Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Where do you think Jamie Lyon will end up at?

• Wests Tigers

• Parramatta Eels

• St. George Dragons

• 16th NRL team

j_tig

i said parra mainly because i donht think theyre going to let him go anywhere!

Davester

j_tig said:
i said parra mainly because i dont think theyre going to let him go anywhere!

Then Manly would be able to sue them for breaching something to do with trading players. Help on this one?

Wrighty79 said:

Parra are strong on Jamie Lyon not being able to sign with the sea eagles. Hence why these "rural" clubs are being offered the chance to try and sign him up.

EWS said:
Wee Waa?

Honestly, you poll needs different options.

Hmm...maybe. I think he'll come back to the NRL just as long as it's not with Parramatta. But I aint saying i'm right on that. Yeah I had Wee Waa on the poll options, don't know how I got rid of the options. I apologise for that.

HOT028 said:
i would love to see jamie playing for the tigers

So would I mate. Imagine him as a tigers player... ;-) He's more then welcome to join his ex-parra mates. Realistically though, what are our chances of signing Lyon? Magpiemax...do you know?

Davester said:
j_tig said:
i said parra mainly because i dont think theyre going to let him go anywhere!

Then Manly would be able to sue them for breaching something to do with trading players. Help on this one?

If Parramatta keep him under contract Davester then Manly can't do anything. Should Parramatta release him to another club Manly may have a case but David Gallop has basically said that Parramatta can do what they wish as he remains contractually obligated to them.

If the Tigers, or any other club, want to sign him the deal would have to be agreed to with Parramatta. If Jamie likes it and it doesn't suit thye Eels I'd say they will knock it on the head and sit him in the corner. Talk of reduced deals etc may be on the cards but only if the Eels are interested. Jamie has stated his dislike for city life is the reason for him leaving Parramatta so Fitzgerald is hawking him to "rural" clubs because this is in his best interests.

(How the Tigers fit into this category puzzles me a bit as while they play some of the games at Campbelltown they train in Concord (that is right isn't it?))

Personally, I think that Fitzgerald is playing hardball and will release him anywhere other than Manly. As most clubs have finalised spending for 2005 Fitzy is banking on Lyon's contract being too much for them and in doing so forcing him back to the Eels - how good an idea that is I don't know. Its alleged that Lyon is having trouble making his mortgage repayments so he may have his hand forced if the Eels don't release him.

yappy

Parra can do any damn thing they want. Lyons signed a contract and has failed to honour it. Until the contract term ends the Eels can chose to release or not-release to anyone they want for any reason they want. Manly can bitch all they like, they haven't got a leg to stand on.

The dopes at Brookvale obviously haven't got the first idea about anything if they think refusing to release a player who has walked out on a contract amounts to a restraint of trade. Lyon is lucky Parra have been so accommodating. They'd be well within their rights to sue him for failure to honour his contract if he'd just walked out without permission. If they could dig up any evidence that Crusher and or Manly had anything to do with Lyons decision then they could go them too for inducement to break a contract. I suspect they believe this is exactly what has happened but can't prove it, and thus why they seem prepared to release him to almost anyone other than the Eagles. Good on em I reckon.

magpiemax

I'm just guessing here from info I have heard from my source today.
He tell's me that Matt Jobson is upset at the fact NZ are mucking him around as he want's to come to WT and a release has not yet been fully granted.
Only problem is that he does'nt realise that we won't be signing him should we get Jamie Lyon as this would take up all our budget and cap maximum.
My Source say's that we are just about the only one's left who can fit him under the salary cap and that can afford him. :clap:
Make of that what you will. ;-)

SouthernTiger

It would clearly be a restraint of trade is Parra dictated where Lyon went, as this would sufficiently decrease the value he could achieve on an open market. The restraint of trade provision when applied to league is used to help the player ensure he gets a fair value. An argument could be made that so long as Parra gives Lyon several options than they would avoid the restraint of trade issue. If they say Lyon can sign with anyone but Manly than I cant envisage a problem unless Manly are one a few able to make a decent offer

cheers

s. tiger

yappy

He isn't on the open market. He's contracted to a club and refusing to fulfill his contractual duties. The only thing Parra have to do is pay Jamie if he turns up to training ready to be selected to play. Anything else he gets from the Eels is at their sole descretion. If he wants to go somewhere else it can only be at the express approval and release from his contract by Parramatta on their terms. Restraint of trade provisions are as relevant as price of rice in Mongolia. When his contract is up he can go wherever he damn well wants. Until then Fitzgerald holds all the cards and they're all aces.

magpiemax

yappy said:
He isn't on the open market. He's contracted to a club and refusing to fulfill his contractual duties. The only thing Parra have to do is pay Jamie if he turns up to training ready to be selected to play. Anything else he gets from the Eels is at their sole descretion. If he wants to go somewhere else it can only be at the express approval and release from his contract by Parramatta on their terms. Restraint of trade provisions are as relevant as price of rice in Mongolia. When his contract is up he can go wherever he damn well wants. Until then Fitzgerald holds all the cards and they're all aces.
You should be happy if Jamie comes to WT he will be a Magpie should he come. Although he made be in first grade alot. :lol: ;-)

yappy

I think we have enough players who want to be somewhere else already thanks mate. :lol: :lol: :lol: :cry: :cry: :cry:

If the Tigers sign him will he be thinking about how long until he can get free and off to Brookvale with his chumbum Crusher? I don't buy the 'can't hack the city life BS'. With the dough he was on he coulda bought a couple of acres on the city outskirts and a pig and a cow to keep him company. If he can buy a property SW of Campbelltown and commute to Concord to training, he could have done the same for training at Parramatta.

He was dirty on Smith (gee where have I heard that before) and he had Crusher in his ear saying come to Brooky with me mate. Will the Cleal siren call cease? Will he visit Jenny Craig as someone has noted (trying to out-Craigie Owen are we Jamie?). If he gets a setback and gets dropped will he put his head down or go walkabout again? There's no doubt he is a talent, but he has plenty of baggage too.

So no Max I don't have a real problem with the signing (there have been many worse), but there are risks that only Sheens and those closer to the action can assess. My point wasn't against the signing (if it happens), just the guff that anything Parra can do is a restraint. They own his arse until the end of 06.

Davester

Tigers supporters seem pretty confident on Lyon signing with the club but hey we can't get our hopes up on this. I don't know what's going on right now...the rumour just seems to be dragged on...I want something confirmed out of this...

Any updates on this??

Magpiemax,

Whats the chances of Parra letting Lyon come to Wests Tigers?

How interested is Lyon on playing for us?

I hope if he does come he wants to come back and play footy its for the love of it.