Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

What is your pass mark for 2020

Where will we finish in 2020

• 1-4

• 4-6

Votes: 5 14.7%
  • 7-8

Votes: 11 32.4%
  • Not in the top 8

Votes: 6 17.6%
  • Top 4

Votes: 1 2.9%
  • Top 6

Votes: 2 5.9%
  • Top 8

Votes: 9 26.5%

Sorry to bring a downer to a fun thread but my pass mark is to not have any players get sick or worse ...i honestly can't see this season playing out for any of the contact sports..
stay a metre away from anyone spraying droplets?!......as soon as one player or member of any club's training staff comes down with the virus then the 2020 season will come to a jarring halt and with the predicted spread that seems only a matter of time....sure hope it doesn't happen but i'll be surprised if we get too many rounds down the track before the government pulls the plug under pandemic powers

Again...sorry for the downer...stay safe people. .
And you can be sure, we will be 6 pts clear on the ladder and they decide to cancel the comp for this year.

WA Tiger

I don't think we are a lock for the top 8, but we should go close. Madge has done a fantastic job and our forward pack looks better and has more depth than anything I've seen in the past five years. On the surface, we seem to have more depth and competition for positions in the back 5 as well, but unlike the forwards, it's driven by a lack of class more than anything else. Apart from BJ, no one really seems to stand up and demand selection beyond what their team mates offer.

If we had gone into this season with Liddle at hooker and a talented young fullback like the ones we were targeting, I reckon it wouldn't have mattered who was in the other backline positions, we would have been playing finals football. However, we're going into Round 1 missing out on players like Grant and Brittain at hooker as well as Lomax and Brimson at fullback. I think the Walters/Reynolds combo can do a job, just like either AD or Thompson can at fullback, but it feels like we're treading water for another year. It's still too early to be expecting blokes like Zac Cini and Jake Simpkins to make the step up.

I'm not expecting big things this year, but I'm pretty excited the direction Madge is taking this club and if the board is smart enough to extend him, I reckon we can look forward to playing finals football regularly.
. Our backs will be fine. Probably the only positions that could appear lacking after Madge decides on who’s fullback AD or Corey (longer term prob AD) and how AD goes at centre if given the op this week with Mbye out and how that combination works with Corey at the back is one wing and centre or fullback - 2 weak positions. - Brookes, Benji, Nofo, AD, and Joey L are all top 4 quality easily. Only a pessimist would think otherwise. Im no happier about the forwards than the backs. Apart from Garner yet to fire, Seyforth, Zane, CK yet to fire Aloiai and maybe Mikaeli yet to fire and Oliver yet to fire the sooner the old firm move on the better. But for both the forwards and backs giving players some time to improve combinations with some tinkering including giving the new guys Talau (maybe this week so Thompson or Jennings on the wing) and Seyforth a go and some new found attitude, consistent effort, skill level, weight loss weight gain not seen before some of these other players may fill those left over spots well enough to even have u aiming a bit higher. I think we will have a pretty good idea where we will end up after the Dragons game.

super_coach

I think there is a real chance Garner will start the season in reggies. Got a feeling Lawrence and Lucy will be in the second row and the bench will be MCK,Reynolds and two tight forwards. Not saying I agree, but I think a real chance

Tiger Ted

I think there is a real chance Garner will start the season in reggies. Got a feeling Lawrence and Lucy will be in the second row and the bench will be MCK,Reynolds and two tight forwards. Not saying I agree, but I think a real chance
I’m a huge fan of rowdy & hate to c him retire without winning a premiership or captaining the team but sadly he has dropped in the pecking order & Garner in particular has leapfrogged him.
If the majority of our forwards r fit Rowdy will miss out although I won’t b pissed off if he is in the 17 coz he has enormous integrity & continues to put his body on the line with vigorous carries unlike & in contrast to timid Mbye.

How the FK Mbye has captained the club & Rowdy has not is beyond me.

This is a joke isn't it.

I reckon Garner gets picked first and I reckon Lawrence struggles to make the team. I could also see MCK taking over Garners spot. Chee-Kam is a great runner of the footy. I thought he looked better than Garner in the trial.

