Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Who's trying to steal the Rat?

Rogers weighs up offers
By Chris Stedman
April 27, 2004

INJURED Wallabies fullback Mat Rogers will decide by the end of next month whether to accept a new contract with the Australian Rugby Union or return to rugby league.

Rogers' manager, Jim Flaherty, revealed yesterday the rugby league interest in the 28-year-old extended beyond his former club Cronulla, where his father Steve is chief executive.

"We will weigh up all the options in the coming weeks but Cronulla have been joined by two other clubs in expressing an interest," Flaherty said.

"Just because his father is the boss at Cronulla doesn't mean they're on their own. Clubs with premiership claims have expressed interest and will have to be considered."

Flaherty would not reveal the identity of the clubs but said Rogers' future would be decided by the end of next month.

Rogers snr is confident that if Mat returns to league it will be with Cronulla where the lure of playing five-eighth has been raised.

"It's obvious that we can't match rugby's offer but there is more to this decision than money. Mat was away from home in South Africa and New Zealand last month and he has a young family," Steve Rogers said.

"This is obviously a factor and yes we have discussed the possibility of him playing five-eighth."

Rogers, whose ARU contract expires at the end of the year, has made good progress from ankle surgery last month and is expected to return to club football with Southern Districts in August.

ARU high performance manager Brett Robinson said yesterday the retention of World Cup backs Rogers, Lote Tuqiri and Stephen Larkham was a priority following the decision to extend the contract of Wallabies coach Eddie Jones to the end of 2007.

Ali Lauiti'iti formally accepted New Zealand Warriors' offer of a release yesterday and English club Wigan is favoured to gain the services of the 24-year-old Kiwi Test forward.

Lauiti'iti was in conflict with the club about his attitude to football

RICHO

No-one is trying to steal him.
Remember, it's his manager talking. They always make it seem like there's heaps of clubs after their players. Drives the price up they reckon...

He said himself that he will either be a Waratah or a Shark. I reckon he'll come home. COME HOME Matt!

No-one is trying to steal him

One of the best players of the current generation is on the market and you reckon there's no other clubs after him? And what about the Roosters, they want to sign EVERYONE!

I reckon he's likely to come home too, the offer will have to be over $300K though I reckon, probably $350,000...which is fine by me.

$350k is a bargain. He's worth that just for his goal kicking. If he plays at left centre as well as I think he can then we are laughing our bloody heads off.

I reckon he's the best footballer, and the most naturally gifted player in either code

I'd have him at left centre too, let someone else do the tackling at 5/8

I wouldn't go that far, but he is extremely elusive and spontanenous. I hope he can remain fit. $350k is alot of money for a bloke to sit on the sideline.

troy

Does anyone have an inside word on this ?? I spoke with his brother about a month ago and he said he would never come back to League ..... I hope he is wrong ..... That would be fantastic if he was to return. The missing link i think ...

Craigshark

I think we'll get him, i dont think he will go to any other NRL club, i think i remember him saying he would never play for another NRL club besides the Sharks..

troy

C mon mate ... Is that what you think or thats what you've heard .. I reckon he would play for Australia at fullback but ?? I think it should be

Kimmorley 7
Aitken 6
Vagana 3
Rogers 4
Merritt 5
Simmons 2

Special K

He won't play for any other club. He has said so himself in the past and also he promised his mother. He should be at fullback, I don't want him making 39 tackles a game :?

He would be too soft now anyways. We have heaps of quick outside backs afraid to tackle, do not need another one.
Not worth the dollars he would ask for.

Union makes ya soft, stay soft Matt.

Aries

Matty will not, I repeat NOT play for any other Rugby League club...

He swore this on his dead mothers grave. Well actually he promised his mum when she was battling cancer that he wouldn't play for any other League team. The Dogs offered him more than Union, Pre Salary Cap scandal, to go there and he knocked it back!!

His manager is rightly talking his options up to get the best offer he can for Matt. Our come back will be his injury susceptibility in recent years...

Alan Shore

Aitken will be ready to play 5/8th in 2005 for sure - I'd have no qualms playing him now, in fact.

I'd have Rogers in the centres, and move him to fullback when Peachey retires. Peach is going to have a good year this year and I think he'll make 2005 his swansong.