Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Wallace to Richmond

Cricketer

http://foxsports.news.com.au/story/0,8659,10313856-23209,00.html

TERRY WALLACE will replace Danny Frawley as coach of Richmond, with an announcement expected within days.

In a coup for the embattled club, the 15th-placed Tigers have beaten bottom-of-the-ladder Hawthorn to the punch in recruiting Wallace.

A source close to the Tigers last night revealed Wallace's appointment would be ratified at a regular board meeting tomorrow night, pending finalisation of arrangements with his management group.

The recommendation of Wallace from the three-member selection panel will be made official in a presentation to the Tigers board.

The panel consisted of football director Greg Miller, consultant David Parkin and alternate board member Bryan Wood, who was brought on to the coaching sub-committee late last week as part of a peacemaking deal between president Clinton Casey and rebel leader Brendan Schwab.

With four games remaining, Richmond will be in the unique situation of having a current coach and an official coach in waiting.

Hawthorn will be disappointed to have missed out on Wallace as he was their priority to sign for next season after they sacked Peter Schwab.

But events over the weekend bought Hawthorn more time to find a replacement, especially Adelaide's upset win over the Kangaroos.

The Crows' victory, after last weekend's 141-point pounding by the Lions, may have clinched the full-time coaching position beyond this season for caretaker Neil Craig, who has won two of his five games since the demise of Gary Ayres.

Both Wallace and former Swans coach Rodney Eade held formal discussions with the Crows.

If Eade is to re-ignite his head-coaching career, it can only be with Hawthorn, currently being coached by caretaker Donald McDonald.

The Hawks can take their time to decide between multiple premiership players Eade and Ayres and a group of assistant coaches from other clubs.

The only competition for Eade's services will come from Collingwood, who have offered him a newly-created specialist coaching position under Mick Malthouse.

Wallace, 45, spent the best part of the past two years working in the media since quitting as coach of the Western Bulldogs with one round remaining in 2002.

He was set to be appointed coach of the Sydney Swans, who sacked Eade in 2002, but they opted for club hero Paul Roos.

Wallace started coaching mid-year at the Whitten Oval in 1996. He coached the Bulldogs in 148 games for 79 wins, 67 losses and two draws. In almost six full years, he took the Dogs to the finals in four of them for a total of seven finals matches.

They were knocked out in consecutive preliminary finals in 1997 and 1998 by eventual premiers Adelaide. Wallace is well regarded as a master tactician and an innovative coach.

He has some pedigree at the Tigers, having played 11 games for them in 1987 after falling out with Hawthorn following the 1986 premiership victory.

Wallace played 174 games for the Hawks in nine seasons and played in three premierships.

After a single season at Richmond, he finished his playing career with the Bulldogs for whom he won two best-and-fairest awards.

He won Hawthorn's best-and-fairest awards in 1981 and 1983 but has not had the best of relationships with the club since leaving. He was controversially overlooked for the club's team of the century and was not invited to the function.

I'll believe it when I see it but I'll be rather happy if it is the case. Looking forward to draft time to see how he goes and where he thinks our future lies.

CyberKev

It was all over the grapevine yesterday that he had made a decision, which seems to fly in the face of previous comments that he would take considerable time weighing up the pros and cons of all clubs concerned.

Presuming it's true, then congratulations are in order for the Tigers. Let's hope Wallace does well with the club.

Miller & Co must have given a good presentation to Plough. While the word is that Wallace is also Hawthorn's number one choice, it must be said that Richmond have made this a lot more transparent. It hasn't helped Hawthorn to have Brereton (the goose) waxing lyrical about Ayres to the media over the past week.

Oh God, don't let Ayres get the top gig at the club!

With Wallace lost to us, it has to be Eade!

CyberKev

Cricketer

It was interesting as I was watching the post match on Fox Footy Saturday arvo after watching the umpires beat the Tigers on Saturday. KB said Terry was taking a keen interest in how things were going over at the G. I can see the following happening:

Campbell to stand aside as captain and Brown to take over - a runner at the Richmond club works with my mother in law and he was asked the question this morning about Terry moving over due to Brown (Brown and Wallace are close mates) and Brown to get the captaincy. He smiled and said "you could be right you know". I don't know if Brown will get it but I would prefer Johnson, good player, premiership player as well.

As for Eade, I reckon he will take up a job with Collingwood (goodness knows why) and Ayres to Hawthorn - now thats a worry.

Cupid Stunt

I kinda took Ploughs side when he left Western. I didn't like it but in some ways iI respected what he had to say. If he has signed I now hate him as I do all Tigers. First Brown now Wallace. ARRGGHH! :evil:

But in saying that I'd welcome him & Browny home... :D

CyberKev

Hold the presses...

Now both Greg Miller and Terry Wallace are strenuously denying that a deal has been done. According to Miller, Richmond hasn't completedits interviews for the position (it has 2 scheduled for today); and as Wallace tells it, he is still weighing-up offers.

Given that Patrick 'Tosser Boy' Smith broke the story this morning, I wouldn't be surprised if its another of his Bomber-loving, Hawk-hating schemes aimed at destabilising our recruitment process!

Still, would've loved to have seen jason Dunstall's face when he read the story this morning :lol:

CyberKev

meltiger

CyberKev said:
Hold the presses...

Now both Greg Miller and Terry Wallace are strenuously denying that a deal has been done. According to Miller, Richmond hasn't completedits interviews for the position (it has 2 scheduled for today); and as Wallace tells it, he is still weighing-up offers.

