Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

What to do with Level 3 - Parramatta Leagues Club

Parra Future

I also think it is logical if the leagues club spend significant money on football, they have a say in how it is spent. A big say.

Fish Eel,

I agree totally. However, there should be two totally separate boards with totally separate directors and two CEO's. As said above one runs and concentrates on all things football orientated. They also put their budgets and forecasts before the Leagues Club each year. The Leagues Club should know what is happening with the money and how it is being spent and people should be held accountable for it as discussed.

The core question is:
How will moving the NRL operations back to the football club guarantee the long term future of a stand alone Parramatta Eels more than the current structure?

Now your point in neither cut it is fine by me. Again, I'm interested in everyones opinions and it is good that you are putting things up in the air. I'm not trying to be technical here, but your question does talk about guarantee future MORE than current structure. Terry may discuss this answer in more depth than I will tonight due to time constraints but here goes. When I refer to the "Current Structure", I also am talking in terms of prior to the Football Club elections. With 7 men that were directors on both boards (FC & LC) making the decisions for both entities with the same CEO to carry things out, I must admit that there are several serious issues there. Firstly, is that who is going to question what the Leagues Club wants done if they are setting the rules and then the same individuals deal with it at the FC. Two, If no ideas potentially arose from the directors at the LC, well there sure as hell wasn't going to be any coming from the FC either considering they were the same guys. Thirdly and to me this one is extremely important. How do people expect 7 individuals + a CEO which is a bloody important position to give their 100% attention to two different organisations. Our belief was a mix of people on both boards, but not the same two on each. With this, there would be more room for questioning how things are done, more room for numerous people to assist in helping improve things and more time spent on both organisations. The Directors of the FC need to concentrate solely on the FC and the Directors of the LC should be focusing solely on the LC. Which brings me to an even more important point.

If the 1st Grade team was shifted back to the Football Club, the Football Club (lets not forget that it is called a FOOTBALL Club) then it is in control of all of the Football teams. It is rather strange that a Football Club runs grades but not the main one. It is rather bizarre. Those directors in that Club and the CEO plus all of the staff and assistants etc can concentrate purely on Football from the top to the bottom. If you have damn good juniors like we do, we should be taking them to the next level and have people in that organisation purely focused on that agenda. Not worrying about smokie laws and pokie tax's. Thats what the LC Directors should be doing. The unfortunate thing for the prior mob is that they were the controllers of both and I really do not know how they planned to get their heads around everything and still believe that they could make it work like clockwork. This is not putting crap on the current directors, it is merely a point. I don't believe that the current LC 7 directors and CEO could have put all their time into two entities. It had to be one or the other. Or a mixture of both. You have a Leagues Club losing significant amounts of money as Ovo has posted on here. What do you think people are going to concentrate on. Commonsense says that you need to fill that hole and quickly.

Now on the issue of accountability as mentioned previously, how can you hold 7 guys accountable when they win so many club championships at junior level but the same 7 guys are losing a bucketload at the LC and the first grade team has not tasted what some would classify as success for many many years. How do you hold people accountable. You could say they are doing a good job, and you could say they aren't. It makes things exceptionally blurry to judge. Moving the first grade team puts everything into a FOOTBALL Club. It then should have Directors who have a mixture in both business and also in Football. Directors who know how to play the game, what problems you face as a player, how to cope with media attention, training, and etc etc. The guys on 3P will tell you that they want the players not just to be coached in Football, but in life as well. To make them know that people understand what they are currently going through. That people are there for them and they have all the time under the sun for them. Having it all under the one umbrella means the football teams can be held accountable in an area if the fans believe that they need to be. The mixture of directors means that full concentration can be given to that aspect. Having just juniors and not first grade does not make sense due to the fact why would you want a leagues club to be controlling it? You want the people dedicated to that business and the players looking after them from the start to the finish.

