Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

What do we hope to see from the trial?

Mr_Knightside

So we're playing the raiders this weekend in a trial match and I was wondering what people are hoping to see or what we expect to get out of this game?

The Raiders have named most of their first graders but I assume they won't all play the full game. But this is still a team that came 2nd last year so I think it'll be a really good test of what our pre-season has been like and hopefully we'll see some big improvements.

Personally the most important thing for me is our fitness levels and that we compete for the 80 minutes, in this game last year the game was already over at half time and we only came back into it when their first graders were taken off. We cost ourselves badly in so many games last year where we would have lapses for 20-30 minutes where we would literally throw the game away with errors, poor defending and bad decision making. I want to see a difference in this department this year, even if we lose I want it to be because the other team had to produce good footy to win, not us handing them the game.

If we can go with them and still be in it right until the end I won't mind too much if we lose.

Also I feel that our forward pack is reasonably settled but we have some spots in our backline that are still up for grabs. IMO both wing spots are still a bit of a question mark as we have a few guys who are either new to the club or untried or we're yet to see them in action. I hope to see some guys stand up and demand selection in this game.

So what is everyone else thinking we'll get out of this game?

Frederick

SQUAD

1. Dylan Phythian
2. Ken Sio
3. Dane Gagai
4. Peter Mata’utia
5. Nathan Ross
6. Brock Lamb
7. Trent Hodkinson
8. Daniel Saifiti
9. Danny Levi
10. Josh Starling
11. Sione Mata’utia
12. Jamie Buhrer
13. Mitch Barnett
Interchange
14. Luke Yates
15. Jack Stockwell
16. Sam Stone
17. Lachlan Fitzgibbon
18. Brendan Elliot
19. Will Pearsall
22. Josh King
23. Jacob Saifiti
24. Chanel Mata’utia

slotmachine

Looks like the Round 1 starting 13 right there, though maybe swap Rossdog and Pete...

Sam Stone seems to be highly rated. Cogger/Denniss/Paea/Feeney dropped off the face of the earth.

Hardcore_Fan

Almost full strength. Hopefully we compete well. It is a trial but they need to show us something. I like our backrow and hopefully they are the catalyst to stop us leaking so many points.

Johns Magic

SQUAD

1. Dylan Phythian
2. Ken Sio
3. Dane Gagai
4. Peter Mata’utia
5. Nathan Ross
6. Brock Lamb
7. Trent Hodkinson
8. Daniel Saifiti
9. Danny Levi
10. Josh Starling
11. Sione Mata’utia
12. Jamie Buhrer
13. Mitch Barnett
Interchange
14. Luke Yates
15. Jack Stockwell
16. Sam Stone
17. Lachlan Fitzgibbon
18. Brendan Elliot
19. Will Pearsall
22. Josh King
23. Jacob Saifiti
24. Chanel Mata’utia

No Randell or Mataora?

Would love to see Gagan show his wares when he gets back from injury.

slotmachine

Almost full strength. Hopefully we compete well. It is a trial but they need to show us something. I like our backrow and hopefully they are the catalyst to stop us leaking so many points.

Buhrer will definitely help there. During the nines he was doing heaps of talking and pointing at his outside men in defence.

Totally missed Mataora and Randell too. Curious, maybe little injuries?

Glendale

Would be very surprised if that's the bench we go for in round 1. You'd have to think if Mataora is fit he comes in there somewhere and Tupou would be in the mix as well.

Very interesting to see Randell not there though. As some have suggested we might play with 4 forwards on the bench while Rorys out because we've got Buhrer there and its a way of fitting Wardle into the team.

Jatz

Great news for Phythian. Perform here and the fullback role might just be his for round 1.

slotmachine

Where would we be without Barry Toohey haha? Has just confirmed Paea/Randall/ Feeney out with niggles and Mataora not considered as behind the others due to limited pre-season.

Johns Magic

Main priority in the trial for me(and probably for the season from an on-field perspective) is to see Levi perform well.

We seem to be building a solid pack if we land the recruitment targets we are after(Scott, Finucane) on top of Saifiti x 2, Sione, Buhrer and Barnett. We now have a great fullback coming, and a few decent outside backs in Gagai, Sio, Ross - if we need to recruit a couple more of them to plug gaps I don't think that will be too difficult. I also want to see Gagan get a run.

Recruiting halves and hookers is tougher, and you don't win comps without a good spine. Hooker in particular I would love to fill from within, because clubs don't let good ones walk away very often.

Levi has been talked up so fingers crossed he can deliver. He's only just 21, I think this could be his year.

Knight76

Sigh, persisting with Ross on the wing. I think this is a strong indication that Ross will be cemented to the wing spot all season.

If he was going to see how Ross goes in the Centres then this game would be the ideal time.

Burwood

There was a tweet today from Toohey that hinted at Ross being used in the centres in attack, and defending on the wing outside of Pete.

Caped Crusader

Yeah I'd be surprised if we don't see more of Ross in the centres this year as opposed to wing. I think Brown is giving Pete a run in every outside back spot to keep the options open

There was a tweet today from Toohey that hinted at Ross being used in the centres in attack, and defending on the wing outside of Pete.
Ages ago Toohey said Ross and Pete would "alternate".I took it as game in, game out.
Defence/attack swap would work.It shows where Ross is lacking though.
We have a full season and anything can happen.

Frederick

Where would we be without Barry Toohey haha? Has just confirmed Paea/Randall/ Feeney out with niggles and Mataora not considered as behind the others due to limited pre-season.
The nib Newcastle Knights have named a 19-man squad for the reserve grade trial match against Mounties on Sunday.

To be played at New Era Stadium in Cabramatta, the squad boasts a number of first grade regulars such as Mickey Paea and Sam Mataora.

There is also a host of Under 20s players that have impressed this pre-season, led by the likes of fullback Nick Meaney, halfback Jack Cogger and centre Cory Denniss.

New recruit Jacob Gagan will also make his first appearance in red and blue, playing on the wing.

The match kicks off at 6pm.

SQUAD

1. Nick Meaney
2. Kainoa Gudgeon
3. Cory Denniss
4. Tom Hughes
5. Jacob Gagan
6. Jake McNamara
7. Jack Cogger
8. Sam Mataora
9. Joey Morris
10. Mickey Paea
11. Pat Mata’utia
12. Braden Robson
13. Jamayne Taunoa-Brown
Interchange
14. David Bhana
15. Jake Finn
16. Tyrone Amey
17. Faitotoa Faitotoa
18. Sam Bernstrom
19. Jarrod Flanagan

MOUNTIES v RESERVE GRADE NEWCASTLE KNIGHTS

Date: Sunday February 19
Venue: New Era Stadium, Cabramatta
Kick-off: 6pm

Meanwhile, NYC coach Todd Lowrie has named a 24-man squad for Sunday’s trial match against the Canberra Raiders Under 20s side.

A number of players will be making their first appearance in red and blue, including five-eighth Jack Johns, wingers Mitch Andrews and Lachlan Farr, and back rower Sam McIntyre.

12 players that represented the NYC Knights last year have also been named.

The match kicks off at 4pm at New Era Stadium in Cabramatta.

SQUAD

1. Matt Cooper
2. Mitch Andrews
3. Heath Gibbs
4. Brayden Musgrove
5. Lachlan Farr
6. Jack Johns
7. Hayden Loughrey
8. Jayden Butterfield
9. Tom Starling
10. Viko Puliuvea
11. Sam McIntyre
12. Henry Penn
13. Zac Hosking
Interchange
14. Brendan O’Hagan
15. Nash Birch
16. Eddy Tuilotolava
17. Cameron King
18. Tavita Fesolai
19. Dylan Clark
20. Keanu Dawson
21. Pasami Saulo
22. Kurtis Dark
23. Dean Kouka-Smith
24. Will Davies

NYC CANBERRA RAIDERS v NYC NEWCASTLE KNIGHTS

Kick-off: 4pm

Glendale

Going off last year Paea is very much a Reserve grader in Browns eyes and I don't see that changing this year. I personally reckon he's a little bit better then a few of our other prop options but Brown doesn't have time for him cause he's not part of the future plans.

Burwood

The nib Newcastle Knights have named a 19-man squad for the reserve grade trial match against Mounties on Sunday.

To be played at New Era Stadium in Cabramatta, the squad boasts a number of first grade regulars such as Mickey Paea and Sam Mataora.

There is also a host of Under 20s players that have impressed this pre-season, led by the likes of fullback Nick Meaney, halfback Jack Cogger and centre Cory Denniss.

New recruit Jacob Gagan will also make his first appearance in red and blue, playing on the wing.

The match kicks off at 6pm.

SQUAD

1. Nick Meaney
2. Kainoa Gudgeon
3. Cory Denniss
4. Tom Hughes
5. Jacob Gagan
6. Jake McNamara
7. Jack Cogger
8. Sam Mataora
9. Joey Morris
10. Mickey Paea
11. Pat Mata’utia
12. Braden Robson
13. Jamayne Taunoa-Brown
Interchange
14. David Bhana
15. Jake Finn
16. Tyrone Amey
17. Faitotoa Faitotoa
18. Sam Bernstrom
19. Jarrod Flanagan

MOUNTIES v RESERVE GRADE NEWCASTLE KNIGHTS

Kick-off: 6pm

Meanwhile, NYC coach Todd Lowrie has named a 24-man squad for Sunday’s trial match against the Canberra Raiders Under 20s side.

A number of players will be making their first appearance in red and blue, including five-eighth Jack Johns, wingers Mitch Andrews and Lachlan Farr, and back rower Sam McIntyre.

12 players that represented the NYC Knights last year have also been named.

The match kicks off at 4pm at New Era Stadium in Cabramatta.

SQUAD

1. Matt Cooper
2. Mitch Andrews
3. Heath Gibbs
4. Brayden Musgrove
5. Lachlan Farr
6. Jack Johns
7. Hayden Loughrey
8. Jayden Butterfield
9. Tom Starling
10. Viko Puliuvea
11. Sam McIntyre
12. Henry Penn
13. Zac Hosking
Interchange
14. Brendan O’Hagan
15. Nash Birch
16. Eddy Tuilotolava
17. Cameron King
18. Tavita Fesolai
19. Dylan Clark
20. Keanu Dawson
21. Pasami Saulo
22. Kurtis Dark
23. Dean Kouka-Smith
24. Will Davies

NYC CANBERRA RAIDERS v NYC NEWCASTLE KNIGHTS

Kick-off: 4pm

Just an observation, but that's a very Anglo sounding team. Usually the younger grades have close to a 50/50 mix.

Edit: was referring to the U20s.

steven p white

Interesting observation Burwood, Knights most successful seasons have come from anglo dominated teams! Maybe a change that better represents the Hunter community & contains less 1 dimensional players, & can compete for the whole game with a bit of mongrel rather than turn it up when under the pump, quality over quantity or bigger isn't necessarily better may be the case!