WA Tiger

I hope your right for the sake of original thought

The unknown

Cant see it mate, Rowdy is on his last legs and Garner is on his way up & wouldn’t be surprised if he proper makes a name for himself this year

macnaz

I rate Garner over Matterson to be honest , I just think he has a better all round game and is a team player with a wise football brain.
Matterson had some speed and agility for a big guy but as he attempts to build up to be pretty Adonis he will lose much of the positives that gave him potential.
I'm calling a torn pec muscle by season end for the sook anyway :wink:

Ned Kelly

8th absolute minimum. No excuses with injuries etc we just have to get there. On paper I think the top 6 are a bit ahead of us (Roosters, Storm, Manly, Raiders, Eels, Souths) but I don’t think the rest are any better then us, plus the game isn’t played on paper, one favoured team always crashes and burns.

I think 6th/7th is a realistic goal.

I think we are a realistic chance of finishing ahead of Many and Raiders. 4th would be fantastic, 6th or above would be exciting. 8th would leave me hopeful for next year. Below 8th would be crushing.

I'm tipping 6th.

Ned Kelly

Sorry to bring a downer to a fun thread but my pass mark is to not have any players get sick or worse ...i honestly can't see this season playing out for any of the contact sports..
stay a metre away from anyone spraying droplets?!......as soon as one player or member of any club's training staff comes down with the virus then the 2020 season will come to a jarring halt and with the predicted spread that seems only a matter of time....sure hope it doesn't happen but i'll be surprised if we get too many rounds down the track before the government pulls the plug under pandemic powers

Again...sorry for the downer...stay safe people. .

Interesting Das but nonsense. The season will be played out to the end even if it ended up being a bunch of no names playing at a stadium of empty seats. TV rights will ensure a full season.

Das Hassler

Interesting Das but nonsense. The season will be played out to the end even if it ended up being a bunch of no names playing at a stadium of empty seats. TV rights will ensure a full season.

You missed my point....not about the crowd but that the players have to engage in exactly what health guidlines regarding this virus tell us NOT to do...i.e. be close to anyone spraying moisture droplets. As soon as one nrl player tests positive after the season's underway with everyone sticking their heads in sweaty scrums and tackling everyone else then that'll be all she wrote...it'll become a duty of care issue

The unknown

I think we are a realistic chance of finishing ahead of Many and Raiders. 4th would be fantastic, 6th or above would be exciting. 8th would leave me hopeful for next year. Below 8th would be crushing.

I'm tipping 6th.

I don’t know, Des Hasler coached teams just seem to surprise everyone every year. I can’t believe he isn’t mentioned as one of the top dogs when it comes to coaching

Above the raiders may be possible though, they do have a habit of shitting the bed the year after a good one, plus the fact they have lost so much strike power

Ron's_Mate

I rate Garner over Matterson to be honest , I just think he has a better all round game and is a team player with a wise football brain.
Matterson had some speed and agility for a big guy but as he attempts to build up to be pretty Adonis he will lose much of the positives that gave him potential.
I'm calling a torn pec muscle by season end for the sook anyway :wink:
Or a massive blow up with Brad Arthur and he moves to Rugby Union.

WA Tiger

Or a massive blow up with Brad Arthur and he moves to Rugby Union.
Imagine the conversations between Stephano and Matterson...What you were only on $400k Ill be on twice that or them even thinking that at the right time would be gold..or when Stephano walks in the room Matterson and Moses shut up...

WA Tiger

I don’t know, Des Hasler coached teams just seem to surprise everyone every year. I can’t believe he isn’t mentioned as one of the top dogs when it comes to coaching
Yea when there backs are to the wall Maybe not against us “easy beats” ..and before long they are our Bunny..Our backline has massive potential with Joey added the best centre in the game and AD who has the touch and only needs some time to settle in, and the team firing with Grant finally completing a good spine and LL whose going to be feeding off his brothers energy. And Zane pounding away and Seyfarths missile runs. All new guys..The backs are going to benefit big time. Benji and Brooke’s Nofo and Thompson are going to wonder how it could suddenly be so easy to dismantle opposition defences and then once the confidence and combinations grow the sky is the limit...Benji will be the key although without him we will still do ok..Maybe even catch the ball and fall over the line Jennings can come into his own..We can beat Manly no worries they arnt a top team they are only near the top and not beyond us. Not now.

WA Tiger

I still can’t get over how we were down 6 nil against the warriors and getting pummelled with penalties like virtually every game when we were desperate for a win at the end of last season and it was too much for us..This time we just cruised to a I think 20-6 win ..get used to it lads

WA Tiger

One things for sure Madge thinks he can beat Manly now..He’s prob already spent the money from winning the Grand Final this year ..

stryker

Imagine the conversations between Stephano and Matterson...What you were only on $400k Ill be on twice that or them even thinking that at the right time would be gold..or when Stephano walks in the room Matterson and Moses shut up...
Who is Stephano?