Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Who's afraid of the AFL, asks Titans boss Michael Searle

LESStar58

not scared? wanting to lock horns with the AFL, what a joke of an artical, possibly one of the most biased articals ive ever read, for staters he forgets to mention that in the big TV market "FTA", AFL rule, thats where the money is, also, AFL PAYTV games go head to head with other AFL FTA games, AFL outrate league on a veiwer per hour % on pay TV overall, but he forgets to mention that, yes AFL dont have origin and tests, but they do have a game that goes for an hour longer, they also have the irish games that rate well, also regarding pay TV, pay TV get the dread games, they dont get the collingwood/essendon games live all that often, i think collingwood areon live pay 2 times this year.

im sick and tired of these officials coming out bagging a rival sport, saying they arnt afraid of the rivals product blah blah blah, if they wernt afraid, they wouldnt feel the need to say anything..

the NRL need to forget about what the AFL get, the games are completly different and probably even more different from a broacasters point of veiw.

You do realise that the Australian is a News Ltd paper and over the years have gradually dedicated more space to AFL than rugby league over the years? Not to mention the fact that they have one of the most anti-rugby league agenda influenced sports scribes to ever sit at a keyboard....

babyg

anything positive about league?, theres nothing positive about league on this forum, this forum shouldnt be called league unlimited, it should be called "we hate AFL" forum, people whine about the AFL getting this and that, NRL not getting this and that, people call me stupid because my grammar and spelling isnt up to scratch (i left when i was 14, and i wagged the last 2 years lol), but id be more than happy to compare pay packets or assets aquired, yet, gordon tallis comes out and says he wants a team in perth by 2013, everyone cheers, yayyyyy, no one see's that that just wont happen by 2013, some people go further, they want 2 teams by 2013, again, yayyyyy, obviously that wont happen neither, the NRL are broke, well maybe not broke but they certainly dont have that kind of money floating around, they need to wait until the next TV deal and then decide where and when they can go, these things take lots of planning and time.

FWIW, a perth teams sounds good and is a must by 2016 IMO (depending on the TV deal) as for the other team, again, great idea, hopefully by 2016 as well, but id prefer that team to be in tassie, anyone want revenge on the AFL? well, heres your chance, the AFL have treated tassie like crap for ever and a day, the AFL have simply taken them for granted, a bit like they take the NT for granted, tasmanians love their sport, if league was a stand alone code down there they would follow it, by the time the AFL got off their ass's and made their own team down there, the bird may have flown, but then again, my "IQ" level cant really comprehend how these matters work.

also, these teams must be givin genorous conceessions, like the AFL are doing with their new teams, the new AFL teams will almost certainly be competitive within 2/3 yrs, these proposed NRL teams must be too.

No mate you are just an idiot.

in the one paragraph you claim this forum does nothing but hate AFL and then you have a go about this forum cheering for a new team in perth.

you do realise that the new tv deal starts in 2013 don't you. Still nothing but hate from you.

taipan

mate, did you even read the artical? maybe you should have another look at it, i couldnt give a flying F who gets what in the next deal, but stupid people and biased journos annoy the crap out of me, what i find worse is when peopole actually beleive the crap they read in articals like this.

If you don't like biased jounos,you would have difficulty reading Mlbne papers with the AFL fluff.

intentcity

No mate you are just an idiot.

in the one paragraph you claim this forum does nothing but hate AFL and then you have a go about this forum cheering for a new team in perth.

you do realise that the new tv deal starts in 2013 don't you. Still nothing but hate from you.

so your saying the NRL can get a perth team organised within a few mnths? because they wont do anything until they know what they're getting.

intentcity

If you don't like biased jounos,you would have difficulty reading Mlbne papers with the AFL fluff.

well the amount of anti AFL crap ive read in the sydney papers heavily out weighs the NRL crap in the melbourne papers, i read both.

FWIW, i hate all biased journo's, even the pro AFL ones, the big melbourne journos dont bag league at all, if so very rarely, guys like sheehan, hutchy, anderson, carro (i reckon she counts as a man) just dont do it, they concentrate on AFL, thats their job, same cant be said for the big Sydney journos.

arrr bugger it, fact is i hate all journos, never found one i liked.

Are you sure about that? The problem is they are good at getting others to help them pay for their adventures. Like the ACT government backing of the GWS.

And the 45 million they're asking NSW taxpayers to fork over so they can have a "boutique" stadium at the showground, while right next door is a world class stadium that would suit their needs.

