Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

What is your side NOW VS Broncs

PB

1. Burt
2. Peterson
3. Lyon
4. Vaealiki
5. Grothe
6. Witt
7. Dykes
8. Peek
9. Morris
10. Cayless
11. Hindmarsh
12. Stapelton
13. Wagon

14. Armit
15. Vella
16. Cannings
17. Webster

It baffles me how some of you can pick players like Pai , Thorman, ODywer and co, when the most you could have seen any of them for is 20 minutes of a trial.

Paranoid

1. Burt
2. Grothe
3. Lyon
4. Vaealiki
5. Peterson
6. Dykes
7. Witt
8. Cayless (c)
9. Morris
10. Cannings
11. Hindmarsh
12. Hopkins
13. Wagon

14. Thorman
15. Widders
16. Armit
17. Stapleton

Everyone back to their positions and more ball playing options - and field and off the bench.

Burt had a shocker, but deserves to to have a another crack at FB straight away. Vaealiki back in the centres, for if nothing else than his defence and Peterson surprising enough playing outside him on the wing !
Cayless back in the front row and can be come back if needed.

Eelectrica

Here's a stupid idea I had on my way home from work: Pick as near as is possible to the team that did the job last year in Brisbane.
Last years team ------ Proposed team
1. Graham -------- Burt
2. Moodie --------- Grothe
3. Lyon ------------ Someone from prems who deserves a shot.
4. Prince ---------- Vaealiki
5. Petterson ------- Petterson
6. Dykes ----------- Dykes
7. Witt -------------- Witt
8. Cayless ---------- Cayless
9. Morris ------------ Morris
10. Heckenberg --- Vella - One last shot or that's it
11. Hindmarsh ----- Hindmarsh
12. Hopkins --------- Hopkins
13. Wagon ---------- Wagon

14. Peek ------------- Peek
15. Crouch ---------- Armit
16. Treacy ----------- Cannings
17 Widders ----------- Widders

11,12 and 13 are all tireless workers who can play for 80 minutes
We won plenty of games with Witt at 7 and will win plenty more, might as well start this Sunday.
Vella should be very embarresed after Saturdays performance so we might be able to capitilise off that and get him to produce. Let him know in no uncertain terms that this is his last shot barring an unbelievable injury toll

fish eel said:
I'll throw Langi into my side to replace Killer.

It will be a toss up but apparently Langi, O'Dwyer and Gruszka played well in the PL match so they are a shot.

Makes the return of Ashley Graham in a few weeks even more important!

fish eel

Gruszka's more of a winger, isn't he?

Can't judge O'Dwyer, reports of him are good.....sounds like an ideal lock if wags is to play 5/8 :shock:

Well we should know today.

Don't be too surprised if Kat retains his spot, now that Killer is out.

Although Smith said in an interview yesterday, ther will definately be some changes, he may have been referring to the front row.

He is however he's a big lad with a tonne of speed and good defence from what I have seen in the past.

O'Dwyer played in the centres with Langi and set up a good try for Gruszka and himself apparently. Plays well above his weight and a good defensive centre may be needed against Berrigan.

The Engineers Room

Vaealiki
Burt
O'Dwyer
Wagon
Grothe
Witt/Thorman
Dykes

Hindmarsh
Cayless
Armit
Peek
Morris
Cannings

Hopkins
Stapleton
Pai
Gruzka

Misty Bee

Know what team I'd love to see in the blue and gold v Brisbane?

1 Schifcofske
2 Burt
3 Lyon
4 Vaealiki
5 Grothe
6 Dykes
7 Witt
8 Heckenberg
9 Drew
10 Cayless
11 Hindmarsh
12 Hindmarsh
13 Solomona

BENCH
14 Moran
15 Ryan
16 Cannings
17 Clinton

Now, wouldn't that smash Brisbane?

OK, ok, that would also mean we have a decent player retention policy.....

However, for the life of me I cannot imagine Luke Burt being anything but a winger (where he could be an international) rather than a willing utility. Hell, with Burth, vaealiki and Grothe on the club, how that could be anything else than 3/4 or our 3/4's is bewond me. Asfullback, if Ash Grahamis crook, but the bullet and give either Prince or McKinnon a go. Macca may be only 'a bloke who failed at SOuths' but he is a specialist fullback with a smidgin of experience. I'm sure he could do the job.

Following Paranoid's example, Dykes is the clubs best 5/8 by a mile! Witty is the best half - Thorman may develop into the choice backup for these pair when the inevitable injuries strike.

Up front, the same. Cayless plays like a front rower, even if he isn't exactly built like one. His ballplaying, whilst at timea joy to watch, is not a second rowers. Caylo is a master at creating second phase play,. but a backrower must create opportunities for his centre. Watch Hindy at work - he's totally different.

If Caylo isn't big enough to do the Front row job (well, we bought a billion props, didn't we?), then get someone who can. Cannings and Peek (Or, if unfit, Armit) should be used.

