Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Why Are Newcastle So Crap?

Dogs Of War

Bulldogs have taken upper hunter and mid north coast too.

This is exactly what Wests (Knights owners) need to be spending their pokie money on - but they are tight as a fishes asshole

I think if the Knights were investing that wouldn't have happened. Your catchment area is so large, and the focus needs to be putting money into areas which are producing, which really the amount of guys who just come from the Hunter region is where 90% of the money needs to go into.

I'm a Newcastle born boy (No knights when I grew up though), used to go to heaps of Knights games as I lived at Adamstown and could walk to games. I'd like to see a strong Knights side, but they really need to put money into that and get guys want to stay. Geez you look at the guys who are in the NRL who get there start at the Knights in lower grades and go elsewhere. That makes one great team, even if you get half of those to stay, you guys are a powerhouse.

Wests leagues just needs to put some money into ensuring that the club itself has that attraction to stay.

glockers

The club has basically moved on all the local duds Joey has talked up so you're really off the mark here. People indulge Joey publicly because of who he is and what he's done but in reality they know he's an overly emotional baby when it comes to footy and player opinions and rarely act on his "advice"
It's great they have been moved on, but the current situation is the result of decades of issues. Issues created due to what happened over a long period of time, including the influence of the od boys.

I speak from experience being a Tigers fans. Way too much cliques, old Magpie and Balmain management types plus ex players. We're only just moving them on now thanks to Richo and the independent board (apart from Benji). Knights are further along but the damage still exists. I reckon give it another five years and you might be a powerhouse team.

macavity

I think if the Knights were investing that wouldn't have happened. Your catchment area is so large, and the focus needs to be putting money into areas which are producing, which really the amount of guys who just come from the Hunter region is where 90% of the money needs to go into.

I'm a Newcastle born boy (No knights when I grew up though), used to go to heaps of Knights games as I lived at Adamstown and could walk to games. I'd like to see a strong Knights side, but they really need to put money into that and get guys want to stay. Geez you look at the guys who are in the NRL who get there start at the Knights in lower grades and go elsewhere. That makes one great team, even if you get half of those to stay, you guys are a powerhouse.

Wests leagues just needs to put some money into ensuring that the club itself has that attraction to stay.

The Dogs and Roosters took our territory WHILE WE WERE OWNED BY THE NRL.

It happened BECAUSE we didn't control the club and the NRL wouldn't invest to stop it happening. Funny that.