Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Which teams are flying under the radar?

Big Pete

Raiders - They were tipped for big things last year until injuries hit and basically everything became a worst case scenario. With Campo & Dugan back and most of their side sticking around I could see them having a good season.

North Queensland - They're ALWAYS under the radar - even in Brisbane they don't get a whole lot of attention. Still largely have the same squad the key for them is having their rookies step up and their vets. keep up their good form.

St. George Illawarra - Everyone assumes they'll fall to a heap sans Bennett, Boyd & Gasnier but they still have the bulk of their side that dominated the comp. these past three years and with a couple of promising youngsters making their way into first grade they could still be competitors.

DoggiesBro

:lol: Doesn't know what under the radar means DERP

DERP THEN WHY DID A BLOKE POST EXACTLY DOGGIES?

BECAUSE HE WORKED IT OUT CAUSE ISN'T A BRAINLESS CHOOK FAN.

HOWS THAT SPOON? GET THE OTHER HAND READY FOR ANOTHER ONE.

2 IN 4 YEARS.

:lol::lol::lol::lol:

eozsmiles

Manly. Nobody has mentioned their footy since their last win. If the morons upstairs stay out of the way of the dickheads downstairs they'll probably win it again.

Warriors. Should only get better from last year and most have been focused on Cleary leaving rather than their squad improving.

The only problem is you're not even under the radar yet. The Rabble plane has been sitting on the tarmac rusting up for the past 40 years. Sure some fans might jump on and reminisce about the days when the plane was flying high, "the pride of the skies", but the flight industry has moved on and left the Souffs Concorde behind. You might have a flash new pilot at the controls, but it's still the same dud plane.
:lol: It's also raining. Planes cannot fly in the wet!

CC_Roosters

We seem to be well under the radar, nobody is talking us up or giving us a chance. People seem to have higher expectations of Cronulla than us.

DoggiesBro

We seem to be well under the radar, nobody is talking us up or giving us a chance. People seem to have higher expectations of Cronulla than us.

For good reason. They gained 1 of the two players who carried your team the last time they made any dent in the top 8, or finals.

The other is now at the titans.

sputneek

DERP THEN WHY DID A BLOKE POST EXACTLY DOGGIES?

BECAUSE HE WORKED IT OUT CAUSE ISN'T A BRAINLESS CHOOK FAN.

HOWS THAT SPOON? GET THE OTHER HAND READY FOR ANOTHER ONE.

2 IN 4 YEARS.

:lol::lol::lol::lol:

And how many posted "you don't know what flying under the radar means" :lol: Primary school starts next week... you must have butterflies in your stomach!

DoggiesBro

And how many posted "you don't know what flying under the radar means" :lol: Primary school starts next week... you must have butterflies in your stomach!

You mean the bunch of rooster fan's who couldn't work out something so simple? Not suprising. Luckly the other bloke who posted it straight awya had a brain and realised what it ment.

As i've pointed out before the geniuss seem to think they are more succesful in recent times then the Dogs, when all they have is a spoon while the dogs have the last title and a better record in the last season.

I don't have any children yet, so i'm not worried about them bumping into you and coming home asking why some 30 year old loser with 3 teeth known as suptneek tried cracking onto (would say them but unless its a boy he is safe).

As for something in your stomach. Don't you have your boyfriend to visit to get your top up?

POPEYE

Flying under the radar is not hard to understand. In League parlance it means a team has had minimal disruptions . . . not enough to hinder consistency.

Nothing to do with any genius plan to lay low and ambush the opposition when the time is right.

For a team to plan for contingencies that may disrupt consistency they need the right men guiding it but things still need to fall into place . . . Storm/Eagles '11

no name

Manly were definitely 'under the radar' in 11. No one expected much from them with their young halves and had very minimal media exposure early in the season.
I don't agree that Melbourne were 'under the radar' though. After the dramas of 2010 they kept trotting out the line that 'they have something to play for' and they were going to prove that $ don't win comps which put them in the spotlight.

thommo4pm

Raiders - They were tipped for big things last year until injuries hit and basically everything became a worst case scenario. With Campo & Dugan back and most of their side sticking around I could see them having a good season.

North Queensland - They're ALWAYS under the radar - even in Brisbane they don't get a whole lot of attention. Still largely have the same squad the key for them is having their rookies step up and their vets. keep up their good form.

St. George Illawarra - Everyone assumes they'll fall to a heap sans Bennett, Boyd & Gasnier but they still have the bulk of their side that dominated the comp. these past three years and with a couple of promising youngsters making their way into first grade they could still be competitors.

Totally agree mate.
Price is a very good coach, and coached against some of the current 1st grade coaches in the lower grades with great results. I like how people think we are just going to crash and burn. I'm not confident we will win the comp, but I know we are going to go a whole lot better than most people think. We have an excellent crop of young players in their late teens to early 20's. And those players are in crucial positions.

No club has really been in the news. It's all very quiet.

It's all ready to explode, and I can't wait!
The tele had a Souths story in it nearly every day for the first 3 weeks of the year,so their media manager is doing a good job,or someone at the tele likes Souths,but they are banking on an untried half as well,anyway they are not under the radar.

Lambretta

The Spanish Air Traffic Controllers 13 always flew under the radar in the 80's

If only those pesky mountains hadnt gotten in the way

mongoose

The Dragons are a bit under the radar. Most expecting them to slide, possibly even miss the top 8. I don't think they will be contenders though...