On the issue of the LC and the football team. It shouldn't be an area for those directors to be looking at. The only thing the LC should be looking at football related is the overall expense of that operation and the income that it is generated and how the whole lot is broken down. That should be provided by budgets drawn up by the CEO of the Football Club which has been approved by FC Directors and implemented by FC staff. A full blown team fully focused on the one area. The LC Directors sole focus should be on rebuilding a business to become profitable again. By doing that by attracting more patrons. To do that, they need to make the joint more appealing.

This is a long winded post Fish and I hope you do not think I am beating around the bush, but as I said, it is probably one of the most difficult questions to answer quickly that I have come across considering the fact that I know an answer of "Because it should" won't cut it with you.

To sum up the answer to this question. How will moving the NRL operations back to the football club guarantee the long term future of a stand alone Parramatta Eels more than the current structure?
My belief is that with the different boards focusing on their individual organisations, more will be achievable than currently. More focus and attention will be applied to both business' and different strategies can be carried out if need be due to separate boards. I'd love to go into more depth with you but time permitting at this point and other things that I need to answer make it difficult. Please let me know if you are coming down this Saturday so that I can make more time to sit down with you and we can cover this at length. Then you are more than welcome to come back online and post my response however you break it down. If we disagree, well thats ok. But I wouldn't mind covering it in a lot more detail than what I believe I possibly could via a post. In my head, it seems to be crystal clear, but writing it in a quick sort of format, I am probably struggling a bit. I hope this somehow provides a little more insight than previously.

You would really hope that all invovled (CEO, Directors, Senior Mgmnt and Staff) would be covering all aspects of just football orientated affairs and having no other distractions. The same can be said of the LC and all involved. You would hope that all would be purely focused on the business and not worrying about distractions outside of that. The 3P ticket that will be aimed at the LC election will be very business orientated. That is what the LC needs. Business people with experience who all bring something different to the table (and before anyone jumps down my throat saying that I just caned the current LC Directors, I didn't, I was explaining what 3P will be putting forward.

An extremely good summation of the case to have the NRL side back under the FC's responsibilities, imo.

This manages to say in detail what some of us have been trying in dribs and drabs to explain here for a couple of days.

Parra Future

The question is there is he wants to answer.

I would like to know, as I posted, that I am voting for the person on the ballot paper not the person in their ear.

I said, potentially, it may be.

I also said Colin has made a good contribution to the forum and I am sure we'll find out more closer to the polls, particuarly once all candidates are known.

The only people, IMO, that should speak on behalf of board members are board members or paid staff of the club to speak on board decisions.

Why would candidates need to elect a spokesperson? Why can't they speak for themselves? Yes, I know it's better than what the current board do. It would be even better to from candidates (which may be Col?) rather than their proxy.

I originally wrote that post 289 was something I was going to respond too, but then I realised that I was actually going to quote something from it, but have since written something similar myself so I will move on. The above is post 349.

Fish eel,

Geez you have been proactive. When I get to bed, I'm blaming you when my wife asks me why? :D I'll try to cover as many as possible from the above comments.

1) The question is there is he wants to answer. Fish, I don't know what this part was about, so if you want to post it again and tell me again, I will answer it. Sorry about that.

2) I would like to know, as I posted, that I am voting for the person on the ballot paper not the person in their ear. I noticed alot of posts tonight similar to this statement and I wanted to cover a few points. One of the comments that someone has written is in regards to why is 3P still around after winning the FC Election and is the board split because the 3P phrase is still there. The best answer to that question is 3P was formed to create change. The vision and the goal was to take both the FC and the LC but with the right candidates for each. Why does 3P still exist. Because we are still going for the LC. As for people being in peoples ears, myself, Terry Leabeater, Bob Gare and numerous other 3P individuals are not aloud in the boardroom meetings that Ray, Guru, Bert and John C are attending with the Doc, Ron and Geoff. While Ray, Guru, Bert and John C (called 3P so I don't have to keep typing all four of the names) are in these meetings, there are things that are coming up for votes and they need to decide what they want to do. It is not up to I or Terry or Bob or anyone else. It is up to the individuals that are in the room. We are all still friends and may catch up on a regular basis, but that does not mean we have our hands up their butts moving their mouths.