Given that Patrick 'Tosser Boy' Smith broke the story this morning, I wouldn't be surprised if its another of his Bomber-loving, Hawk-hating schemes aimed at destabilising our recruitment process!

Still, would've loved to have seen jason Dunstall's face when he read the story this morning :lol:

CyberKev

Smith didn't write that article, he only wrote one about how Browny's transition to a great club has been hard and this is finally a positive for him. Someone else wrote the above article.

Please god let it be true though, with the kids who have come through this year, Wallace and most probably picks 2, 5 & 7 (Ottens - They are stupid if they even attempt to resign him - Piss him off to the Crows) in the draft, the mighty club may finally be on it's way back.

Must say it was pleasing to pick up the paper and on the front page "Meet the new Richmond coach" with Wallace's head on there :) :) :)

meltiger

Ill say Richmond have either got Terry Wallace, or are throwing all their eggs in his basklet and if he refuses we will start the process again. Im hoping for the former.

Hopefully Garry O'Donnell comes into consideration now if Wallace chooses Hawthorn!!

What he said ;-)

If we miss Terry Lethal's assistant is a much better proposition than anyone else out there ....

Cricketer

meltiger said:
Ill say Richmond have either got Terry Wallace, or are throwing all their eggs in his basklet and if he refuses we will start the process again. Im hoping for the former.

Hopefully Garry O'Donnell comes into consideration now if Wallace chooses Hawthorn!!

What he said ;-)

If we miss Terry Lethal's assistant is a much better proposition than anyone else out there ....
You don't like Eade?? I don't mind him, did alot for Sydney and "may" help the Tigers. Plough though would add some toughness to our kids and that is something we are really missing!!

meltiger

All across the net they are saying Eade is out of the running.

But no, look at the player Goodes has become since Eade left Sydney ...

meltiger

Cricketer said:
I can see the following happening:

Campbell to stand aside as captain and Brown to take over - a runner at the Richmond club works with my mother in law and he was asked the question this morning about Terry moving over due to Brown (Brown and Wallace are close mates) and Brown to get the captaincy. He smiled and said "you could be right you know". I don't know if Brown will get it but I would prefer Johnson, good player, premiership player as well.

Just on this ... I as under the impression club rules stipulated two years service before captaincy ?

Cricketer

You could be right on that one. I do prefer that Campbell stand down - might give him an extra year or two before heading for pasture.

meltiger

Oh I agree and I would make it Johnno for two years before he passes the baton onto Coughlan.

As much as I love Brownie, the captaincy should always go to true Richmond people, Kane whilst playing for Adelaide most of his career loves the club as the rest of us do.

Cricketer

Yeah, he followed them as a kid as I have. I'll be upgrading my membership next year as well, hopefully to get to more games. It's hard cwhen you are on call and you cant leave town.

Its going to be an exciting few years, I know we may not get better overnight, but at least there is light at the end of the tunnel.

meltiger

I definately agree there. So long as Miller does not trade away our First round draft picks this year.

Nothing short of Judd or Wells or Wiirupunda would suffice for any of these pots of gold at this stage & we are not going to get any of them ;-)

CyberKev

meltiger said:
I definately agree there. So long as Miller does not trade away our First round draft picks this year.

Nothing short of Judd or Wells or Wiirupunda would suffice for any of these pots of gold at this stage & we are not going to get any of them ;-)

Judd and Wells, yes...

But you'd be willing to trade away your top pick for Wirrpunda???!!!

Please explain :?: :?

CyberKev

meltiger

CyberKev said:

CyberKev

I've seen him play as a Junior.... Back home in Healesville he would be a completely different player. The closeness of the aboriginal community up there is astounding ...

CyberKev

meltiger said:
CyberKev said:

CyberKev

I've seen him play as a Junior.... Back home in Healesville he would be a completely different player. The closeness of the aboriginal community up there is astounding ...

I'm not saying he can't go alright, Craig, but I'm thinking that he's not worth a first pick.

Ostensibly he plays as a loose running flanker out of defence.

For mine, top picks should only be used on tall kpp, midfielders and(possibly) very capable ruckmen.

CyberKev

CyberKev

It now looks like its Richmond or bust for Wallace, assuming he decides to take a coaching gig at all.

Hawthorn is now definitely out of the running, with Wallace rightly turned-off by the Rebel factions clear assertion that they do not want him to take charge of the side.

The Rebel faction have indicated a clear preference for either Mark Harvey or Gary O'Donnell and while I have expressed strong concerns about taking a rookie coach in the past, its now reached the point where I just want them to make a bloody decision already! The Rebel faction has its strong points, but it should have forced a spill by now, as the uncertainty engulfing the club is seriously hindering the search for a new coach and threatens to negate the hard yards made in sacking Schwab prior to season's end.

I still believe that Wallace will end up at Richmond, but should he decide to give all a wide berth, you can expect the club to go into hasty damage control in order to get Eade into the job.

I have a strong suspicion that Mark Harvey will not take the Bulldogs job, and with the club stating (in the face of ludicrous rumours that they had signed Gary Ayres) that they can't afford anything other than a rookie, I believe O'Donnell will take the job for 2005.

Essentially then, Richmond will have either Wallace or Eade and Hawhtorn will run with either Ayres or Harvey (sob, on both counts!)

CyberKev

meltiger

CyberKev said:
Hawhtorn will run with either Ayres or Harvey (sob, on both counts!)

Oh I feel your pain Kev! I don't know which is worse!

I was quite impressed with the Hawthorn board members yesterday though I must say, Derm certainly seemed confident you had won Terry over.

At least you can say it ain't Tony Shaw's assistant you have appointed :lol: :lol: :lol: