook warns ‘ambitious’ Peter V’landys the Western Bears deal is no sure thing​

Roger Cook has revealed letters have been exchanged with the NRL but insists no dollar figure has been agreed to for an expansion club to be set-up in WA.
The Premier said he won’t be rushed into a deal for the Western Bears, despite league boss Peter V’landys insisting last week that it has to happen “quickly”.
Mr Cook said it is not a top priority, nine days after a landslide election victory.
5ea21c8768edb9bff3911ab39d2202f481ff783e.jpg
Premier Roger Cook
“He’s got ambitions for timing, my focus at the moment is putting the Government back together,” he told reporters on Monday.
Appearing on television last week, Mr V’landys suggested the re-election of “his mate” Mr Cook was behind an agreement to “down tools” but that negotiations would now resume.
“Look, it’s got to happen quickly and Roger and I made an agreement just before the election, or well before the election, that once the election started, we would down tools and wouldn’t discuss it,” Mr V’landys, the chair of the Australian Rugby League Commission, said.
“That’s what we did. So now the ball is in their court to come back to us. We put a proposal to them, so it’s up to them to come back to us.”
Mr Cook rejected claims there was a “hush agreement” for the duration of the State election campaign.
“There’s no hush arrangement, I had initial conversations with the NRL in the early days. Obviously as we moved to an election period, it wasn’t appropriate to continue those conversations,” he said.
10b49a2ad63a64d50f42f71c4fde1ff9ae2f9b2e.jpg
Peter V'landys No
“There was an agreement that we were moving into an election period, therefore it wasn’t appropriate to continue the conversation.”
He has rubbished reports taxpayers could be on the hook for $320 million, but has been reluctant to rule out a price tag above $100 million for infrastructure upgrades and grassroots support.
During the final week of the election campaign, Mr Cook vowed taxpayers’ money will not be paid directly to the NRL.
On Monday, he wouldn’t say what has been proposed.
“I haven’t read any proposal, we’ve had initial discussions, there’s been an exchange of letters,” he said.
“There’s ongoing conversations, but I think you’re the one that’s most keen on the NRL deal. I‘m simply getting on with the job of putting the government back together and getting on with our priorities.”
Asked whether the NRL’s letter specified a dollar amount, Mr Cook said it outlined “broad concepts” only.
The proposal became a point of contention during the election campaign, with the Liberal party dubbing it “Roger’s rugby team” and accusing Labor of striking a secret deal at taxpayers’ expense.
WA election 2025: Roger Cook names new look cabinet as he gets a hero’s welcome back to work
WA election 2025: Non-Labor parties join call for Parliamentary inquiry into polling as Govt holds South Perth
It would see the North Sydney Bears would be relocated to Perth and rebadged as the “Western Bears”.
The NRL has already agreed to admit a Papua New Guinea club into the competition from 2028 and was hoping to establish the Western Bears in time for the 2027 season.

SirPies&Beers

Headline is misleading lol. Nothing new just more liberal dick tossing from the west.

As mentioned a billion times $120m figure for grass roots. Local media calling it a Norths relocation.

For all the shit reporting at least thewest is keeping the proposed brand in the local media. However I noticed that these articles are published under politics and not sport…

Wb1234

He hasn’t read any proposals lol

This is what happens when you start telling a dumb lie then keep digging a bigger hole

Then when he ends up revealing the truth it’s a hundred times worse

All he had to say was he will spend money to support sports participation in wa and improve wa infrastructure which will benefit multiple sports in wa and lead to large tourism benefits

Having been backed into a corner during the election he’ll spend a while pontificating then a deal will hopefully be done. Maybe on the back of a sell out origin when he can say’ look how valuable it will be’. should have been sorted in October.

T to the T

Yeh, that article is bullshit and anyone reading too much into it (I'm looking at you @Perth Red), needs to give their head a wobble.

“Look, it’s got to happen quickly and Roger and I made an agreement just before the election, or well before the election, that once the election started, we would down tools and wouldn’t discuss it,” Mr V’landys, the chair of the Australian Rugby League Commission, said.

The "got to" was actually "gonna" (PVL responding to Dan Ginnane who used "gonna" 3 times in the question) which changes the entire context of that misleading article. From a fairly informal observation made by PVL, the FLA press/The West newspaper have misleadingly framed it as NRL trying to force a timescale on the WA Government. Utter codswallop. Nothing else new in that article, let the morons get worked up though as they believe every word the FLA compliant media throws up.

SirPies&Beers

Having been backed into a corner during the election he’ll spend a while pontificating then a deal will hopefully be done. Maybe on the back of a sell out origin when he can say’ look how valuable it will be’. should have been sorted in October.
Here we go again with the bullshit cumins bid.
You’re like a pathetic jaded lover that ya man cumins was shit but ya can’t hack it

perthwrongs, ding dong

SirPies&Beers

Yeh, that article is bullshit and anyone reading too much into it (I'm looking at you @Perth Red), needs to give their head a
Perthwrongs is a pathetic excuse for a human. He won’t change.

even after all the times bears has been right, all the times he said it’s all good this dickhead perthwrongs has mental breakdowns because of articles which don’t actually say anything because he is an absolute foreskin muncher. Then he loses the plot on here and cave Facebook page that he runs.

SirPies&Beers

The "got to" was actually "gonna" (PVL responding to Dan Ginnane who used "gonna" 3 times in the question) which changes the entire context of that misleading article. From a fairly informal observation made by PVL, the FLA press/The West newspaper have misleadingly framed it as NRL trying to force a timescale on the WA Government. Utter codswallop. Nothing else new in that article, let the morons get worked up though as they believe every word the FLA compliant media throws up.

