Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Who is the best fullback that is NSW origin?

yeah i like watching sharks run around in the sky blue but i couldnt care less if we win the origin

it's good on the night but then you take a step back and think 'oh great, another feather in that moron gould's cap'

i'd take 2 premiership points for the sharks over a 3-0 blue rinse every time

it's hard to support mugs like andrew johns too
and if any of our young up and comers get picked they might get phil bailey syndrome
ie. bit of a rising star thrust into the big time, suddenly thinks he's god's gift to football and his price hits the roof for us to retain him, and he thinks his price is well above what it should be

fancy turning down $650000 for 3 years, i mean he may be able to get more than that from the roosters because they seem to have some sort of magical cap but he sure stuffed us around, talking on the radio how he'd like to play for the tigers because he liked them as a kid, or manly because that's where he's from...what a clown

i hope none of our players make NSW, that's me being very selfish I know, but it's how i feel

it's hard to support mugs like andrew johns too

He's the besty player in the no'7 in the last 20 years
and if any of our young up and comers get picked they might get phil bailey syndrome

Or they might just catch a cold (mummy I need some panadol) :roll:
The Origin thing is over.....I agree

but its the only mid week Rugby League we get all year.....its something to look forward to for entertainment purposes....MID WEEK.

Same with International RL but its an off season thing...(except for ANZAC DAY) ....
I agree with the super league idea of a tri-series. The us v's them(QLD v's NSW) thing died years ago,everyones just too young or scared to admit it!!!

Nullajet

They have never given peach a decent crack......that year with Robbie Ross was the biggest load of shit ive ever seen.

So theyre not going to give it to him at 30yrs of age....it is a sad sad fact that peach should have had more than one origin under his belt........

Reminds me of Docking's non selection at times he deserved it.......

NSW's loss is the shark's gain....so gould can have his way with the players he wants....and I bet he will!!!

You guys are kidding if you think Tahu isn't already down for one wing spot. Gidley will be inside him. The other wing spot could go to Mini with Lewis in the centres but I think I'd prefer Rooney outside of him. I have been tipping Peachey to make the Origin side ever since Opes got the ass but now I am not so sure. If Minichiello isn't selected as a fullback then I don't think he can make the side. At this stage my NSW side would be as follows.

1. Peachey
2. Tahu
3. Gidley
4. Lewis
5. Rooney
6. Campbell
7. Johns (C)
13. Kennedy
12. Fitzgibbon
11. Simpson
10. Davico
9. Buderus
8. Clinton

14. O'Hara
15. Bailey
16. Mason
17. Anasta

Obviously things will change when guys come back from injury but that's the side I would pick if they were playing next week.

He's the besty player in the no'7 in the last 20 years
But he's a complete asshole
Exhibit 1, his forearm on Adam Dykes in our 49-30 win over Newcastle at Shark Park in 2001

He does that sort of thing a couple of times every season but his lackeys in the media always excuse him under the pretext that "this little champion will do ANYTHING to win...good on him!" as they clamour to give him his Dally M (need I remind you they actually changed the rules to ensure that he gets given his annual prize?)

I thought the Queenslanders still loved Origin?

Et#1_supporter

Even as a devout sharks supported, i must admit the last couple of years peachey has been nowhere near his best

on current form, i wouldn't even pick him in the first grade side, but im sure that wouldn;t go down well with sharks fans (imagine if anderson had dropped peach)

half the game he just doesn't seem to care, not even bothering to run hard for balls or play sensible footy.

No way peachey should play in rep sides on his current form

millersnose

on topic

peachey will need to improve his discipline

if he can play like he did against the dogs without the brain explosions he will be a chance - a very slim chance

Andy04

Peachey was one of the best full backs a few years back but now he is too old and slow

Minnichello will be the fullback without a doubt, not because of some consiracy but because he is a good fullback

Mayor_Quimby

Interesting read guys.

I would personally have Andrew Walker in the picture for possible origin selection in the no.1 for NSW. he has been playing extremly well for Manly and his ability to carve the defence and his big boot make him more and more attractive.

In saying that, Mini is the selectors favourite and i would be surprised to see anyone but him get the spot unless he was to be injured!

I have been a great admirer of David Peachey since his President's Cup days with the Sharks. At times he was the only flair and unpredictability about our backline. HOWEVER........I'm afraid the Peach is on the downside of the bell curve now.

Have you noticed that players get more angry on the field as they deal with the fustrations of not being able to do what they used to on a football field? Well last year and already signs this year point out a very undisciplined,back chatting and troubled player. He's definately lost heaps of speed and is basically in the side for his guile of making space for a team mate to get through the line and experience at the back in holding things together and organising the younger blokes.

And I think it's because of this last point that they don't need a player like Peach in Origin. He's had extremely strong claims in the past. But now there are definately players who are better than him in the fullback position for N.S.W. In Origin they have plenty of great organisers. Usually half,5/8 and lock are very dominate in this area. What they need for the rest of the backline is speed and power. Peach is not dominate in either aspect now.

Frankly I can only see Peach getting in front of Patten, Hodgson or Minichiello only if they are injured. Peach may be even fighting for his club footballing future let alone representing his State. Time will tell but I feel his chances are long gone.

DJDL

I can't see Peach getting there on current form.
In fact on Saturday night I was only thinking about pre-season comments of how we'd see the "old" Peachey.

Yep, he's old.

Booyah

You guys are kidding if you think Tahu isn't already down for one wing spot. Gidley will be inside him. The other wing spot could go to Mini with Lewis in the centres

Luke Lewis will get a Centre spot? :lol:

Shaun Timmins has been pencilled in there since the end of game 3 last year.

And no matter who the form 5/8 of the comp is, Barrett will get the number 6.

If Barrett is fit. Lewis went away with the Kangaroos last year and plays cnetre for Penrith when Girdler is out. I don't think it is that ridiculous. He will end up getting that jumper eventually. I wouldn't have Timmins any where near the centres. He's over the hill. Girdler may challenge for that spot if he's fit. That's why I said
Obviously things will change when guys come back from injury but that's the side I would pick if they were playing next week.

Andy04

i hope adam dykes dies a slow, painful death

WHY?

I know ET fan and i know he is extremely bitter that dykes was a do nothing for the sharks who sold out to become a future legend for the eels

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: