Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Welcome to game day Dragons v Manly

Throwback Thursday: Round 15
2010 Qualifying Final: St George Illawarra Dragons 28 defeated Manly Warringah Sea Eagles 0.

https://www.dragons.com.au/news/2018/06/14/throwback-thursday-round-15/

Oh yes ! Weren't they a great side and what about the speed in the backline ? A quick glimpse of Michael Weyman there also , geeze that bloke tore so many defences to shreds with his pugnacious running style . Good post getsmarty - keep them coming as they are much appreciated .

nontime111

The press said he might be.

But when asked who would play if Ben Hunt was injured, Walters said he would move Morgan from fullback and he had heaps of FB options.(inc Ponga of course)

QLD will steer clear of DCE for as long as they have 20 other options. All that publicity in 2017 about QLD players not wanting DCE in their camp was pretty true.

DCE must really stink if you consider even guys like Justin Hodges was welcomed into their fold.

Reading Watmoughs account of what was going on at Manly with DCE was funny stuff.
wow, can you show me the link to Watmough talking about that little wanker, Im a QLDER and i HATE DCE!! If he played id go for NSW hehe!!!

ouryears

wow, can you show me the link to Watmough talking about that little wanker, Im a QLDER and i HATE DCE!! If he played id go for NSW hehe!!!

https://www.smh.com.au/sport/nrl/ch...ashes-on-former-teammate-20180613-p4zl84.html

http://www.nospam47.com/au/league/n...y-rant-james-hooper/kblcxtgqbae01bm9n0zz6mj8b

There are stacks of other reports on it too. These are just two from the Sydney Morning Herald and sporting news.

Google Watmough DCE and they all appear.

Cheers mate

dragonssamy61

They are the team to beat.Were really under the pump early but went up a gear even though they were a bit off their game(unlike us last week).It's up to our boys to respond & start upping the ante.

Agree blacksafake
Bunnies are the team to beat.
Great pack of forwards with the Burgess boys and cook.
And a great backline with gi and Reynolds back to his best.
Mate still have a feeling the storm will have a run and of course penrith.

st penguin

It was interesting to hear Watmough say he was going to the storm & that Glenn had decided to sign with us in 2012.He would have been handy at that stage while he was still playing ok.

From memory, we tried to get both the brothers - there was talk about them returning back to the Illawarra.

getsmarty

Dragons 2018: McGregor wary of wounded Sea Eagles
Dragons Den News
r21_35_3145_2097_w1200_h678_fmax.jpg

GUARDED: Dragons coach Paul McGregor at training this week. Picture: Sylvia Liber

IT'S a complete mismatch on paper but St George Illawarra coach Paul McGregor remains wary of an ambush from a wounded Manly outfit in Wollongong on Saturday.

The strife-torn Sea Eagles have came into the season under a salary cap cloud that's severely limited their recruitment and retention amid other off-field dramas that led to banishment of young half Jackson Hastings.

Coach Trent Barrett's woes have been compounded by an injury crisis that last week claimed star hooker Api Koroisau with the NRL this week knocking back the club's bid to draft young-gun Manase Fainu as a replacement.

Club great Anthony Watmough also thrust skipper Daly Cherry-Evans back into the headlines this week when he publicly unloaded on his former premiership-winning teammate.

In contrast, the Dragons have been a picture stability, reclaiming the competition lead with a gritty win over the Bulldogs last week, but McGregor insisted his side won't fall into the trap of underestimating the Eagles.

“They’re a good team they beat Brisbane in Brisbane and Melbourne in Melbourne not so long ago,” McGregor said.

“They’ve only scored one try less than us throughout the season so they’ve got some attack in them through individual brilliance.

“Their hooker will be Lewis Brown and [Matthew] Wright will come off the interchange there, that’s how we’re planning. If anything changes from there we’ve just got to adjust on the run.

“We always focus more on ourselves as we get closer to the game, we obviously know what the opposition are likely to throw at us. We’ve got to make sure we apply the pressure, not feel the pressure.

“We’re playing in front of a home crowd and it’s a chance to go out there and play a good brand of footy. We know what we need to do, it’s just about going out there and doing it.”

McGregor also battled salary cap issues when he moved into his first head-coaching role with the Dragons in a transitional phase. It's made it easy to empathise with his good-mate Barrett, but it will be all business on Saturday.

“The job as an NRL coach at any club is quite difficult and when you go through change it hurts at times,” McGregor said.

“He’s going through a fair bit of that at the moment around his recruitment and retention and salary cap. There’s a few other things happening within his squad [where] players aren’t playing.

“Of course I feel for him, that’s what mates do, they’re there for each other, but he knows I’ve got my job to do and he’s got his to do.

“We’re both going to go out there with one thing in mind, which is to play the best brand of footy we can and get the win.”

The Dragons have no shortage of distractions of their own, with four players backing up from Origin last week and as many as 10 set to be involved in the rep round next weekend.

It promises to be a juggling act but McGregor said the coming weeks shape as more of a mental battle than a physical one for his rep contingent.

“They've all been on light duties this week, this will be their third game in 11 days so we've got to be mindful of that,” McGregor said of his Origin stars.

“It's not a physical thing through the week it's this time of year it's your mental approach that's important. We’ve had a limited five-day turn, limited work on the field but it’s more between the ears at the moment.

“There’s no excuse there. It’s a good test of character as a player to know that, first and foremost, the team needs to come first and representative stuff follows.

“The guys know that. They understand they’re in a position to play rep footy through their team efforts.

“You can't see around corners so I can't judge what's going to happen. I just think we need to get through this week and then look at what we do after this week.”

https://www.illawarramercury.com.au/story/5470097/mcgregor-wary-of-wounded-sea-eagles/?cs=3713