Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Where are the critics?

A quick search through the forums archive will reveal a few people extremely critical of certain officials within the club.
The board, the coach, the CEO, the marketing manager etc etc.

I have noticed a sharp decline in the daily attacks on these officials.

is everything sweet now?

I Bazza OK after his 100 million dollar deals?
Is Greg OK now he has spoken to the CSSC?
Is Raper Safe because we have had 2 wins?
is the marketing manager doing a good job now?

What gives?

FTR, I have never attacked the board, as I was unsure of the job they were doing. I now think they do an excellent job.
I always thought marketing was under funded & did a good job with the resources they had.
I think Greg Pierce was probably a good selection to step in immediately.
I am very critical of Raper but I am watching to see where this new game plan is taking us. yes, the game is is very diiferent to what we have seen before & I am enjoying it.
Birs sux.
Simmo sux more.

I'll admit I have been critical when I thought it was warranted. I am quite happy with the way they have done things in recent times.

Information certainly helps.

So the development re-zoning was "recent times". Just applied for it a fortnight ago & got it through last week?
The selection of Peter Costello & Cathy freeman as 1 & 2 ticket holders was a bad move?
What about some specifics?
Sounds like you had a chat to somebody & they changed your opinion on things. The info was always available wasn't it.
Another thing, why is the CSSC not dictating to the club? As a growing disenfrachised supporter group, surely there must be some leverage available?

How to make a Reefy:

Six drops of sinister syrup
Five drops of creeps delight
"when the stirings done can I lick the spoon?"
"Ha ha of course"
"And now for a touch of Fluffynes but I must use only a touch"
"for without a touch of Fluffyness it might destroy me"
"OOPS" "too much"

"better hold your breath its starting to tick"

"Better hold my hand I'm feeling sick"

"Hello daddy"

"Good gracious what have I done!!"

"I'm reefy, your brand new soooooooon"

Too much Fluffy in your cornflakes today Reefy?

We aren't into politics Reefy. We're there to support the football team.

gunnamatta bay

After forty years of nothing the supporters are entitled to question the legitimacy of the board. The way the new ceo was appointed was always going to draw criticism. It appears he is actually trying hard so at least we know they are taking notice. We will just have to wait and see how the season continues to pan out.

samshark

I was one who was very critical and I fired an email off to the club as such.
My complaints werent so much against the board, just against Raper, recruitment, selections etc.

Greg Pierce rang me in his own time and I spoke with him for about 40 minutes. He put to bed a few rumours that were floating around here, explained a few things and also agreed that Raper, like a lot of coaches, is under pressure. I found him to be an impressive fellow. Along with this and him meeting with the fans and the CSSC, I think he is first class. I take my hat off to him.

I dont know enough to criticise the board but they have obvioulsy done a great job in getting the development through and gaining the govt grant. Some may say it took too long but from someone who works in govt, the amount of red tape they would have had to get through would have been endless.

As for Raper, I havent changed my mind, more a less taken the attitude that 'we are stuck with him just deal with it'. He was never going to be sacked in a few weeks if results didnt change.

Where are the critics blacktip-reefy?

I'll know where you'll find one.

Go to your bathroom and look in the mirror.

beekershark

For starters the marketting manager has changed reefy, and for the better, the entire place has change attitude due to freshness.

The board looks no better in my eyes for finally getting the developement through, it hsa taken far too long and we have lost oppurtunity as a result in my view, the footy team would be further advanced this year had the building been finished by now, this has been admitted by the club because the plans for new facilities, training etc are hoped to lure better players to the club for better money. Due to the delay in getting plans thru this has dbeen delayed.

The grant is a coup for the board and certainly a result of Barry pearces work, not even the board as a whole is bold enough to take credit for barrys hard work, and there are still passengers on that board in my view.

I've never been a harsh raper critic, you'll have to take that up with your buddies :)

beekershark

reefy on the board ". I now think they do an excellent job."

You have low standards. This board over seas the FOOTBALL CLUB mate, they employ coaches and staff and marketting, the whole thing.

When they've lead the sharks to a premiership they can be assessed as having done " an excellent job".

chileman

I know this guy beeks that sells cutom tailored suits and accessories that is a passionate sharks supporter who I reckon would make a fantastic CEO for the boys in black, white and blue....serves up a mean packet of cheese and bacon balls too :D

sharknows

Now that all is well there is still one major problem at the club - the bloody beer queue in the bar under the Peter Burns stand. Unless the president and committe can get that sorted they should all stand down!

Yes, its a stadium wide problem with the beer service.

Either we have too many beer drinkers, or not enough staff serving.

The club thinks the former, the patrons think the latter.

The Nulla #2

i think you will find IF iand i must stress IF we start losing, the Critics will be back.

Its a current tredn on this forum, this coming from one of th ehighest fluffies in the order!

Reefy they'll be back mate!

Snoop Shark

blacktip-reefy said:
FTR, I have never attacked the board, as I was unsure of the job they were doing. I now think they do an excellent job.

Our cabinet is still collecting that annoying substance known as dust;-)

critical of the critics not being critical.

noice!

oh geeze... now I'm criticizing the non critics for being critical about the critics not being critical.

emetic

questions:

-do you think football clubs are more concerned with making money or winning premierships?
-is winning a premiership seen only as a way to boost crowds and profits etc?