Hindy is a second rower. End of story. He topped the Dally M polls for his trade 3 times running in the 11 jumper. Making him a Lock is like making the Sydney Harbour Bridge a ferry.

Widders (the forgotten man of Parramatta) would do a mirror image thing in 12. Yeah, that makes us more like the sides of old, but isn't that the bloody point? Parra failed in 02/03 not because of ballplayers being out of fashion (See the Kiwi's play footy last October?). They failed because of lack momentum up front (and a numbnuts coach who continues to try and make a prop out of a winger)

Lock the scrum with a workaholic. If Wags is on the nose, Hopkins isn't. Muckert, anyone?

Bench simply has to cover the halves and the momentum. Thorman must be there. The other 3? A combo of ballplaying, brawn, speed, experience, mongrel and the utter stupidity of youth (there has to be an element of "Son, go out there and run into 'em as hard as you can,son. don't worry about Gordie. Run into him, and while you are there, tell him his mum might end up as a nice slice of bacon next to Sunday morning's eggs" "Duuh, sure thing, coach!!!")

And the latest quandary. Lyon's absene. I'd be tempted to put Wagon (as earlier fans noted) or even Vella. The big sheila has speed, and he was a back once (before Brian Smith thought he was Dallas Donnelly)

Therefore, I reckon this wouldn't be far off the mark.

1) McKinnon
2) Burt
3) Wagon
4) Vaealiki
5) Grothe
6) Dykes
7) Witt
8) Cannings
9) Morris
10) Peek
11) Hindmarsh
12) Widders
13) Hopkins

BENCH
Thorman
Cayless
Pearson
Armit

thedux

From all reports Witt struggled in PL and was replaced by Thorman who was pretty much the difference b/w the sides. I would be pulling for the guy with rep honours ahead of the one who seems to have spat it because there is a bit more competition this year.

1. Burt
2. Petersen
3. O'Dwyer
4. Vaeiliki
5. Grothe
6. Thorman
7. Dykes
8. Cannings
9. Morris
10. Peek
11. Hindmarsh
12. Cayless
13. Wagon

14. Hopkins
15. Tsoulos
16. Pearson
17. Armit

Misty Bee said:

1 Schifcofske
2 Burt
3 Lyon
4 Vaealiki
5 Grothe
6 Dykes
7 Witt
8 Heckenberg
9 Drew
10 Cayless
11 Hindmarsh
12 Hindmarsh
13 Solomona

BENCH
14 Moran
15 Ryan
16 Cannings
17 Clinton

Now, wouldn't that smash Brisbane?

OK, ok, that would also mean we have a decent player retention policy.....

It would also mean we would be about to lose all our competition points due to a salary cap scandal.....I think only the Bulldogs could retain all their stars, buy a few newbies (ie Cannings) AND stay under the cap :lol: :lol: :lol:

Misty Bee

I don't think so at all, Strider. Drew and Hindy didn't leave for more money, and Witt, Grothe, Solo and a few on the bech play for a bit more than a song. And there's no Vella eating up the cap.

Hey, we might won something then, ay Strider?

Drew didn't leave for more money?.....wake up to yourself - Drew came to Parra on chickens feed - he just wanted a club he could get a start with - he had a huge 01 and an indifferent 02 - he left cos Canberra were willing to offer him what he thought he was worth....thats plenty more than the contract he came to Parra on.

As for Vella - he signed a long term contract several years ago when he was playing rep footy....and I am sure back then all parra fans were happy that he would be around for a long time.....but his form has obviously fallen.....correct me if I am wrong, BUT Parra owe him his money till the end of his contract, they couldn't just dump his salary even if they wanted to....so your little fairy tale side is based on dreams mate.

If you are going to be a smart arse, at least have some credability.

Ian also got a good deal to move to Canberra - and a long term one at that as Parra were looking at a two year deal as opposed to the three or more year deal that Canberra were offering. As it is of all players I wouldn't have back Drew is one - PJ Marsh would be the first one I would sign back.

All I can hope is that Smith gets the sack or the team starts winning cos I can't stand listening to you bitch for the next 25 rounds. :roll:

brook

fish eel said:
Pazza said:
17.Pearson (get rid of that god damn passing game)

:D

All we need that ugly bastard to do is run hard and tackle hard!

It'll never happen.

Its a shame 'cause on the games that corey DOES settle down and play like a prop he's up there with the best - but he fancies himself as a 5/8th and no coach has ever been able to weed that out of him.

I'm suprised he was doing it in the first game of the season though - traditionally he starts really well and then starts going downhill after around round 6 (I think he gets bored or something)

wait till you see his grubbers ;-)

Pigskin

Misty Bee said:

1 Schifcofske
2 Burt
3 Lyon
4 Vaealiki
5 Grothe
6 Dykes
7 Witt
8 Heckenberg
9 Drew
10 Cayless
11 Hindmarsh
12 Hindmarsh