Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

we need to sign Thurston, Aitken, Morrison and Monoghan

GAME FIRST

As we have the cash, resources and need to be super competitive so it is time to splurge and use all these strengths to secure the next 2-3 years as a top 4 side.

The only way now to do this is to focus on where we need help-Halfback,Lock,Centre and five-eight.

Now in my opinion having lost Pritchard-it seemed a done deal as per my sources but he really never wanted to leave Penrith- we have to target Thurston and Aitken who are both young but brilliant footy players but will only come if we throw heaps of money and they are in positions we lack genuine match winners.

Then we need to fix our centres who will get chances from our new set of class halves. I like Monoghan and perhaps give Amos Roberts a chance here but we need guys better than Langi and Burt -especially without Lyon.

We then need a class lock who will assist our best player Hindi, in working the house down and who actually play for 80 minutes effectively.

If all this happens then we have a chance- oterwise i think we have a long wait- and with only 1 good year in the last 3 years-the time is to be aggressive in the player market and GET the guys as the roosters do when they need strengthening.

I live in hope as i do not have faith for our current squad and coach-they have not given me any reason to see them as winners in any way!

Parraren

I think the 2 that we are most likely to get are Roberts & Morrison.

Also, anyone that was wishing for Ryan Cross, forget it. He's just re-signed with the Roosters for 2 more years...

Author: Sydney Roosters
Wednesday, 30 June 2004

In-form centre Ryan Cross, today agreed to a new 2 year deal with the Sydney Roosters.

The 24 year old Cross will continue his association with the Roosters in 2005-2006.

Already a veteran of over 90 first grade games, he made his debut with the Roosters in 1998 and today he met with manager John Fordham to finalise the contract.

“With his strong eastern suburbs background, Ryan is really looking forward to another two seasons with the Roosters.

“He joined the club as an 18 year old in 1998 and despite a couple of injury setbacks he’s bounced back extremely well, missing only one game in the past two seasons.

“In recent weeks Ryan has been the subject of rugby union interest but weighing up the pros and cons he felt staying with the Roosters was the option that made most sense,” concluded John Fordham.

Ryan broke into representative football this season playing for City against Country in Gosford and scoring 2 tries.

Ryan was excited about securing his future. “It has been a big year for me, recently marrying Danielle, breaking into representative football and now securing my long term future with the Roosters” he concluded.

Pazza

I dont really see why Parra would purchase Morrison? Cayless was doing very well in the second row and Hindmarsh and Wagon are 2 core players in this football side. Paul Stringer looks like a player Parra can do with since Pearson is leaving.

My hit list would be:

1.Tahu
2.Roberts
3.Monaghan
4.Thurston or Dorn
5.Stringer

Phillips

i think we only need 1 more big name player and a few youngsters...

my hitlist:

1. Glenn Morrison
2. Paul Franze
3. Lance Hohaia

4, 5. Mark Leafa & Gray Viane (depending what Muspratt, Muckert & Hopkins do)

2. Paul Franze

Yep :clap:

Probably get him for a reasonable price too, whilst he hasn't hit the heights he was at prior to his injury I think he certainly will get back there.

And although Thurston has been scared from his time and the bullcheats I think he has the creative class we could harness and put to use.

PJ Marshal

If we sign Thurston Game First I will slap you with a wet trout, why on earth wud we want or in fact need him! it would be another useless buy to go with the rest. Dead set he looks like a pack of 2B pencils with big dumbo looking ears

Pazza said:
Does anyone know if Ben Creagh from the Dragons is off contract?

If the Dragons let Creagh walk, then they are dead set mental cases....I would assume there is not chance of him going anywhere.

Parraren

I've seen enough of Franze to suggest he certainly ain't a risk worth taking. Unless we buy quality why buy at all I say!

My picks of the bunch & the ones that I think we are a serious shot at getting are still AMOS ROBERTS & GLEN MORRISON.

The other players I've heard are a strong chance of returning are PAUL GALLEN & CHAD ROBINSON.

My roughie/dark-horse is CARL WEBB. The guy has obvious talent but seems to be on the outer with Wayne Bennett. Could turn out to be a real superstar if we can get his head straight, which Smithy could very well do. Can play front row or back row and is devastating at his best.

That'd make my shopping list;

- AMOS ROBERTS
- GLEN MORRISON
- CARL WEBB

If we get those 3 I'll gladly wet my pants :D

GAME FIRST said:
Now in my opinion having lost Pritchard-it seemed a done deal as per my sources but he really never wanted to leave Penrith

Three weeks ago you came in here and started a thread entitled

"Frank Pritchard has signed a 3 year deal with Parramatta"

Now mate, that obviously isn't so. I think you should admit that you made an error in claiming his signature was ours when it obviously wasn't so.

I don't think we need a lock, we have Wagon and Mateo. Even if you're one of those Wagon bashers, there's no point suggesting we should replace him because he's staying. Thurston's form is too up and down. I think Monaghan would be a good buy though, I don't know who Aitken is.

AlexTheEel

Aitken is the guy that was dropped to Premier League so that Jason Kent can play half. He's ok but not brilliant as stated.

Dog-E

Pazza said:
My hit list would be:

4.Thurston or Dorn

You'ooouurrrree KIDDIN'?!??! :lol: :shock:

Mind u I could see Smithy going for Dorn - he been bombed out of Manly - adjudged not good enough even for them, as he was
playing reggies when he left - now he's wandering aimlessly round the SFS in the Roosters PL side - so he's got the A-Grade Smithy track-record there!! :lol: :lol:

eelsta

yeah thats what they said about mckinnon go back to the rspca with the rest of r morons :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: