Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

What Is Your '04' Team?

Actually I don't think it is burnout.
I would say there are few who play from such a young age until retirement age.,
Other things seems to nab them.
Injury, ego, laziness etc.

Frenzy

El Garbo said:
Galloway is neither yet IMO. From an experience standpoint alone he's way behind at least 10 others.

You've just contadicted yourself. You say you agree with the 'good enough, old enough' thing, but then say that he's neither good enough or old enough. The point I was making is that age is irrelevant.

As for experience, well, he's not going to pick up a good deal of that playing Jersey Flegg. If he's not in first grade, he'll be in Premier League for sure.

As for burnout, well being introduced to first grade footy at a young age certainly never hurt ET, Brad Fittler and the like. Just as it should have no effect on the Galloways and Aitkens of the Sharks.

As you can't spell the word it'd be too much to ask for you to know what it means. I haven't contradicted myself at all.

He's not good enough IMO

He's not old enough IMO

Ergo, he's neither :)

Frenzy

blacktip-reefy said:
Actually I don't think it is burnout.
I would say there are few who play from such a young age until retirement age.,
Other things seems to nab them.
Injury, ego, laziness etc.

Actually reefy, the 3 things you mention are closely linked symptoms of burnout.

Not usually individually but they become convoluted and thereby contributory factors.

e.g laziness is definitely a primary symptom of burnout. Laziness can lead to injury. Simplistic example, but true.

One of my pet hates is pedanticism. So I made a typo, big deal.

Perhaps it's just me, but when you say that you agree that 'if you're good enough, you're old enough' you are agreeing that his age is of no relevance.

So therefore, to say, and I quote:

He's not old enough IMO

is contradicting yourself. You've just agreed that age doesn't matter, but then said that he's not old enough.

Seems contradictory enough to me...

Frenzy

El Garbo said:
One of my pet hates is pedanticism. So I made a typo, big deal.

That's exactly what you are practicing now though. You're in one of your moods obviously and trying to argue for arguments sake.

This is simple.

You think one way on the subjest - I think another.

And look the world is still turning. Don't go Aries on us please :)

No I'm just trying to work out what in the hell your convoluted psychobabble of an opinion is.. now that you've explained that your opinion is just the opposite of mine, I'm happy to let it rest.

I just find it a little peculiar when you lead off your opposing argument with...

I agree with the sentiment actually.

Seems pretty straight forward to me.

If you are good enough, you are old enough.

If you are not good enough, you are not good enough.

Frenzy believes that Galloway is the latter. IMO he is closer to being the former, however, we should nurse him through so that there is no burnout, bad cronic injury, ego or laziness.

Shaun Hewitt

Hey man, Galloway was awesome in the 2003 season games he played in. Keith has a BIG future in him, i can see him playing until hes all old and wrinkly. Keith will be a LEGEND at the age of 17 HE IS A LEGEND!!!

eskimo joe

1.Peachey
2.Merrit
3.Vangana
4.Franze
5.Rieck
6.Bird
7.Kimmorly
8.Stevens
9.Gibson
10.Nutley
11.Gallen
12.Baily
13.Sullivan

14.Lomu
15.Beattie
16.Hilder
17.Bickerstaff

bluemazda

with all due respect to this bullshit goings on this is my current prediction what do u reckon ?

1. David Peachey (c)
2. Nathan Merritt (gk)
3. Ryan McGoldrick
4. Brian O'Driscoll
5. Paul Franze
6. Nigel Vagana
7. Michael Sullivan
13. Mathew Hilder
12. Mathew Bickerstaff
11. Danny Nutley
10. Chris Beattie
9. Dean Bosnich
8. Jason Stevens

14. Andrew Lomu
15. Keith Galloway
16. Dale Newton
17. Russell Aitken

coach. Stuart Raper.

SadShark

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hulkamanic 36 wrote:
eskimo joe wrote:

13.Sullivan
have you been drinking?

Sullivan at any number and I think we've had a few - escpecially number 7. He's just not ready for first grade along with Greg Bird.

This Is My Squad
Peachey
2 Merritt
3 Vagana
4 Franze
5 Reick
6 Bird
7 Kimmorley (C)
8 Stevens
9 Sullivan
10 Beattie
11 Nutley
12 Bailey
13 Hilder

14 Gallen
15 Bickerstaff
16 Bosnich
17 Galloway

beerboy

plazzi said:
1- D. PEACHEY (vc)
2- N. MERRITT
3- N. VAGANA
4- P. FRANZE
5- M. RIECK
6- G. Bird
7- B. KIMMORLEY (c)
13- M. HILDER
12- P. BAILEY
11- D. NUTLEY
10- C. BEATTIE
9- M. SULLIVAN
8- J. STEVENS
Interchange:
14- A. LOMU
15- P. GALLEN
16- K. GALLOWAY
17- D. BOSNICH

Coach: C. Anderson

This is a top 8 team = Anderson another 2 years at the sharks :)
What is your team?

haha yep thats exactly the line up i was thinking of
McGoldrick might push for a wing spot now with his addition of if Vagana is the 5/8 as he said he wouldnt mind playing

I really think Ando has done nicely this is a good team, not thats its looking likely but give him the chance to take these boys to the top 8, if not bye bye

wittyfan

Sullyfan's 2004 team would be:

1. Peachey (c)
2. Merritt
3. Vagana
4. Franze
5. Reick
6. Sully
7. Kimmorley
8. Stevens
9. Bosnich
10. Lomu
11. Gallen
12. Bailey
13. Birdy

Bench:
14. Beattie
15. Hilder
16. Galloway
17. Nutley

Coach: S. Raper

SHOOT THE BIRD

NO BIRDS ALLOWED

bird_nest_small.gif

BYE BYE BIRD

bluemazda

bluemazda said:
with all due respect to this bullsh*t goings on this is my current prediction what do u reckon ?

1. David Peachey
2. Nathan Merritt (gk)
3. Ryan McGoldrick
4. Phil Bailey
5. Paul Franze
6. Nigel Vagana
7. Brett Kimmorley(c)
13. Matt Hilder/Greg Bird
12. Matt Bickerstaff/Paul Gallen
11. Danny Nutley
10. Chris Beattie
9. Dean Bosnich
8. Jason Stevens

14. Andrew Lomu
15. Keith Galloway/Paul Gallen
16. Dale Newton/Greg Bird
17. Michael Sullivan

coach. Stuart Raper/ unlikely for Chris Anderson

i would now predict this side as for noddy says he s staying as in herald and sully can back up for bosnich....forgot bails so he,s in the centres now hows my team now ? and the two to be omitted more than likely the 2 youngsters galloway and newton