Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Who else is off to Penrith Park?

Blair

I wouldn't usually make a thread like this but since it's such a bloody huge game, and one of the only games played in Sydney this year, I thought I'd ask.

I just got my ticket. General Admission ($10!) Better not pour down, with rain and/or opposition points.

The whole buzz is genuinely exciting.

Blair

enjoy it mate, will probably catch the first half on the tele..

Thanks mate. I had to put up with you guys all season saying you're off to games in Auckland!

So if we're 18-6 down at HT you're off to bed?

My father did that once, during a certain must win game against the Tigers.

WithTheDawn

I'll be there, in the Warriors supports bay in the corner. Gotta try and get there early for the juniors as well. Pretty excited for this, biggest game we have had in the last 3 years. Hope its a good contest at least.

ozbash

So if we're 18-6 down at HT you're off to bed?

I wont promise anything,, cows are a long way away from the shed,,, can see a long day coming tomorrow ;-)

Blair

Went to the game now on a lovely hour trip home on thw train. Fun times.

That train trip is the worst feeling after a loss, isn't it? So is the walk from the ground to Penrith Station.

It's bleak, very bleak.

The only bright spot is recapturing the sheer magic of that minute of Manu! What a try, what a player. We'll never have another one like him.

Oz, I'm sure I can speak for all of us, we hope you didn't turn in after HT and miss the try? That would be quite sad after sticking up for him all season.

I went to a Warriors Panthers game a few years ago and their was track work. 2 trains and a 30 minute bus ride to the ground to see us pumped by 50. loooooooooooonnngggg trip back

Blair

It is a very tough experience watching your side's season being ended at someone elses ground.

You are so out of sync with all the razzmatazz and hoohaa.

Also, the bloody ground announcer didn't shut his noise for the entire night. For some reason he thought a bit of silence was a bad thing. The other sound effect, the panther growl every time they did something good (and we did something bad) got damn annoying.

Of course all this would be tolerable if the Warriors had turned up with a bit of fire in them. They looked great during the warm ups!

The Panthers are going off! Good luck to them now.

We must all feel a bit better knowing we were off to play the Cows. If it was the Storm it would devastating.

TheFrog

That train trip is the worst feeling after a loss, isn't it? So is the walk from the ground to Penrith Station.

It's bleak, very bleak.

Don't worry, any self respecting Panthers supporter has done this walk after getting hammered dozens of times, and the train ride too, especially as a kid.

shinobi

Don't worry, any self respecting Panthers supporter has done this walk after getting hammered dozens of times, and the train ride too, especially as a kid.

Indeed indeed. My first trip out to Panthers home ground not a bad spot to watch footy good luck to the panthers in the finals im hoping either the cowboys of them take it out.

Blair

Would have been the Panthers again if we won, only would have been the Cows if we lost by 1-2 points.

Oh, so another trip out to Penrith? Thank god we lost.

Seriously though, I thought yesterday was a bummer, but the real hurt came today (Monday). After all the excitement of the day before the reality hit home the day after.

Depressed all day. I was like Apollo Creed in Rocky III 'I didn't wanna talk to nothing or no one, not even my kids'.

I keep thinking if Mateo had scored, whether that would have changed things. We seemed to be on a roll. Sport is incredible. Mateo is famous for getting his hands free in tight spots but in that moment there it failed him.

WithTheDawn

The Panthers game would have been at ANZ or Allianz - still not great, but would have been better playing in more central Sydney. They play regional finals, so wouldn't have been out at Penrith.

Yeah, that Mateo one, he really should have scored...honestly though, the Panthers were just in another gear. We would have needed a lot to go our way to come back from there.

Blair

The Panthers game would have been at ANZ or Allianz - still not great, but would have been better playing in more central Sydney. They play regional finals, so wouldn't have been out at Penrith.

Yeah, that Mateo one, he really should have scored...honestly though, the Panthers were just in another gear. We would have needed a lot to go our way to come back from there.

In regard to Manu, what corner were you in, the one for his non-try or the one for his try? I was the latter!

WithTheDawn

Was in the non try corner. Was good fun until they disallowed it :(. Would have been great up in your corner for that Manu try though.

Blair

Was in the non try corner. Was good fun until they disallowed it :(. Would have been great up in your corner for that Manu try though.

Definitely one of the highlights of my life! I've been around, too.

Also made me realise what a great game rugby league is.

Hopefully Sydney has more Warriors games next year. In regard to Penrith Park, it would be in about the same shape as Mt Smart? Maybe even a bit more tired?

WithTheDawn

Not too sure, only ever been to Mt Smart once, and it was a few years ago now. There are tonnes of Warriors fans in Sydney, but they are fairly fickle for the most part. Would have seen a tonne coming out of the woodwork this weekend for the finals if we had won on Sunday. Like most teams I guess, success breeds fans. There are plenty of kiwis happy to jump on the bandwagon once its successful.

Dissagree mate
Theres a heap of us that go when we can,

JoeD

Worst train trip - back into city after '02 GF loss. heaps of roosters fans just generally stirring shit and being dicks.