Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

We need to be nice to new people!!!

Skye

Hey all...

I'm NEW!

antonius, Chook/Oswin and a few others may know me as my original forum name, Skye (not Brayley, the other one). Probably remember me as the terrible twin of rubber duckie.

Anyways... just thought I'd say "hi" to all. I have met the Crusade through Parki, Risa and BigTim2 (old forumers I've become very good friends with outside football) and now I'm back forum-ing! (so the Crusade aren't that scary people! Fun more like)

It's nice to see this post, cos I know how it used to be in the old forum... groups/regulars can be intimidating even without being attacked!

m0j0

strewth_mate said:
Speaking of which, whatever did happen to Conway's Little People?

And goddamn, who here isn't from Edgie?!

My wife's from Barnsley - went to Westie High. Close enough?

Doctor

sersky said:
Hey all...

I'm NEW!

antonius, Chook/Oswin and a few others may know me as my original forum name, Skye (not Brayley, the other one). Probably remember me as the terrible twin of rubber duckie.

Anyways... just thought I'd say "hi" to all. I have met the Crusade through Parki, Risa and BigTim2 (old forumers I've become very good friends with outside football) and now I'm back forum-ing! (so the Crusade aren't that scary people! Fun more like)

It's nice to see this post, cos I know how it used to be in the old forum... groups/regulars can be intimidating even without being attacked!

Skye! Now there's a name I couldn't possibly have forgotten. "May know" is an understatement -- of course I remember you Skye. Did you change your name at some stage on the old forum from 'Skye' to something else?

I remember Rubber_Duckie too.... that brings back memories. Whatever happened to 'Fletch'? He was about the only Roosters fan I've ever respected (sorry Mojo)... I wonder if he's still around and forumming.

Anyhow, it's great to have you back Skye/Sersky (what's the story with that name by the way?). :clap:

ADDITION: have you thought about starting your name with a capital? It's just so much easier to recognise.... strangely, lower case names annoy me a bit.

axie

Wow, Skye ... that takes me back a few years *scratches head* ... welcome back matie.

jennifer1985

Hey guys,

I didn't realise this thread was even going. Thanks everyone for the Welcome. I was getting a hard time from a few people, and almost left completly so im glad there are some nice people on this site.

GO THE JERSEY FLEGG KNIGHTS !!! WAHOO!!

hehe

Jen

jennifer1985 said:
Hey guys,

I didn't realise this thread was even going. Thanks everyone for the Welcome. I was getting a hard time from a few people, and almost left completly so im glad there are some nice people on this site.

GO THE JERSEY FLEGG KNIGHTS !!! WAHOO!!

hehe

Jen
we're just pretending to be nice to lull you into a false sense of security :D
and for a second time, welcome aboard! :alcho:

Skye

Oswin said:
Did you change your name at some stage on the old forum from 'Skye' to something else?

Nope... I was always Skye... this is the first time I've actually been in the "newer" forum actually.

Oswin said:
Anyhow, it's great to have you back Skye/Sersky (what's the story with that name by the way?). :clap:

ADDITION: have you thought about starting your name with a capital? It's just so much easier to recognise.... strangely, lower case names annoy me a bit.

Thanks Oswin! (I'm going to find it hard calling you Oswin btw!)

It's funny you say that about lower case letters.... originally, I wasn't going to post much... so I was going a little incognito... I actually don't like my name/especially the lower case and will be changing my name soon to the original!

Hey axie and antonious! Glad to see a few kinda fuzzy, but familiar names about!

Thanks ROK and Astrogirl! Nice to be welcomed.

BTW - Sorry for making a bit of a social thread out of one on a bit of a serious note! I guess it's building bridges with the weloming committee about in force!

Jobdog

Hey sersky!! :D U don't know me, but oh well, provided ur coming to the sharks game, I'll hav to introduce myself to u (or get Stacey to do it, I'm a bit shy :lol: )

Skye

Jobdog said:
Hey sersky!! :D U don't know me, but oh well, provided ur coming to the sharks game, I'll hav to introduce myself to u (or get Stacey to do it, I'm a bit shy :lol: )

You've seen me about with the Crusade...

You were at the doggies game yes? I was with Risa and Rowwie... back row!

But I will formally introduce myself to you at the sharkies game... :)

Jobdog

sersky said:
You've seen me about with the Crusade...

You were at the doggies game yes? I was with Risa and Rowwie... back row!

But I will formally introduce myself to you at the sharkies game... :)
:lol: #-o I'm on fire, fair dinkum, how good am i going......... As for u Parki, I don't remember asking for ur opinion :sto: Ur just a very angry man, arent u

Parki

im not going to say anything.... suffice to say, you WILL be getting a beannie thrown at you in the not too distant future

Andy

roopy said:
It is always difficult to become accepted in a forum 'community'.

I remember when I first started posting on a forum. It took weeks before people took me seriously enough to consider my opinions before automatically attacking them (it was a tough forum).

The point is - we should all remember how hard it was to get accepted by others - so we should cut new people some slack.

Most of the new people to post here are true Newcastle supporters, and many of them go away after a week or so because they get a hostile reception.

IMO we need to encourage new people - not deter them.

In that spirit - i'd like to welcome Jennifer85 to the forum - and I look forward to reading your opinions on the lower grades especially.

I'm super popular, so it's never hard for me to find acceptance in a new group or place

;-)