Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Who will thrive under Stuart?

I thought the 4 props last night were very good.

Mannah easily had 15 hit ups for 100 metres.

Sio shouldn't be picked this week.

Harrison needs to find a running machine so he can get fit and Matty Ryan needs to bulk up cause he got dominated every time he got the ball and defensively he got sounded out.

I was a bit disappointed in Mullaney, didn't chime into the back line at all and seemed very sluggish out there.

Harrison looked flat footed every time he got the ball. He looked fat and very slow. Was ineffectual.

Agree about Mullaney he was very disappointing. Looked very slow and light weight. Was pushed back into the in goals a few times. The chase for the kick that Marshall did between Korabiti and Mullsney was embarrasing. Mullaney has lost heaps of pace.

Tigers didn't play there 2 front rowers on Sat score could of been anything.

You rebuild after periods of success, not periods of failure. We've had our lean years of cleaning out the dead wood, this team is ready for success.

Stuart is just covering his arse and keeping the pressure off the team. Good on him, but this squad is as good as most. There are only a couple of standout rosters - the majority are no better than us.

Some might argue that 2009 was a success. Regardless, I'm not too fussed on the word 'rebuild'.

Whether we 'build' or 'rebuild', we just need to build something ffs. I don't care what it is. I'd even take a shitty 2 bedroom kit home.

As for this squad being 'as good as most', I think that is a slight overstatement. If we develop some of our younger players this year then with arrival of Norman, Hoppa and others we are likely to be 'as good as most' in 2014. As it stands right now our squad is definitely one of the weakest in the NRL (even if it is more evenly balanced than most).

However, I agree that privately Ricky will be aiming higher than what he is stating publicly.

Some might argue that 2009 was a success.

2005-2009 was clearly a successful period. We only missed the finals once, and only lost four finals matches (Cowboys once and Storm three times). But just like '97-'02 we played heaps of finals footy without winning a premiership.

By 2009 you could see the wheels coming off. After a period that strong we would've had a bunch of senior players on the decline, on bloated back-ended contracts. Manly are going through the same thing right now, and I reckon that's partly why Hasler and Cleal jumped ship.

oldmancraigy

Anyone who thinks Ben Roberts will become a solid player needs to get their prospecting pan out and go down and try find gold in Parramatta river.

The bloke is what he is, and he'll be the same this year. Rocks or Diamonds, and all you can do to stop it is sit him on the bench!

Oh well, I wasn't wrong!

Yep, we sure fell for Ricky's modus operandi - and for the hype of the directors who hired him.