Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

What to do with Level 3 - Parramatta Leagues Club

fish eel

Something kinda funny in this thread.

One of critiques of the current board is that they are yesterdays men, fresh blood is needed and they havent moved with the times. They're from the old days. New times need new men.

Yet, some of the ideas for what the club should be doing are indeed a throw to these old days. Not that the ideas are necessarily bad, it's just ironic.

The more things change, the more they stay the same.....

Nikki

Here is the problem tho.. They still havent moved forward. They have just come to a dead halt!

Parra Future

Wow, this took a bit of time tonight getting back up to date with this post. Stacks have happened on here today. Sorry if I go a bit slow but there are about three posts I noticed that I want to put a response too, so I'll do them one by one. On another note, I was at the 3P meeting this evening just for a debrief on a few topics. You'll be happy to know by around mid February at the latest we should be announcing our full seven person ticket (given that there are no unusual circumstances that occur between now and then). We just wish to finalise a few things first in regards to getting done up full blown info on each candidate which will be given out to the public on everybodies strengths that are on the ticket.

At tonight's meeting it was also agreed that instead of waiting for the Leagues Club elections to take place, that we would start trying to finalise some of the sponsorship deals that we have been dealing with. Only a few so that people do realise that this is for real and not make believe. And also so that they can be announced in the months heading into the election and people can see the work that has already been underway. We spoke at length again about subcommittees to be formed and what areas we need to look at.

Anyway, enough on that for the time being, I am quickly going to go back to earlier in this thread so I can put some views down on three topics.

Parra Future

This is the major problem that I have.

I asked last Friday how they expect to counter the drop in revenue that would come from treating the Chinese like, essentially, second-class citizens at the Club. How would this loss be balanced so that the bottom line is not compromised.

I did not receive a satisfactory answer. My personal belief is that any line resembling "It's a bloody football club and screw everyone else!" is going to have a negative effect that will bite us in the arse.

I just do not see how changing the priority to football related issues will continually and regularly bring in the income that the Chinese gamers do. I also have not yet seen anyone from the 3P ticket express an understanding or agreement with this line of thinking.

Parra Jesus,

If no response was given on Friday night regarding the above, my apologies. I can picture the "bloody football club line" being mentioned and if so, it should not have been. Not being racist here, but in regards to our asian friends that frequent the club, (and yes I do realise there are Russians, and Maltese and other nationalities, but the asian pokie players do make a rather large majority), we have no intention of shafting them out of there. Yes we have stated all along that it is a LEAGUES club and its role is to support the Leagues team, but we do realise that the Asian community is a very large part of the money revenue currently in the club. So are the Lebanese. Without going through every possible race on earth, our intention "was and is" not to uproot anyone. Again, they (pokie players) at this point in time, and I don't see it easing up anytime soon, are a major contributor currently to the income side of the Leagues Club Balance sheet. I don't believe that we would think of the Pokie players or even more so the Asian community as second rate citizens. If anything, our belief is more that the Football fan / supporters feel more than anything that they are being treated as second class citizens.

This whole thread if anything was based predominately on Level 3. Yes we are interested in peoples ideas surrounding the whole club, but in general, currently our thoughts are Level 3 is massively underutilised. The thread was not in regards to how can we screw the pokie players. Not at all. We need to improve the atmosphere and general overall feel within the club to get other demographics back in there. I hope this somehow helps.

Parra Future

While that is good to hear, and I can understand that being said this far out from elections, I hope we'll be hearing more closer to the polls. A 'trust us, it's all good but we can say' wont really impress me, when, at the end of the day, we are talking about the financial viability and future of the club
Fish,

I think I may have already dabbled in this area when I first hit this thread tonight. At the two open meetings that have already taken place in the club, alot of ideas were bandied around of areas that we would like to change within the Leagues Club and how things are run. These were in the forms of both areas (Expenses being cut and Income being generated). The topic has come up in both meetings regarding the underutilisation of specific areas of the club as well and how they could potentially be used in a better way.

In regards to new sponsorships, as stated earlier, you could find that we announce a few within the next one to two months well prior to the elections. The only problem that we currently have in proving things to people is that we are now going to have to restructure things and get some of these sponsors involved through the Football Club side of things and maybe not in regards to the First Grade side. I know you all hate it, but thats about as much as I can give you at this time.

Parra Future

Maybe the club could attract some of the many office workers around the area. They could hold corporate functions (eg conferences,courses, meetings etc) during the day and at night offer the other great ideas mentioned earlier. This allows level 3 to be used at all times and it attracts new people to the club who normally would not go.

Ipswich eel,

The above is spot on. Not long after your post, Stagger brought up the Wentworth room on Level 2. That is an area that we have pinpointed since the start. Alot of the 3P group are already working on that with current customers and suppliers of our own industries talking to them about the utilisation of that room for corporate functions, team meetings etc. Again, it is hard to bandy around prices and things while not in power. The legwork on getting new customers to use these rooms is well under way however. On top of the business world ideas, we have also gone down the paths of looking how we could utilise them more and for discounted rates for patrons when have 21st Birthdays with families, engagement parties, wedding receptions, etc.

