Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

We need to make a play for Matt Gillett

Radical Rat

They were just saying on the Sunday footy show that the Broncos are struggling to keep Gillett. I reckon as a direct replacement for Ellis would be awesome. Blair isn't doing much on the fringes. I'd shift him up to the front row and get him in the middle of the field, might get him working a bit more. Then Gillett as an 80min backrower.

I know people are saying we don't need backrowers, but that's bullshit. Ellis gone, Heighington isn't cutting it anymore. Fulton works hard but he's too small and keeps getting run over the top of. We don't utilise his angled running enough either.

vookie

They were just saying on the Sunday footy show that the Broncos are struggling to keep Gillett. I reckon as a direct replacement for Ellis would be awesome. Blair isn't doing much on the fringes. I'd shift him up to the front row and get him in the middle of the field, might get him working a bit more. Then Gillett as an 80min backrower.

I know people are saying we don't need backrowers, but that's bullshit. Ellis gone, Heighington isn't cutting it anymore. Fulton works hard but he's too small and keeps getting run over the top of. We don't utilise his angled running enough either.

To be honest I never paid much attention to him, but after watching him Friday night I agree with you. Big hitter and has plenty of mongrel in him, IMO would be a perfect replacement for Ellis next year, and it's sad to say because he is one of my faves but your right about heighno too

I agree. Ellis is a superstar but Blair (so far) is miles away from Ellis. Heighno simply isn't playing at the level he has in the past. Fulton is the perfect backrower who is 10-20 kgs too small which means you need a pack of big destructive forwards for him to be effective.

With Ellis gone we are going to go from a pack who will dominate teams on occasions and will be one of the top packs if everyone is on their game to an ordinary pack who occasionally will look alright.

super_coach

Gillet would be great but its always hard to lure a QLD south also I guess every club in the NRL would be looking at him

I'd like to see Tagatese in our back row, runs hard and tackles hard.
Sign someone similar to Nigel Plum so that we can have a prop/back rower who is as strong a defender and cover defender as Gibbs. Plum is injury prone, so someone like him if such a player exists.

Wouldn't cost the earth but would strengthen two areas we're struggling in at the moment.

hutch

Backrow is the last position we need to worry about this year. Here's hoping that Dwyer can make a comeback next year as a replacement for Ellis. I'd be targeting a fullback like Michael Gordon from Penrith who is off contract I think, and some solid, hard props.

N.C.

Dwyer? That would be nice, but I'd prefer it if our miracle cure takes the form of a proper halfback. It's only been, what, six years?

hybrid_tiger

Dwyer will be lucky to use his arm normally let alone play football again. I sincerely hope he can get back but it would have to be long odds of happening.

super_coach

We also need to make a play for Matt Parish.

parish similar style of bloke to Bellyache, he was a average footballer but hards as nails and gave 100% every week, as a coach he seem to have the same values and has gone very well. I think he might just be the sort of coach that might put some backbone into the club.Iam afraid its time for Tim to go,has been for a while but now it has to happen

hybrid_tiger

He would be a super signing.

We do need back rowers (and front rowers of course).

I would be moving Heighno on at the end of this year and with Ellis gone that leaves two holes to fill.

Like the look of BMM but he's better suited to the bench this stage of his career.

I don't consider Ayshford a back rower, and Fulton is handy off the bench but not as a starter.

I really like Sika Manu, but is he another player that will thrive in Melbourne and not be as good elsewhere? He is strong, a hard hitter and very aggressive.

dumpy

Gillett is big, strong, fast and can punch through lines.
Also like Glen Stewart, hard runner, great defender, bit of mongrel, plays 80 minutes and most importantly can draw and pass to set up supports. (one attribute that a host of the so called modern footballer lacks).
I read somewhere that the bulldogs were shopping around Tolman - a seasoned ready made 80 minute prop. It would also save fulton waving hands around trying to encourage runners! That really hurts.

Ron's_Mate

I remember 2 or so years back we were supposedly going to get Jeff Lima. He would have been ideal. Instead we got Jason Cayless.