This has got to stop. Is there an email for the NSW Opposition? We need to bombard them to make them realise this is a red hot election issue in NSW

applesauce

And the 45 million they're asking NSW taxpayers to fork over so they can have a "boutique" stadium at the showground, while right next door is a world class stadium that would suit their needs.

This has got to stop. Is there an email for the NSW Opposition? We need to bombard them to make them realise this is a red hot election issue in NSW

Read this thread from this page on...
http://forums.leagueunlimited.com/showthread.php?t=348909&page=9

nqcowboy87

well if the afl wants people talking about afl regardless of wether its good or not (any publicity), theyre talking about in the abcs shute shield match between norths and souths and i was flciking between radio stations and they even had a bit on triple j about it where a guy said he should just trade in his raqdio gig and switch to afl

trudge

From the horses mouth.

Deep financial woe and desperate for a wider TV audience.

These aren't the acts of sound business. League is the growth sport and doesn't need stunts to pull an audience.

m0nty

The word from an insider at a major accounting firm who do the books for the AFL suggests they are in deep financial trouble hence the desperate publicity at any cost.

Spending top dollar to diminishing your product into a circus is a bad move.

From the horses mouth.

These aren't the acts of sound business. League is the growth sport and doesn't need stunts to pull an audience.

I wouldn't trust an accountant as far as I could kick him, much less these posts. Wishful thinking.

anything positive about league?, theres nothing positive about league on this forum, this forum shouldnt be called league unlimited, it should be called "we hate AFL" forum, people whine about the AFL getting this and that, NRL not getting this and that, people call me stupid because my grammar and spelling isnt up to scratch (i left when i was 14, and i wagged the last 2 years lol), but id be more than happy to compare pay packets or assets aquired, yet, gordon tallis comes out and says he wants a team in perth by 2013, everyone cheers, yayyyyy, no one see's that that just wont happen by 2013, some people go further, they want 2 teams by 2013, again, yayyyyy, obviously that wont happen neither, the NRL are broke, well maybe not broke but they certainly dont have that kind of money floating around, they need to wait until the next TV deal and then decide where and when they can go, these things take lots of planning and time.

FWIW, a perth teams sounds good and is a must by 2016 IMO (depending on the TV deal) as for the other team, again, great idea, hopefully by 2016 as well, but id prefer that team to be in tassie, anyone want revenge on the AFL? well, heres your chance, the AFL have treated tassie like crap for ever and a day, the AFL have simply taken them for granted, a bit like they take the NT for granted, tasmanians love their sport, if league was a stand alone code down there they would follow it, by the time the AFL got off their ass's and made their own team down there, the bird may have flown, but then again, my "IQ" level cant really comprehend how these matters work.

also, these teams must be givin genorous conceessions, like the AFL are doing with their new teams, the new AFL teams will almost certainly be competitive within 2/3 yrs, these proposed NRL teams must be too.

You push this clown and he starts to whinge too....talk about a sook, and what a needless rant.

do you in a tent city, intentcity, because you certainly sound like you do

And I love the quote you took from me, the one where you took what I wrote, quoted it, edited it and posted it.

I think people get what happened. So are the mods.

so your saying the NRL can get a perth team organised within a few mnths? because they wont do anything until they know what they're getting.

you are an idiot, really.

You love attention.

well the amount of anti AFL crap ive read in the sydney papers heavily out weighs the NRL crap in the melbourne papers, i read both.

FWIW, i hate all biased journo's, even the pro AFL ones, the big melbourne journos dont bag league at all, if so very rarely, guys like sheehan, hutchy, anderson, carro (i reckon she counts as a man) just dont do it, they concentrate on AFL, thats their job, same cant be said for the big Sydney journos.

ok mong-lord. afl has paid news ltd and tv networks in the past (probably even now) to broadcast favorable content.

you really are about 13.

So now you are getting attention you exhibit cooperation.

you sound like a raging homosexual crossed with psychopathic tendencies. And a low I.Q. You were the kid who hit his head against brick walls a lot.

From the horses mouth.

In an tent city: I will tell you why I dont fear afl.

Thats what it sounds like to me. Put it this way to people who dont believe they are concerned for the future (as opposed to rl who are merely concerened about just now as our future looks bright)...afl growth is no where near as good as league.

and in many cases their growth has been negative. for all their gusto they are just another footy comp, mainly popular in 2 corners of the country (one market relatively insignificant), and they are like the loudmouth little fellow who acts tough.

The AFL can only go backwards, they have saturated their markets- they only have bully tactics left.. RL has heaps of room for expansion.

You see, the AFL have been trying for years to crack sydney and brisbane. BUt hey can't. Not even 4 straight flags could do it in brisbane, not even 1 in sydney and a myriad of concessions.

They have been quietly chipping away for 20 years and have nothing really to show for it. Its no wonder vlad is angry, its all they have left. Like little kids who cant crack it amongst the group, they throw a spak-attack and get all upset.....this is what the AFL have done.

Come on....2 new teams slated for regions that do not warrant it. Clubs in melbourne still doing it tough, talk about relocation, etc. No room to grow, and the NRL breathing down their necks.

They know we are coming. Our path is up. It is only up.

Ina tentcity.....know this.....we are RL, and we are inexorably moving forward, bigger, tougher, stronger, we transcend sport, our game is its strength; we will thrive above the decaying mass of the AFL, like a weed......you will look at how its soaking up nutrients other plants can barely access fast enough, and you will think: oh sh*t, our game only appeals to one country, and only one corner significantly, the other corner is very much too small, we never really grew, a possessed zealots folly is all it was....

spend your money, like I said, its a waste.

Big Mick

Really? This I have not seen or heard of, do you have any quotes or anything of the like?

Was in Herald Sun a couple of weeks ago as well as on the Back Page last week.

Also on 20-1 TV show about a month ago.

Every time that porno star wannabe gets on TV and gets asked about League he bags the sh!t out of it.

Rockin Ronny

Pubes

Your mindless, meandering "greatest game of all" posts are wrong - and boring.

AFL owns and runs its own game - and is Australia-wide.
Rugby league is run, owned and raped by News Limited - and operates in 2 states and 1 territory. AFL draws crowds of 30-40-50,000 to games every weekeknd. rugby league calls a 10,000+ game excellent. AFL looks to build its presence in Australia. Rugby league, thru ignorant and petty politics, leaves the CC Bears hanging for 11 years and likewise for WA, SA and Qld.

Rugby league should earn a better TV rights deal - but it won't if you have a News ltd NRL CEO and other neanderthal execs who can' even spell TV let alone negotiate a spohisticated arrangement.

As for Searle, why not wait until the Centre of Excellence (lol) and Titans' funding questions are settled before we make him the new "Arko" of rugby league?

A professionally run business would hire an independent group with the specific expertise in determining the maximum TV rights deal for rugby league. until this is done, expect another pro-News Limited deal which undercuts what the game is worth.

taipan

Absolute unadulterated crap.I have read and listened to enough anti rl crap over the years by Victorian media,and AFL people to fill a sporting libarary.
Well I will refresh your memory.Watch the AFL mob on TV and their staright out bagging of rl.Hird,Healey,Walls,Lynch.Caro you are joking,you either don't watch the Offsiders or if you do choose to ignore her anti rl comments for convenience sake.Read Patrick Smith continually bagging the NRL.Read the AFL journos in Sydney ,that have the odd shot at NRL in Sydney papers.
You still don't get it,the NRL didn't poach leading AFL players.NRL journos thus have a duty to return serve.
Rose coloured glasses sale now on.:oops:

intentcity

You push this clown and he starts to whinge too....talk about a sook, and what a needless rant.

do you in a tent city, intentcity, because you certainly sound like you do

And I love the quote you took from me, the one where you took what I wrote, quoted it, edited it and posted it.

I think people get what happened. So are the mods.

not sure what happened there, i didnt think it was against the rules, i didnt change anything you wrote, i just gave my responces after each one of your sentences (with my responces highlighted), the mods did contact me, didnt mean any disrespect by it FWIW.

intentcity

Absolute unadulterated crap.I have read and listened to enough anti rl crap over the years by Victorian media,and AFL people to fill a sporting libarary.
Well I will refresh your memory.Watch the AFL mob on TV and their staright out bagging of rl.Hird,Healey,Walls,Lynch.Caro you are joking,you either don't watch the Offsiders or if you do choose to ignore her anti rl comments for convenience sake.Read Patrick Smith continually bagging the NRL.Read the AFL journos in Sydney ,that have the odd shot at NRL in Sydney papers.
You still don't get it,the NRL didn't poach leading AFL players.NRL journos thus have a duty to return serve.
Rose coloured glasses sale now on.:oops:

i dont watch the offsiders no, but i do read the papers, and if these journos do bag league they rarely put pen to paper if you get my drift.