Something kinda funny in this thread.

One of critiques of the current board is that they are yesterdays men, fresh blood is needed and they havent moved with the times. They're from the old days. New times need new men.

Yet, some of the ideas for what the club should be doing are indeed a throw to these old days. Not that the ideas are necessarily bad, it's just ironic.

The more things change, the more they stay the same.....
Yes, I've noticed the same thing, as I've written some of the ideas which show our club was successful in meeting the needs and wants of many more traditional members inthe past pre-casino days.

The point has been made that the current leadership/board of the LC have taken things way too far chasing the filthy lucre of the pokies world, and made some glaringly bad judgements (and overextended the club's balance sheets) on the basis of false/bad self-serving industry-based advise that the pokies would continue to provide a strong revenue stream. Fitzy's determination (and failure) to challenge the change in gaming laws/pokies tax shows that our club went all in on a losing hand (to use a poker analogy).

So yes, time for a change, if only to go back to the basics that the current lot left behind and have shown no interest in trying to recapture by way of acknowledging their mistakes.

Parra Future

Someone brought up something earlier in regards to costs or sales vs sq/m on Level 3. This is something that the company I currently work for instills in all of its managers throughout the country. Every year, the managers need to work out the sales per sq/m. Sometimes, some of the managers can't believe how bad it works out for them. Level 3 is an issue if you were to put that formula to use.

Yes, I've noticed the same thing, as I've written some of the ideas which show our club was successful in meeting the needs and wants of many more traditional members inthe past pre-casino days.

The point has been made that the current leadership/board of the LC have taken things way too far chasing the filthy lucre of the pokies world, and made some glaringly bad judgements (and overextended the club's balance sheets) on the basis of false/bad self-serving industry-based advise that the pokies would continue to provide a strong revenue stream. Fitzy's determination (and failure) to challenge the change in gaming laws/pokies tax shows that our club went all in on a losing hand (to use a poker analogy).

So yes, time for a change, if only to go back to the basics that the current lot left behind and have shown no interest in trying to recapture by way of acknowledging their mistakes.

Furthermore Bart, the most disappointing thing I have heard in the last few months was Alan Overtons statement that the club has no future plans to combat the recent losses.

Am I correct in saying this? You were there last Friday night, were you not? Is this correct?

Dave Q

I was at Dick Smiths today at Northmead and saw a $4000 Hi Def TV.

I have never seen a picture quality as good as that.

If the club had a number of these around the place, people would come to enjoy the game in these stunning visuals.

But the banning of wearing the club jersey is simply wrong and very unwelcoming.

Parra Future

Furthermore Bart, the most disappointing thing I have heard in the last few months was Alan Overtons statement that the club has no future plans to combat the recent losses.

Am I correct in saying this? You were there last Friday night, were you not? Is this correct?

Ovo wasn't there on Friday night Suity, he had some family commitments with his grandkids to attend too. He was there however on the first do on the Sunday 18th. I'll let the others answer the combat plans so as that there is no bias involved.

Why?

Suity.
My knowledge of pokies tax/gaming law isn't too strong, but wasn't half of the protests about the government imposing caps on how many machines a club/group could have, without getting the proceeds hit (as much) by the tax?

I recall talk that we'd bought that club that we've since closed (Vikings?) just so that the LC group could have a third licence, and use that to cleverly manipulate the ratios of machines that the group owns to get under this threshold... I guess if the club closed then that strategy has been proved not to work.

As the tax is implemented, and as the effects of it come to bear, there'd be some rethinking of how many leases to extend on machines from the gaming companies. I see some winding back, and hopefully some extra space on lower floors being able to be used differently. The atmosphere/aesthetics of the place really does feel repulsive because of it all.

So while it's a bit vague I'd imagine there will be a shrinkage because of the above - and not least because eventually someone in the club will realise/admit that the reason footy/sports members no longer use the club like they used to is because the mass of pokies have taken over the joint (in culture and design) and the many traditional members (many in hiding on perpetual memberships, but who would have voting rights) have to basically force themselves to make the effort to go in there these days.

It could almost be a chant or slogan or sticker - "I used to enjoy coming to the Leaguesy, and I vote" :lol:

My knowledge of pokies tax/gaming law isn't too strong, but wasn't half of the protests about the government imposing caps on how many machines a club/group could have, without getting the proceeds hit (as much) by the tax?

I recall talk that we'd bought that club that we've since closed (Vikings?) just so that the LC group could have a third licence, and use that to cleverly manipulate the ratios of machines that the group owns to get under this threshold... I guess if the club closed then that strategy has been proved not to work.