It was 100% said as gonna.

vlandys would know west Aussie gov is being set back up after a great win. Bears said they had a catch up last week but that was probably more informal chat to lock in a proper date to meet face to face again I reckon.

meanwhile no one is picking up that same article said norths were a relocation? That’s the bigger story that these stooges in thewest wrote

ThornlieBear

WA election 2025: Premier Roger Cook warns ‘ambitious’ Peter V’landys the Western Bears deal is no sure thing​

Roger Cook has revealed letters have been exchanged with the NRL but insists no dollar figure has been agreed to for an expansion club to be set-up in WA.
The Premier said he won’t be rushed into a deal for the Western Bears, despite league boss Peter V’landys insisting last week that it has to happen “quickly”.
Mr Cook said it is not a top priority, nine days after a landslide election victory.
5ea21c8768edb9bff3911ab39d2202f481ff783e.jpg
Premier Roger Cook
“He’s got ambitions for timing, my focus at the moment is putting the Government back together,” he told reporters on Monday.
Appearing on television last week, Mr V’landys suggested the re-election of “his mate” Mr Cook was behind an agreement to “down tools” but that negotiations would now resume.
“That’s what we did. So now the ball is in their court to come back to us. We put a proposal to them, so it’s up to them to come back to us.”
Mr Cook rejected claims there was a “hush agreement” for the duration of the State election campaign.
“There’s no hush arrangement, I had initial conversations with the NRL in the early days. Obviously as we moved to an election period, it wasn’t appropriate to continue those conversations,” he said.
10b49a2ad63a64d50f42f71c4fde1ff9ae2f9b2e.jpg
Peter V'landys No
“There was an agreement that we were moving into an election period, therefore it wasn’t appropriate to continue the conversation.”
He has rubbished reports taxpayers could be on the hook for $320 million, but has been reluctant to rule out a price tag above $100 million for infrastructure upgrades and grassroots support.
During the final week of the election campaign, Mr Cook vowed taxpayers’ money will not be paid directly to the NRL.
On Monday, he wouldn’t say what has been proposed.
“I haven’t read any proposal, we’ve had initial discussions, there’s been an exchange of letters,” he said.
“There’s ongoing conversations, but I think you’re the one that’s most keen on the NRL deal. I‘m simply getting on with the job of putting the government back together and getting on with our priorities.”
Asked whether the NRL’s letter specified a dollar amount, Mr Cook said it outlined “broad concepts” only.
The proposal became a point of contention during the election campaign, with the Liberal party dubbing it “Roger’s rugby team” and accusing Labor of striking a secret deal at taxpayers’ expense.
WA election 2025: Roger Cook names new look cabinet as he gets a hero’s welcome back to work
WA election 2025: Non-Labor parties join call for Parliamentary inquiry into polling as Govt holds South Perth
It would see the North Sydney Bears would be relocated to Perth and rebadged as the “Western Bears”.
The NRL has already agreed to admit a Papua New Guinea club into the competition from 2028 and was hoping to establish the Western Bears in time for the 2027 season.

Ah so it is a relocation...

BuffaloRules

So Origin is mid June …. Will be cutting it fine for 2027 entry …but it’s still doable provided they are working behind the scenes already to fill the front office and coaching positions …..

Could see in the lead up to the game, PVL & Abdo making a big deal in the media about going over to “smoke the peace pipe “ with Cook and then announcing that they have nutted out a deal shortly after …”Cook was a very tough negotiator “ etc etc

The Perth COE will be very make shift that first season though … they will just have to make do I guess ..

If it’s not announced say by end of June …going to be tough to bring them in 2027…I’m leaning that the three month gap between election and announcement will probably be enough if PVL and the Sydney media can shut up about it in the meantime…

edit - any word on how the ticket sales are looking for the NRL games in April ? Hope it comes in around a sell out like the last time ..or we can guess how the AFL rag over there is going to spin that lol

Wb1234

Nah tv deal talks will be underway by then and team 19 has to be locked in

Cookie is Lubeing up the wa public and media for the announcement and is warming them up first

So Origin is mid June …. Will be cutting it fine for 2027 entry …but it’s still doable provided they are working behind the scenes already to fill the front office and coaching positions …..

Could see in the lead up to the game, PVL & Abdo making a big deal in the media about going over to “smoke the peace pipe “ with Cook and then announcing that they have nutted out a deal shortly after …”Cook was a very tough negotiator “ etc etc

The Perth COE will be very make shift that first season though … they will just have to make do I guess ..

If it’s not announced say by end of June …going to be tough to bring them in 2027…I’m leaning that the three month gap between election and announcement will probably be enough if PVL and the Sydney media can shut up about it in the meantime…

edit - any word on how the ticket sales are looking for the NRL games in April ? Hope it comes in around a sell out like the last time ..or we can guess how the AFL rag over there is going to spin that lol
The temp training facilities at Ken Allen field are already underway. There was a big development plan for this area already committed to by State and local Govt and they are just tagging the Bears facilities on to it.

Double header looks slow at moment, Theres a lot of disgruntlement at the moment in the WA RL community and that may be reflected in ticket sales. Many sick of investing in NRL and getting the run around. Hopefully it picks up in next couple of weeks if we get some positive news.

Perth Origin is June 18th. May coincide, or may not lol.