3) I also said Colin has made a good contribution to the forum and I am sure we'll find out more closer to the polls, particuarly once all candidates are known. Thanks. I think I posted this already, but we will be naming our ticket shortly. There is a reason for the delay, and I apologise. We do not need anything hitting us like it did last time however. When we do release things, full details of each individual will be given in regards to background, specialisation etc. I think I have posted before should be available mid Feb to end of Feb at the latest.

4) The only people, IMO, that should speak on behalf of board members are board members or paid staff of the club to speak on board decisions. I'm not sure if this is in reference to me. If so, firstly, I can guarantee you that I am on no payroll for the 3P group. It would be great if I was, because I think the overtime rates and penalty rates would be awesome. Joke people, joke only. Seriously, I am given no money and do not wish to get any for what I have tried to do so far. Nothing has been promised to me and I do not expect anything. It would be great if I was a staff member of the club and I could be a representative, however I am extremely content in my current employment.

5) Why would candidates need to elect a spokesperson? Why can't they speak for themselves? Yes, I know it's better than what the current board do. It would be even better to from candidates (which may be Col?) No Fish I am not an official spokesman for 3P. I am just a member and I love coming online and talking with everyone. The individuals that make up 3P are aware that I come online and aware of the posts that I put down and they support it 100%. Nothing that I write here is secret or should not be said. On the issue of speaking for themselves, they do all the time. Guru has been on here before. The newspapers are always hitting up Ray and Bert and John. Radio and TV. Public Functions. Get-togethers as organised on here etc. Same as you don't currently see me on tv or hear me on the radio etc etc. Not everyone can be everywhere at once. They also have jobs as well just like us. Your final point above about "which may be Col" :- All I'll say is , it may be, it may not. All will be revealed soon.

Parra Future

imo - the issue is not whether they should or shouldn't have other ppl advising and helping - but more are they able to properly take part in board meetings without having to go back and run things by the "advisors" .... i dunno - it just seems the driving force and brains trust of 3P aren't actually the board members

Post 392. Strider, Good points above. Alot of people have advisors on certain issues. It certainly did help in winning the Football Club elections and may be just as helpful in regards to the Leagues Club elections. (IN SAYING THAT PEOPLE, PLEASE REMEMBER TO COME AND VOTE. Thanks).

Are they able to take part in meetings without advisors. Absolutley. We had a board we wanted implemented at the Football Club. We have one we want implemented at the Leagues Club. Maybe who you believe to be the brains trust are involved in part 2. However, I don't believe the guys involved in part one were morons either.

Parra Future

OK, just so some of the ideas for the 3rd floor aren't lost inbetween the part of the long-winded and somehwat tangental debate that I have been caught up in (and have now hopefully put to bed), I think these were the ideas that people have suggested in single posts in recent pages:

Gym (Haynzy)
Paintball Centre (Colonel)
Something to fill the $6mil revenue hole that the club's pursuit of pokies has left us with (Delboy)
Somewhere that indicates a home game is about to start in the next few hours (Carson)

Sorry if I've missed any or mis-credited, just gathering them together for ease of reading and discussion below.

Post 429. Bartman, this is good. I reckon it would be great if the same thing was done like when everyone posted their names next to dates for the get-togethers. Maybe we should have one running list like the above as long as people keep it serious and don't put crazy stuff like "Toe Jam stalls". Jesseel, that where you go arrrrrrgh.

Parra Future

not gilt-edged, but yeah, they'd need an invitation to even know it exists ..... or do we believe that everyone in the world loves surfing the net and in particularly THIS forum :crazy:..... i'm pretty sure Col went to the 3P meeting and invited all of them to attend :thumn

I can cop the "the current board to jack sh*t to try and communicate with anyone" arguement - but for some reason ppl seem to keep expecting them to be at an event organised to assit in over throwing them that they probably know nothing of :?