As the tax is implemented, and as the effects of it come to bear, there'd be some rethinking of how many leases to extend on machines from the gaming companies. I see some winding back, and hopefully some extra space on lower floors being able to be used differently. The atmosphere/aesthetics of the place really does feel repulsive because of it all.

So while it's a bit vague I'd imagine there will be a shrinkage because of the above - and not least because eventually someone in the club will realise/admit that the reason footy/sports members no longer use the club like they used to is because the mass of pokies have taken over the joint (in culture and design) and the many traditional members (many in hiding on perpetual memberships, but who would have voting rights) have to basically force themselves to make the effort to go in there these days.

It could almost be a chant or slogan or sticker - "I used to enjoy coming to the Leaguesy, and I vote" :lol:

Firstly, it was the Parra Rugby Union Club that closed, not Vikings. Vikings, at Dundas Valley, does a brisk, albeit, small trade on a regular basis. I'm sure the investment there was for the pokie licences. They've tried to improve the catering quality, and full praise to them. It doesn't seem to have worked though, and their investment now is just a real estate venture. TBH, I'd be redeveloping the land, STCA.

I'm of the other opinion. They've bought these clubs for the pokie licences. They may as well use them as best they can, so, I don't see it freeing up ANY floor space anywhere.

Ovo wasn't there on Friday night Suity, he had some family commitments with his grandkids to attend too. He was there however on the first do on the Sunday 18th. I'll let the others answer the combat plans so as that there is no bias involved.

Dates wrong, but facts right?

Yeah, I haven't heard Ovo say that as I wasn't at the previous one.

But it has been reported here that in the past he has said to the footy crew that the footy fans/members need to use the club more... which shows a complete lack of understanding of (or willingness to expalin) the direction the club has taken to force those members away (no hall of fame, no decent meet and greet areas, a stale 3rd floor "sports" bar, the demise of after-game fucntions etc) - which all occurred under his watch as chair of the FC and LC.

Ovo is a nice man who has contributed a hell of a lot to the club over the years - perhaps even more than any non-fulltime employee has in the history of the club? - but when he offers to help in any way he can, he needs to start showing results and the club can change to meet more of its active/traditional/footy-based members' needs and wishes.

But in my view this should have been already happening a lot more than it has over the past year or so since the fans report that MITS submitted.... It's getting a bit late to get cracking on these things now, only energised when there is a real threat to the status quo on the horizon.

Yeah, I haven't heard Ovo say that as I wasn't at the previous one.

But it has been reported here that in the past he has said to the footy crew that the footy fans/members need to use the club more... which shows a complete lack of understanding of (or willingness to expalin) the direction the club has taken to force those members away (no hall of fame, no decent meet and greet areas, a stale 3rd floor "sports" bar, the demise of after-game fucntions etc) - which all occurred under his watch as chair of the FC and LC.

Ovo is a nice man who has contributed a hell of a lot to the club over the years - perhaps even more than any non-fulltime employee has in the history of the club? - but when he offers to help in any way he can, he needs to start showing results and the club can change to meet more of its active/traditional/footy-based members' needs and wishes.

But in my view this should have been already happening a lot more than it has over the past year or so since the fans report that MITS submitted.... It's getting a bit late to get cracking on these things now, only energised when there is a real threat to the status quo on the horizon.

That's the crux of it really, and I would like to hear the argument that challenges this to the point where I am compelled to vote for the incumbants.

Mits? Eels81236? parra pete? Anyone?

Firstly, it was the Parra Rugby Union Club that closed, not Vikings. Vikings, at Dundas Valley, does a brisk, albeit, small trade on a regular basis. I'm sure the investment there was for the pokie licences. They've tried to improve the catering quality, and full praise to them. It doesn't seem to have worked though, and their investment now is just a real estate venture. TBH, I'd be redeveloping the land, STCA.

I'm of the other opinion. They've bought these clubs for the pokie licences. They may as well use them as best they can, so, I don't see it freeing up ANY floor space anywhere.

Fair enough, Sorry for mixing the clubs up.

What are we doing with the closed one (two blues)? Presumably those licences are now deducted from the total if the venue is not trading, perhaps in the next financial year after closure?

And while I wouldn't want to take a good club away from the people in Dundas that frequent it, maybe after hearing the thoughts of many (silent but voting) members in the election to come, the LC might think about sending some of the machines back to Dundas to take up space there, and give us back our club? Or am I just dreaming...

Maybe piss the machines off up to the third floor auditorium, with a new easy access lift and paint it all black and ugly and neon... and then give the ground floor back to feel welcoming to everyone - including the league-based members.

Parra Future

Heres a thought for all. I am not saying this is 3P either. Just a crazy thought while late at night. What do you reckon people would think if you got all the machines and through them over to Vikings in Dundas Valley and built that up to be the casino that everyone talks about. Then keep the Leagues Club and turn into something more community and footy friendly to try to please all other demographics.