Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

What to do with Level 3 - Parramatta Leagues Club

TheRam

Heres a thought for all. I am not saying this is 3P either. Just a crazy thought while late at night. What do you reckon people would think if you got all the machines and through them over to Vikings in Dundas Valley and built that up to be the casino that everyone talks about. Then keep the Leagues Club and turn into something more community and footy friendly to try to please all other demographics.

Hey PF, that's exactly what I was thinking, but to scared to write here, for fear of being called a loony. But then you could really reconfigure the whole pace and turn it into something special. Or even level the place and star a new.

spiderdan

And will my membership bring me discounts from businesses outside of the club...
i brought this up in the sticker thread. i think it's a good way to attract more sponsors and members to the football club and could be a start to making the football club a business venture that doesn't need to rely so much on the leagues club for funding.

Hey PF, that's exactly what I was thinking, but to scared to write here, for fear of being called a loony. But then you could really reconfigure the whole pace and turn it into something special. Or even level the place and star a new.

Re-locating your primary income stream to an area with a low income demographic is a stupid idea.

Just as stupid as going into $20M debt and re-building the club.

The only way forward is to bring back families to the club (and game) whilst keeping the pokie addicts happy.

fish eel

G,day Mate Yes I do try to visit the club on most days and I do appreciate the improvment ideas I have been reading and will work hard to develop them.
Unfortunately our club needs to have a good poker machine area to improve our income.
My first love is our rugby league and our only real source of income is through our gaming area.
Last year our contribution to cover the loss in league was in excess of $6million this as well as the years increase in gaming tax $6.3million will result in our club recording a loss for the year.
Mate I appreciate your comments and assure you I will do my best to keep our club afloat...OVO

Is that going to be before or after the grant to the football for this year?

My understanding was that last financial year, the club ran at a profit, and the deficit occured after the grant to the football club?

gronk said:
Re-locating your primary income stream to an area with a low income demographic is a stupid idea.

Particuarly in the current economic climate.

Parra Future

our only real source of income is through our gaming area.
Last year our contribution to cover the loss in league was in excess of $6million this as well as the years increase in gaming tax $6.3million will result in our club recording a loss for the year.
Mate I appreciate your comments and assure you I will do my best to keep our club afloat...OVO

Suity,

Does the above sort of answer your previous question to Bartman?

Yodaeel

Is that going to be before or after the grant to the football for this year?

My understanding was that last financial year, the club ran at a profit, and the deficit occured after the grant to the football club?

Particuarly in the current economic climate.

Yodaeel

I have not as yet received the years final fgures but I beleive the licenced club will show a slight loss prior to the leagues cost .
The smoking regulations and the additional poker machine tax has realy cost us..OVO

I have not as yet received the years final fgures but I beleive the licenced club will show a slight loss prior to the leagues cost .
The smoking regulations and the additional poker machine tax has realy cost us..OVO

Where do the smokers drink and gamble these days ? I'm sure they haven't stopped. My guess is that they have just found more convenient premises.

Yes I've read this thread. I just thought it would be an ideal time to summarize 3P's action plan. Seeing he is asking Ovo to do so.

Well, considering I'm just a fan, I'll ask Ovo the same question...........

Alan, what plan of action do the board have to turn around these losses?

Yodaeel

We have just opened the new RENO room with 76 machines in a new smoking area things are improving.
Things are tough at the moment with a lot of good people having financal problems.
OVO