Post 437. Strider, trust me mate, I more than anyone don't want to see the continued fight over were they invited or werent they or don't blame them for this or do. Again, please people, lets not ramp it up again. All I wanted to say was the outright truth. It was originally a 3P get-together with the fans both from this site and off it. To date, the large majority of attendees have been from this site. When Ovo did request if he could come, it did blow me away, and I as did other from this forum said yes. To be honest, I didn't know how it would go with Ovo there but it all worked out alright. I don't know how it would go with the others however. Did we invite them? No not personally. But we didnt invite Russell Crowe or John Howard or Michael Jackson or Darren Lockyer either. We put an invite on the thread and also people that talked to 3P members whereever they may be at the time. If the current LC Board wanted to do it with the fans, I think it would be strange for us to be there as well. Did I invite the 3P members? Too be honest, I did tell the 3P group about the idea and when the planned dates were going to be. I at no stage expected all 3P members to turn up. In saying that too, if they did, there would have been probably too many people trying to talk at once. I did have a preference for a different FC Board member at each and also for Terry Leabeater to be in attendance with Bob Gare. So yes, I did.

Apologies if this starts up another war thread, but I just wanted to answer some of your questions.

Parra Future

As Axl Rose was wont to say, "Yowza!". This thread has grown legs upon legs. However to my first point.

There was another suggestion from some old mate about having games area for kids like Penrith. I for one reckon all the ideas are good and valid and should be considered to establish the potential for utilisation, revenue and outlay costs of each.

Personally, if I magically turned into some sort of Rusty/PHaC type benefactor/sponsor of the club and had to answer the question of what to do with level 3 of the LC, and in turn how to generate further revenue and involve both Parramatta fans and the community at large, it would be a bit daunting trying to come up with the answers on my own. So if money weren't an object I would be looking at one of two things:

1) engaging some consultancy firm to look at both the leagues club operation/utilisation and the entire membership/fan engagement operations; or

2) finding the best AFL club membership manager from down south (although I believe West Coast have to turn people away from memberships??? :crazy:) and the best hospitality club manager in the state and attempting to headhunt both to our club.

Again reiterating money not being an object. Aligning the club with these types of successful operators would ensure that we jump ahead to be top of the game and get value for money on existing assets while working to ensure future financial viability.

With regards to the bartman et al vs. fish et al discussion regarding putting hard questions to the 3P and/or LC Board groups. Seems to me that what fish really wants to know is what advantage is there to be gained from returning to the old structure to help him in deciding how to vote. Which is fine, but as yet there has been no answer.

I'm speculating here, but perhaps the answer hasn't come yet because either PF hasn't had much time to get on this week; OR it's because he needs to go back to the ticket to clarify their position on this.

Either way I'd be willing to bet that your question is one of those he intends on getting to when he next logs on. If you don't get an answer on this prior to the election though then you'd be more than entitled to let it inform your voting on the day.

To clarify my own stance on the elections I'd have to say I'm a 3P supporter and look forward to seeing their ticket for the elections. I do enjoy though getting to hear the questions of the unconvinced put to 3P on this forum though and look forward to more of that happening as the election gets closer.

In closing I will say that Terry's post of earlier in the day was music to my ears. To have a premiership-winning player walking the streets of Parramatta late at night in an effort to help improve our club tells me there is hope for our club after all. What we all want is to return this blue and gold mob of ours into a real powerhouse of the league for generations to come.

POST 443. Great Post. In regards to your point 2). This is something that is actually taking place in regards to benchmarking. No we have not headhunted anyone like Point 2 suggests, but we have had alot of work done in areas regarding well run clubs even from different sporting arenas. It is an area that Terry Leabeater over a lengthy period of time and generously given alot of his time towards.

Your closing remarks from Terry are exactly what he did do. I'll give you guys the heads up about Terry. He can be very firm in his beliefs, but he does not talk sh*t. He says it how it is and he is straight up. Terry epitomises passion when you hear him speak about the club. Anybody who may believe that he could be a dumb footballer would be highly mistaken. The guy is actually very articulate, extremely professional in how he goes about things, a keen listener and always keen to learn more. He is also the kind of bloke that will stop at nothing to strive for better things and help out anyone that may be in trouble. A true gentleman.

