Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Week 1 finals eels v storm Team List Thread

Bandwagon

Ladder position doesn't mean much....Roosters south Canberra are better sides

It's kinda uncanny 'cause when you look at the ladder, the top eight are ranked in order of their defence, apart from the Roosters at fourth being five points worse than the Raiders at fifth.

It's almost as if defence means something in terms of where teams might finish the year, freaky shit hey?

It's kinda uncanny 'cause when you look at the ladder, the top eight are ranked in order of their defence, apart from the Roosters at fourth being five points worse than the raiders.

It's almost as if defence means something in terms of where teams might finish the year, freaky shit hey?

Penrith have best attack and defense. Most have them as the 3rd best side.

emjaycee

It's kinda uncanny 'cause when you look at the ladder, the top eight are ranked in order of their defence, apart from the Roosters at fourth being five points worse than the raiders.

If you score at least one point more than you are able to defend, you win the game. Therefore attack isn't a true reflection of your performance and ability - defense is.
Case in point, the Tigpies had no problems scoring points, they simply couldn't stop their opponents from scoring more.

emjaycee

Penrith have best attack and defense. Most have them as the 3rd best side.
Minor premiers means the best and most consistent performance over the course of the WHOLE season. Doesn't make you the best team when finals come around.

As you know, experience also plays a big part in finals footy, as do injuries and form. And you only get one chance to get it wrong and still be there the next week.

yy_cheng

I agree. Junz should be on the bench. He is our attack.

Stop him doing all that hard work let the pigs do that

If you score at least one point more than you are able to defend, you win the game. Therefore attack isn't a true reflection of your performance and ability - defense is.
Case in point, the Tigpies had no problems scoring points, they simply couldn't stop their opponents from scoring more.
Call me crazy but I reckon attack and defence are exactly as important as each other. We might have some examples to support defence this year but I very much doubt it holds true over the long haul.

Bandwagon

Call me crazy but I reckon attack and defence are exactly as important as each other. We might have some examples to support defence this year but I very much doubt it holds true over the long haul.

As the saying goes, defence wins games, attack decides by how much. ( or is it forwards win games, backs decide how much ) Much the same really.

It's certainly been the case for us this year, and I reckon this rings more true in finals footy.

emjaycee

In 2019, the Scum won the minor premiership by 3 wins, with an attack that only scored 4 points more than the 2nd place Rorters. Their defense was 53 points better.

In 2017 Broncos scored 101 points more than us and yet had the same amount of wins. Their defence was only 24 points better than ours.

As the saying goes, defence wins games, attack decides by how much. ( or is it forwards win games, backs decide how much ) Much the same really.

It's certainly been the case for us this year, and I reckon this rings more true in finals footy.
In 2019, the Scum won the minor premiership by 3 wins, with an attack that only scored 4 points more than the 2nd place Rorters. Their defense was 53 points better.

In 2017 Broncos scored 101 points more than us and yet had the same amount of wins. Their defence was only 24 points better than ours.
But we've got over a century of data to see if it holds true. Surely someone has done the numbers. Is David Middleton still alive? Or Pou?

chiefy1

Attack is more important because if your score more than them you win :grinning::grinning::grinning:

Well I think Storms the best. Roosters next. Then Penny
The Chooks have been cooked for a while. They just have too many injuries and winning two straight premierships can't be good for their motivation. I put them third favorites behind Penrith. Melbourne first.

By best, I assume you mean 'most likely to win the premiership'?

Penrith have been the best team so far this year which is why they won the minor premiership.
I'd describe them as the most consistent. Their worst is better than everyone else's worst. But their best isn't quite as good as the Storm, Chooks or Souths.

By best, I assume you mean 'most likely to win the premiership'?

Penrith have been the best team so far this year which is why they won the minor premiership.
but they are only the best cos they didn't get to play the best recently