Parra Future

WOO HOO. I am now up to date.

All, if I have not answered a question or missed something, please let me know, I am not responding to certain posts on purpose, there are just alot to cover at this point in time. Clearly I've missed by 12pm deadline, so now I am officially blaming Fish eel. I'm staying online till 1am now so if you want me, hit me. Otherwise, I probably won't be able to come back online till late tomorrow night (Friday), and then I will see whoever can make it to the do on Saturday. I do urge you all to come if physically possible for you. There will be others from 3P. Not just me and you can ask questions to whoever you want.

Parra Future

Am working from home at the moment and just realised it past 1am now. I'll read from here on when I get back online and talk to you all later today.

Post 437. Strider, trust me mate, I more than anyone don't want to see the continued fight over were they invited or werent they or don't blame them for this or do. Again, please people, lets not ramp it up again. All I wanted to say was the outright truth. It was originally a 3P get-together with the fans both from this site and off it. To date, the large majority of attendees have been from this site. When Ovo did request if he could come, it did blow me away, and I as did other from this forum said yes. To be honest, I didn't know how it would go with Ovo there but it all worked out alright. I don't know how it would go with the others however. Did we invite them? No not personally. But we didnt invite Russell Crowe or John Howard or Michael Jackson or Darren Lockyer either. We put an invite on the thread and also people that talked to 3P members whereever they may be at the time. If the current LC Board wanted to do it with the fans, I think it would be strange for us to be there as well. Did I invite the 3P members? Too be honest, I did tell the 3P group about the idea and when the planned dates were going to be. I at no stage expected all 3P members to turn up. In saying that too, if they did, there would have been probably too many people trying to talk at once. I did have a preference for a different FC Board member at each and also for Terry Leabeater to be in attendance with Bob Gare. So yes, I did.

Apologies if this starts up another war thread, but I just wanted to answer some of your questions.
cool .... thanks for the reply - altho you really should be getting sleep at 1am :lol: .... don't worry - there's no war - its all good

fish eel

Thanks fot those answers Col.

I will digest them properly either later today or over the weekend.

The time and effort put in to them is appreciated.

Your closing remarks from Terry are exactly what he did do. I'll give you guys the heads up about Terry. He can be very firm in his beliefs, but he does not talk sh*t. He says it how it is and he is straight up. Terry epitomises passion when you hear him speak about the club. Anybody who may believe that he could be a dumb footballer would be highly mistaken. The guy is actually very articulate, extremely professional in how he goes about things, a keen listener and always keen to learn more. He is also the kind of bloke that will stop at nothing to strive for better things and help out anyone that may be in trouble. A true gentleman.

Am I right in saying that Terry is 3P's preferred CEO for the FC ? What is his professional background ?

parra pete

Am I right in saying that Terry is 3P's preferred CEO for the FC ? What is his professional background ?

And if so, is he more qualified to the position than Denis Fitzgerald who has occupied the position for the past couple of decades...

JessEel

Accredited Media Releases
Coming along as listening to these guys talk would do alot for anyone with doubt in their minds - they are open, articulate and passionate when they talk about their plans and their ideas for the club. Terry is one in particular that you could listen to all day - and while i can understand what people's opinion of him may be (ie: dumb footy player) you certainly can be swayed once you have a chat to him. Bob Gare is another!

Come down tomorrow alvo and meet them! (if possible)

Anyone they suggest for CEO would be right for the role, they aren't just going to say "Hey thanks for your hard work, here's your reward" - it will all be carefully thought through

Terry is one in particular that you could listen to all day - and while i can understand what people's opinion of him may be (ie: dumb footy player)

Tbh, Terry was the much brighter of the "book-ends".

That Buggo, fair dinkum :shock::sarcasm:...........:D

PS. Just joking.

JessEel

Accredited Media Releases
mind you, im not saying that that was my opinion at all! (he's bigger then me, gee i hope he doesn't whack me!!)